We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
Ranked #234 of 385 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very convenient hostel”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights traveling around northern Italy. It is super convenient to the train station and for exploring Venice. Basic rooms had character and wifi. Popular with students, so it tended to be a bit loud at times. Leaving and picking up the key at reception was easy as there was always someone there. There's also a big area for storing luggage which was nice because we had a few hours in between check out and train departure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    146
    81
    10
    9
See reviews for
33
133
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The location of this guesthouse is perfect - really close to the train and bus station, which is a huge plus.
Room and bathroom was clean, the beds were OK.
Just the noise in the evening/night made it little hard to fall asleep.
The staff is friendly. Leaving keys at the reception and curfew at 1am weren't a problem for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParfumeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I stayed at Alloggi Gerotto Calderan in mid-October, and while it has some pluses, such as great location - just a few minutes' walk from Santa Lucia train station - and friendly staff, it also has some negatives, such as teeny tiny rooms and a water problem. Perhaps this is an island problem - who knows? - but all I can tell you is that on the one night I stayed there, I was in the middle of taking a shower when the water stopped running!! Not fun! After a long day of walking around, all I wanted to do was shower, brush my teeth and go to bed. After many frustrating minutes of waiting for the water to come back on, to no avail, I decided to try my luck with the sink. Yay - victory! That is, for 2 minutes. Just enough time to fill my mouth with toothpaste foam - and then the water ran out there too. That REALLY sucked. If this is some sort of chronic problem, the hostel really should make provisions - have a water storage tank in the building or SOMETHING. So, I'm not sure what the take-away advice here is, but perhaps try your luck with some other place if you value reliable showers at the end of the day?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We booked this hotel as a fallback to other recommended places, but it was quite good. our double room was small but had what we needed.

Noise in the hallway could be heard clearly, depending on the guests, but overall it was easy to sleep (our room faced away from the campo, however, which maybe makes a difference). We were asked to leave the keys to the room at the reception if leaving for the day, but we didn't find this a problem. The reception, which is in the Hotel San Geremia nearby, can also buzz you into the building if your roommate has already picked up the key.

One downside is the lack of an elevator, which makes carrying luggage to the room potentially quite tiring.

On the other hand, its location near the train station was especially convenient for arrival and departure, as walking across Venice with luggage does not seem appealing due to the narrow streets and the many bridges which always have stairs, and you also avoid taking an expensive waterbus. Relative to this, walking to the sights across the city isn't a big problem, especially since walking in Venice is a joy anyways.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobPraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My boyfriend and I visited Alloggi Gerotto Calderan at the end of August. We paid for a private room, which was perfect for what we wanted. It was clean, the bathroom (shared with the room next door) was fine, it was perfectly comfortable and in an excellent location - less than 10 minutes walk from the train station, and close to the vaporetti stop. As others have said, there is a 1am curfew, and you have to hand your key in whenever you leave. However, we never had the impression that safety was a problem. Note that there isn't a safe in the room, so be prepared to take your valuables with you. A fan was provided in the room, which was very effective even if you didn't leave it on all day (although a little noisy). For the amount you pay, which was cheap for Venice, I would definitely recommend Alloggi Gerotto Calderan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhicez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This was our first stay in a hostel and needless to say we were a little apprehensive. However, as soon as we walked into reception the staff were lovely!
There's a little confusion over this hotel. The reception for it is actually in the hotel next door (which isn't at all difficult to find) and even though we had booked this hotel we actually ended up staying in the other one so it doesn't seem to be an issue with them.
Our room was a five bed mixed dorm which had all the basics you would expect -a few lights, comfy beds, and a bathroom. The rooms are basic but really clean. However, the door only had one key. What happened was, the first person in would take the key and the last person out would put it back. On the surface of it this seems like a stupid idea, but actually it worked very well as you would know to expect someone to be in your room when you got back and it didn't cause any issues.
The hotel was in a great location and it felt very safe inside and outside the hotel. It was really easy to find from the airport vaparetto and took only minutes for us to walk to the train station. The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the grand canal and the vaparetto stop to take you to all the main stops.
However, I do have two little complaints. The bathroom. Our bathroom was better described as a 'bathcupboard' -it was a wet room really. The only issue with the bathroom was the shower. The water was cold at night although this is to be expected so wasn't an issue. But the shower pressure was next to nothing so I ended up washing my hair in the sink. Although. it did seem that all the other rooms on our floor had nice looking bathrooms right next to their room.
Another slight issue was that it could be quite noisy at night -outside the hostel. However, when you've been walking around Venice all day you'll probably be too tired to be bothered by it for more than 2 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 48Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed for two nights. I think it's an old hotel that's been converted, so I was in a room with six beds and an in room bathroom. The room was a little old, but very clean. The view onto a church was beautiful, though a little noisy (especially when those church bells went off at 7am). But overall I liked the place. It was about a 45 minute walk from the hostel to San Marco, but it was a nice walk with lots to see and do. And it's much better than staying somewhere on the mainland. Plus it's only 5 minutes to the train station and the about 8 minutes to the bus area where you can get on and off buses to the airport. The only thing I didn't like was that there's only one key for the room, so if people are already in the room you have to have management let you in the front door then knock on your room door to have someone inside let you in. It didn't happen while I was there, but this could get really annoying if there were party-ers in your room who were knocking at at 1am to be let in (I think there's a 1:30am curfew too). But despite that, yes, I'd recommend it and would stay here again. It was perfect as a place to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewygranola89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#271 of 385 in Venice
246 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#319 of 385 in Venice
352 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#332 of 385 in Venice
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#160 of 385 in Venice
293 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#148 of 385 in Venice
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi Gerotto Calderan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi Gerotto Calderan

Property: Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
Address: Campo San Geremia Cannaregio 283, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alloggi Gerotto Calderan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan Venice
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing