We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Ranked #106 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet Hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room was nicely appointed. We did not have a view, but were offered one the second day. It was quiet and you turn your key in at the front desk before you leave each day. Breakfast is by the front desk and was not bad. Most of the front desk people were very nice to us and helpful pointing things out on the maps. The shower in our room had a half door that you could not open unless you put up the toilet seat. The bed was very comfortable. The only issue for some of us is that there is a staircase from the street to the entrance on the second floor that is steep and has about 18 steps. Carrying the bags up was a challenge, but the front desk person was nice enough to carry them down after we checked out. Finally, when they say they have a safe in the room, they mean about 1 foot wide. We could put our passports in it, but not our iPad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinghusband2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    224
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
173
473
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed at Locanda Sant'Agostin for a few days while visiting Venice in May and I was very happy with the experience of staying there.

The hotel was located in more of a residential neighborhood (by Venice standards), walking distance from the train station. I was happy that it was away from the mayhem of San Marco square, although you could walk there in 15-20 minutes. There were a few good non-touristy restaurants around.

The hotel was very small - almost like a large flat on a second floor of the building. You had to always leave the key at the reception; to get into the hotel you had to use a buzzer at the top of the stairs. The room was very stylish, clean and comfortable with the quality of sheets, furniture and bathroom fixtures usually found in four-star hotels. The windows led to the alley and a building right across.

The internet was free and worked well. The continental breakfast was good (by Italian standards). The staff was very polite and helpful. They gave good advise on the restaurants in the area. I reserved the hotel through their website, which had the same price as the other travel sites and I was offered a discount for paying cash.

In conclusion, I really enjoyed staying there and would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugene_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
288 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was very pleased that I chose to stay here, my first time in Italy. It was a short walk from the ferry stop, ( the direct boat from the airport ) at San Stae, but be careful walking these " streets " and alleyways. It is part of the fun of visiting Venice, but it is not laid out anything like how one might expect - a labyrinth if I ever saw one! ( By the third night, I walked back from the area of the Academic Bridge without the use of Google maps on my phone or a handheld map, and arrived at the hotel without any wrong turns...I was proud of myself. )
This hotel is a small operation with seven rooms surrounding a lobby/breakfast room. I thought the room was quite attractive, although there was no artwork on the walls, but plenty in the breakfast area. The staff is cordial and helpful. They much prefer to be paid in cash and offer a substantial discount for doing so. Since they are such nice folks, I gave up my airline miles! The breakfast is OK - no hot items, and nothing to get excited about. Sure, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Venice can get pretty hectic and touristy but this hotel, about a 15 minute walk from Piazza San Marco, is a great find in a quiet neighborhood. The location was good, about half way between the train station and San Marco. Of course the time depends on how many times you get lost but that is part of the charm of Venice. There is usually no horizon or skyline to see so it is easy to go around in circles. We found that if you determine your destination and use your GPS on your phone any destination can be possible. The little blue dot tells you when you have make a wrong turn. This hotel is extremely charming in a portion of a restored Palazzo. We had a triple and it was very comfortable and really felt like Venice. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.Thanks to trip advisor we found it and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

San Polo is hidden from tourist insanity. We loved getting lost late at night in its quiet streets while trying to find our hotel. (It's hard to find at first.) The streets are safe, winding, and quiet. It's not like the rest of Venice, which is why we loved it so much. There are great restaurants nearby.

Our room overlooked a small canal and was clean. It's quiet too. The shower was a bit small and breakfast a bit sad (but also Italian), but the staff were great. They wrote down delicious, non-touristy places to dine. It's a sweet, older residence with a touch of history. We'd stay here again.

There are steep steps going up so be careful carrying luggage.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

the hotel is well located.Rooms are nicely furnished and clean. Prices are reasonable and include nice breakfast with friendly service. . It is easy to get around from this spot and is also near some very interesting areas and neighborhoods for added interest.Would recommend.
Gaetano

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmxmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#43 of 385 in Venice
198 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#73 of 385 in Venice
486 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#111 of 385 in Venice
821 reviews
San Polo
Ca' San Rocco
Ca' San Rocco
#136 of 385 in Venice
296 reviews
Castello
Relais Venezia
Relais Venezia
#114 of 385 in Venice
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Sant'Agostin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Sant'Agostin

Property: Locanda Sant'Agostin
Address: S Polo 2344 | Campo Sant'Agostin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#72 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Sant'Agostin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda Sant'Agostin is located in the geographical center of the city at just 5-10 minutes walk from every interest point; from here it is not necesary to take the expensive waterbus: an easy walk bring you everywhere. The Locanda is situated in an authentic, lively district that is home totypical trattorias, traditional "bacari", well-known restaurants, goldsmiths' workshops, wine bars and artisan's workshops.This district is flanked by several cafes and typical "bacari", which serve the traditional "Spritz" aperitif. The elegant Locanda Sant'Agostin is located in the rooms of the Piano Nobile of a Sixteenth Century patrician palazzo, and is the result of careful restoration work. Finesse and intimacy can be seen in every detail: the parquet flooring with its warm colours, the Murano glass, the stucco cornices and the leaded glass.Staying in one of Venice's Locanda means choosing an intimate and friendly ambience, without compromising on style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Locanda Sant'Agostin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Sant Agostin Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing