We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan
Ranked #244 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My 3 friends and I were in this hotel in October 2013 and we were really happy with good accomodation, service, friendly staff and very good price! The hotel is not far from bus station and train station - max.10 minutes. Our room was renovated and everything was new and clean. Also the café/restaurant down in the hotel is nice - staff is friendly and breakfast is tasty (and if you stay in this hotel you´ve 50% discount on breaksft). I can really recommed it if you don´t want to spend much money for accomodation and want to enjoy Venice! Thank you Alloggi Gerotto Calderan.
Just one notice - be careful if you want to go the restaurant beside to this hotel AL BRINDISI! The staff is very arrogant and they wanted to rob us!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lucie Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

stayed in this guesthouse for only 1 night during 2010 summer, excellent location, great staff and unbeatable value for money... the price was EUR 40 for a double room ensuite (single occupancy)... though the price has increased to EUR 70 or more for the same type of room, it's still my choice when coming back for the Biennale this year !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranchanelzhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

As students, my friends and I were looking for somewhere cheap and convenient to stay in Venice. We came across this hotel, and after reading mixed reviews we decided to go ahead and book anyway. Well, after 4 nights and a fantastic holiday, I don't understand why there are any negative reviews at all!

We had booked a basic quad room for an absolute bargain so we weren't expecting much. But we turned up on the day to find a lovely fresh quad room with an ensuite, air conditioning, a balcony overlooking the square outside AND free wifi! The staff are lovely and friendly and are more than happy to help you with any queries. They also give you a ticket which gives you discount in the cafe/bar next door, which meant €1 croissants for breakfast everyday! They also warn you against other restaurants which try to charge you hidden fees and and up paying a bomb for a meal, which I thought was very kind of them.

The hotel was quiet, the rooms were cleaned everyday whilst we were out and most importantly, we felt safe and secure leaving our things in the room. The location is perfect too - 5 minutes walk from the train/bus stations and 20 minutes to st marks square. Also, if you walk down the canal just outside of the square you reach a university and a canal bank overlooking the bridge to mainland italy. It was a great place to watch boats and planes pass as the sunset with virtually no other people around.

I honestly cannot say enough about how pleased I am with this
hotel. For an absolute bargain price it is more than worth the money. I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed with the hostel.Our room was very clean and had a lovely view overlooking the small square below.We also had air conditioning in our room which was great.The hostel is around a 20 minute walk to st Marco so not too bad but there were lots of things to look at on the way.Would defintely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natsudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is a good hostel with all basic facilities available. We stayed here for only 1 night, we didn't face any problems and could have stayed more: Some pros for the hotel:

1. Location: Hardly 10 mins walk from the main station/ water taxi stand with all your luggage, a perfect base to explore Venice.
2. The staff at the reception seemed very nice and quite helpful. They provided us city maps (though at a price of 50 cents) and other tips to make the most of our day.
3. Rooms had all basic amenities which is to be found in a good hotel's rooms.
4. Good pricing for Venice which has some really overpriced hotels
5. Free Wi fi

Some cons for the hotel:
1. No elevator, so you have to take your luggage up the flight of stairs.
2. Wi fi was not available in rooms for us and could be used only at common reception area.
3. The bathroom is easily the smallest I have seen in my whole life and could barely fit in a person in the toilet/bathing area.
4. Our a/c was not working properly and it only started working well after they provided us the manual control of the a/c. I believe they should do it for all guests at the time of check in.

All in all, it was a good place with few minor issues and wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were really impressed by the Alloggi Gerotto Calderan. Our double room was of a good size, clean and comfortable, and had a lovely view over the square San Geremia. Located just 5 minutes walk from the train station and a vaporetto stop, the hotel was in a really good location. They provided us with 50% off vouchers for breakfast at a neighbouring cafe every morning, which was really helpful for saving a few euros each day!

Our one concern was that we were a little unsure how safe our things were. The hotel asks you to leave your keys with them when you go out for the day. However, we were never asked for any proof of identity, name etc. when we came to pick them up. The reception staff were different so they couldn't have recognised us, and this made us question how easy it would be for anyone to just wander in and pick up keys for the room.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and I would recommend this place as a good value hotel in a great location in Venice!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hcmknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and we were quite satisfied with our experience. The location is impeccable - yes, you could be closer to San Marco to really be in the thick of the action - but the proximity to the train station (2 minute walk) and easily walkable 15 minute journey to San Marco makes it hard to beat. There are an abundance of dining options nearby too.

The rooms themselves are in a separate building to reception (perpendicular to one another in the corner of the square). They are quite spacious by Venice's standards and the only reason I mark them down is that they are arguably slightly underequipped in the luxury stakes.

Nevertheless, the staff are a joy to deal with and you shouldn't look any further for an affordable option on the itself.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jbuz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#266 of 385 in Venice
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Albergo Doni
Albergo Doni
#229 of 385 in Venice
299 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#242 of 385 in Venice
681 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#347 of 385 in Venice
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi Gerotto Calderan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi Gerotto Calderan

Address: Campo San Geremia Cannaregio 283, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#95 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £42 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alloggi Gerotto Calderan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan Venice
Alloggi Gerotto Calderan Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing