We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,135)
Filter reviews
2,135 results
Traveller rating
2,042
66
15
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,042
66
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrepesorseolo canaliron gateremembered our nameswater taxiprivate courtyardmark's squarerestaurant recommendationscanal sidetucked awaystay in venicewatch the gondolasthe location is perfectboutique hoteleach morningsmall hotelour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 2,135 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The best part about the hotel is its location. It it very close to St. Mark's square but nicely located in its own private premises away from all the hustle and bustle. The experience is nothing short of living in your own private apartment in Venice. The hotel building was a shelter for homeless some 1500 years ago and then transformed itself into numerous avatars including a hospital to finally now settling into a hotel. The rooms are small as you would expect but the space will be good enough for your stay. It has a small restaurant where they will serve breakfast, we never had lunch or dinner in the hotel, so not sure if it is open for lunch and dinner. The breakfast that the hotels serves was delicious. The decor of the hotel is part of the hotel experience, you get a feel of what the life could have been in Venice hundreds of years ago. If you want to stay closer to St.Mark's square this is a great hotel but other wise I felt a hotel near Rialto is probably more central to all sigh seeing locations in Venice

I see why the hotel got such good ratings, it is the hospitality. The staff were wonderful and will go out of the way to satisfy you. They remember the names of each and every guest (It is not a huge hotel though) which is awesome.

The hotel has a small opening into the canal for getting in and out of private taxi (private taxi costs about 85 Euros from the train station)

Of course the hotel is not without its flaws! To start with, there is no elevator. The staff helps you with the luggage but then you feel awkward with them doing all the work and end up carrying a luggage or two which is quite cumbersome. We were given third floor. The room we were in, there was a problem with shower mixer and it was either too hot or too cold. My wife complained about hair dryer not working. These are not earth shattering problems though.

As far as transportation is concerned the hotel people suggested us to take Line 1 or 2 (Water transport) from the train station and get down at San Marco. We haven't tried line 2 as it was always over crowded but if you have google maps in your hand and take Line 1 I suggest you to get down at Rialto stop. You will end up saving a lot of time, at least 20-25 mins. The distance you walk is more by 200m but it will save a lot of time

Overall, nice hotel at a reasonable budget if you want to stay near St.Mark's square

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorpionxylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent two nights at Locanda Orseolo and would highly recommend it. Venice is lovely but unfortunately very expensive. Against this background we felt that the Locanda offered decent value for money.
The hotel is centrally located, within a 5 minute walk of St Mark’s Square. It is a small with a cosy feeling and an emphasis on informal friendly service. All the staff, without exception, were courteous and friendly and to my surprise remembered our names unerringly from the moment we met.
Downstairs consists of a small reception area, a sitting room and a breakfast room furnished in traditional style. Our bedroom was on the 2nd floor at the back. There are larger (more expensive) rooms at the front, overlooking the canal, but the back of the building suited us as it overlooks a private courtyard and was very quiet at night. The rooms have a faux rococo feel to them , with murals on the walls, which are fun. The bathroom was a decent size and spec, whist not being particularly modern. The bed was firm and extremely comfortable.
Breakfasts offered a wide choice of options, including sweet and savoury, hot and cold. The cheesecake was particularly good!
Whilst there we felt well looked after and if we return to Venice we will definitely stay there again.
One word of warning- Locanda Orseolo is well hidden. We used Google Maps but it didn’t work very well in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. They will send you instructions to get there, which are helpful. Access to the hotel on foot is via a private courtyard off Calle Sangallo . It is on a corner and you must find the heavy iron gate and go through it.
To Gigi, Igor, Barbara and all staff at Locanda Orseolo , Grazie!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lakesman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Really nice hotel in great location. Room was very nice, service great and wonderful breakfast. The staff made you feel very welcome, could not do more for you. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard double which was fine for us. It was small with very small bathroom.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Based on previous reviews, we selected this hotel for a short break in Venice. We were surprised by the level of communication from Igor who e-mailed us with advice on how best to get to the hotel and offered to organise anything we needed. In the end, we took the Alilaguna water bus to San Marco and used Igor's map to find the hotel after a 5 minute walk. The entry way is modest but, once inside the small hotel, we entered a classically Venetian atmosphere. This is a nice, small and well appointed hotel with typically small rooms and quirky access but, the thing that makes it stand apart are the staff. Each member of the small team showed the same enthusiasm for making our stay in Venice as memorable as possible. Breakfast was a chance to engage with the team and enjoy a small feast. Igor cooks excellent scrambled eggs. After much testing, we also decided that the hotel makes the best Aperol Spritz and serves a very nice red wine. The hotel is as close to the main attractions of Venice as possible without being part of the pricy tourist zone. The only things to be aware of are the rooms are small (as most are in Venice) and the small bathroom requires a degree of agility. Likewise, access might be tricky for anyone with mobility issues. If mobility is a challenge, best to talk to the team before booking. The hotel does back on to a canal so expect some fairly early morning traffic noise. We would all definitely book the Locanda again next time we visit Venice.

Room Tip: Talk to the team before you book to get what you need and don't worry about the views, you'll be out and about.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We enjoyed this hotel so much. The staff is professional, personable and knowledgeable about Venice. Each of them remembered all our names and greeted us personally. Breakfast is lovely.

The Inn is in a central, but out of the way location, not far from San Marco Basilia. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nalbonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews