We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Locanda Orseolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Orseolo
Ranked #3 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent five nights. Taxi from air port brought us right to their door. We were greeted warmly by name. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Location is just a fee steps from St Marco square. Each evening the B&B staff helped us pick out a place to have dinner. Each morning we were offered a cooked breakfast. Don't get my wife started on the creeps. Gigi gave us a lot of local information. Barbara shared a lot of family history on the B&B. We would return four another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjrobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,922
    59
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
265
930
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having read the reviews we were expecting something special...

... And Locanda Orseolo did not disappoint.

Brilliant location, fantastic staff who go the extra mile. Hugely impressive for a 1,000 year old building just off St Mark's square.

Great service, attentive and covering all of the small details, this is one place you could not fail to be happy with for a stay in Venice (or indeed anywhere,).

Delicious breakfast, superb service and that personal touch that the big hotels fail to deliver.

Thank you for a great stay - we look forward to our return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andlittle67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our visit to Venice was wonderful and made all the more special because of the warm hospitality of the staff at Locanda Orseolo. How many visitors must staff in hotels meet each year who like us, speak no Italian and ask for the same advice and information over and over again? It is a credit to all of the wonderful staff that we felt utterly welcomed, that our questions were professionally and patiently answered and a genuine interest in our visit was communicated.

Among the great features: breakfasts were good, the location very central, comfortable bed, clean and spacious bathroom and convenient small lounge area. We had a second floor superior room "Gianduja" looking over the courtyard. As others have noted this has the benefit of being relatively quiet, but it was not as light as the rooms on the canal side. But when in Venice, why would you be staying in your room!

Room Tip: Courtyard side for quiet, canal side for light and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I was referred by a friend to this hotel and am so glad I took the recommendation. The hotel is boutique and so priced accordingly, but the money is well spent. All staff try to get to know you personally and do their best to make you comfortable. If we come back to Venice, this is the only place we will ever stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

From my first contact with this property by email, the staff could not have been more helpful. I was arranging a special few days in Venice and wanted a celebration dinner in the city. Their suggestion was perfect and was duly booked by Gigi before our arrival. We got a water taxi to the hotel - not for people with disabilities as you have to step up, virtually crawling through a 5 foot opening from the canal - but a great fun way to arrive! It was made easier because we were greeted and helped in by Lorenzo, who knew our names without having to ask. Everyone here is so friendly, and provide a very personal service. Barbara cooking crepes or eggs with a smile in the morning and providing delicious cappuccinos; Igor, always ready for a chat and happy to provide helpful information.

The room we had was one of the larger ones on the first floor overlooking the canal. It was well furnished with a separate sitting area, richly appointed in heavy fabrics and a perfectly clean, functional bathroom. The names of he rooms are taken from "Carnivale" characters, and ours was "Arlechinno" so unsurprisingly had murals of harlequins painted on one wall. I recommend this room for those with any disabilities as it was probably the one with the least stairs to get to. The view was delightful, and the morning activity on the canal did not disturb us at all. It was just up from a gondola mustering spot, and gondolas full of Chinese did begin passing by below from very early in the morning! All part of the rich tapestry of Venice life.

If not arriving by water, the hotel is located in the corner of a quiet private courtyard, which the owners provide excellent email directions to get to. Amazing to find such a haven of peace, yet only a couple of minutes from St Mark's Square in the heart of the city. On my next visit to Venice, I will look no further than the Locanda Orseolo to stay.

Room Tip: First floor, canal side for the atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManzanaBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you are looking for a small hotel, that offers that extra something the others are missing, this is it. From the moment you make your reservation until your arrival they are there to help with you everything. With a warm greeting upon arrival on a water taxi to their canal front entrance, Gigi and Barbara were there to greet us with open arms. You arrive into a beautiful charming and cozy lobby upon which your bags are taken directly to your room, which is nice because there is not an elevator, but don't be put off by that unless somebody has a disability otherwise it's not an issue. The rooms are very clean, artistically decorated, and the lovely breakfast is a nice treat. Each time you leave and return from a day of exploring somebody is always at the desk to greet you by name and ask if you need anything. You feel very safe and the location is awesome to the Square. I had a courtyard view versus canal, but I didn't matter as the canal is always in view upon leaving the hotel, and I liked the low noise level. We met several folks that having been coming back to this hotel for years, so I felt like we made a good decision. I found the price to be very comparable to others in the area if not better.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue request a lower level, there are 3. Then, canal versus courtyard. The courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shotzydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We loved our stay at the Locanda Orseolo. It was a very intimate and charming place in every way. The staff was remarkable, so kind and generous with their time, friendly conversation and help. They new us by name and served delicious breakfast. They took care of us in everyday with the highest service quality, but we felt entirely at home and comfortable. The interior of the B&B uses lots of red which is rich, warm and very cozy. The location is perfect - just off St Marks Square but nestled on a canal and tucked away in a quiet spot. When we return to Venice, a city we love, we will return to Locanda Orseolo without question, and we hope to find Gigi, Igor, David and Barbara still there to greet us!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TCooks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,904 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 385 in Venice
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,837 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Orseolo

Property: Locanda Orseolo
Address: Corte San Zorzi San Marco 1083, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Orseolo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Orseolo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing