We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place away from the mobs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Ranked #106 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
288 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A quiet place away from the mobs!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was very pleased that I chose to stay here, my first time in Italy. It was a short walk from the ferry stop, ( the direct boat from the airport ) at San Stae, but be careful walking these " streets " and alleyways. It is part of the fun of visiting Venice, but it is not laid out anything like how one might expect - a labyrinth if I ever saw one! ( By the third night, I walked back from the area of the Academic Bridge without the use of Google maps on my phone or a handheld map, and arrived at the hotel without any wrong turns...I was proud of myself. )
This hotel is a small operation with seven rooms surrounding a lobby/breakfast room. I thought the room was quite attractive, although there was no artwork on the walls, but plenty in the breakfast area. The staff is cordial and helpful. They much prefer to be paid in cash and offer a substantial discount for doing so. Since they are such nice folks, I gave up my airline miles! The breakfast is OK - no hot items, and nothing to get excited about. Sure, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    224
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
173
473
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Venice can get pretty hectic and touristy but this hotel, about a 15 minute walk from Piazza San Marco, is a great find in a quiet neighborhood. The location was good, about half way between the train station and San Marco. Of course the time depends on how many times you get lost but that is part of the charm of Venice. There is usually no horizon or skyline to see so it is easy to go around in circles. We found that if you determine your destination and use your GPS on your phone any destination can be possible. The little blue dot tells you when you have make a wrong turn. This hotel is extremely charming in a portion of a restored Palazzo. We had a triple and it was very comfortable and really felt like Venice. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.Thanks to trip advisor we found it and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

San Polo is hidden from tourist insanity. We loved getting lost late at night in its quiet streets while trying to find our hotel. (It's hard to find at first.) The streets are safe, winding, and quiet. It's not like the rest of Venice, which is why we loved it so much. There are great restaurants nearby.

Our room overlooked a small canal and was clean. It's quiet too. The shower was a bit small and breakfast a bit sad (but also Italian), but the staff were great. They wrote down delicious, non-touristy places to dine. It's a sweet, older residence with a touch of history. We'd stay here again.

There are steep steps going up so be careful carrying luggage.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

the hotel is well located.Rooms are nicely furnished and clean. Prices are reasonable and include nice breakfast with friendly service. . It is easy to get around from this spot and is also near some very interesting areas and neighborhoods for added interest.Would recommend.
Gaetano

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmxmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we've stayed here for 3 nights and were extremely happy.
The hotel is located at a great location, right in the middle of Venice. Everything is within a walking distance.
The rooms was great also. Very clean, maintained well. We had a tiny balcony right towards the canal and the Sant'agostin bridge. The window was double, which sealed off every bit of noise from the outside (not that there was much noise..). Bathroom was big, with a bathtub, and very clean.
The staff were very warm and friendly, happy to assist in any way they could.
Breakfast was very basic, but fresh and good. Croissants, rolls, fruits, yogurt, cereal and such.

Room Tip: Although we booked a room with a canal view, in retrospect I don't think it's that important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend at the beginning of May. The hotel was easy to find on foot from Piazzale Roma and took about 10 minutes. As we arrived 1.5 hours before check in our room wasn't ready but we were able to leave our luggage behind the desk and go out for some lunch. When we got back a few hours later the hotel had put our luggage into our room.
The room itself was very spacious and the bed comfortable with more than adequate storage facilities. Our window view wasn't great as it overlooked the street and another apartment block but this was not an issue for us. Overall we couldn't find fault with the room.
The hotel is in a quiet part of the city away from the touristy side of Venice and has a more local feel to it. The Rialto bridge is only 10 minutes walk away as is the fruit and fish markets so we felt that the location was ideal for our trip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank criticaljohn_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

It was near from arrival, from san marco piazza, from rialto .
It was a very quiet place, we slept very good.
Personnal on réception was very very kindly and helpful.
The price was reasonnable.
it was a good trip

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabsp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#43 of 385 in Venice
198 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#73 of 385 in Venice
486 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#111 of 385 in Venice
821 reviews
San Polo
Ca' San Rocco
Ca' San Rocco
#136 of 385 in Venice
296 reviews
Castello
Relais Venezia
Relais Venezia
#114 of 385 in Venice
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Sant'Agostin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Sant'Agostin

Property: Locanda Sant'Agostin
Address: S Polo 2344 | Campo Sant'Agostin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#72 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Sant'Agostin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Sant'Agostin is located in the geographical center of the city at just 5-10 minutes walk from every interest point; from here it is not necesary to take the expensive waterbus: an easy walk bring you everywhere. The Locanda is situated in an authentic, lively district that is home totypical trattorias, traditional "bacari", well-known restaurants, goldsmiths' workshops, wine bars and artisan's workshops.This district is flanked by several cafes and typical "bacari", which serve the traditional "Spritz" aperitif. The elegant Locanda Sant'Agostin is located in the rooms of the Piano Nobile of a Sixteenth Century patrician palazzo, and is the result of careful restoration work. Finesse and intimacy can be seen in every detail: the parquet flooring with its warm colours, the Murano glass, the stucco cornices and the leaded glass.Staying in one of Venice's Locanda means choosing an intimate and friendly ambience, without compromising on style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Sant'Agostin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Sant Agostin Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing