We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where convenience and comfort comes worthy”
Review of Hotel Airone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Airone
Ranked #345 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Where convenience and comfort comes worthy”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 13th till 15th February 2013 and were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel's location is very strategic where by, it is right opposite of the Venezia Santa Lucia train station. We just had to cross the grand canal via Ponte Scalzi (located on the left when exiting the train station), turn right, walk few meters and the hotel is seen. It can't be missed.

However, we had to go to Hotel Canal which is right near by to check in and receive our key as Hotel Airone does not have a reception and is incorporated with Hotel Canal. This instruction will be written on the entrance of Hotel Airone. It was weird but who cares when you have a cheap and cozy hotel on a very strategic location. So after check in and receiving our personal keys (a key for our room and another for the hotel entrance), we had to walk back to Hotel Airone and carry our bags to our room via the stairs. Troublesome without a lift but for a cheap price for a good accommodation, it's worth adjusting.

After all da hassle, the room was worthy. It was spacious, clean and had a queen bed with an extra single bed. From the window, we could see the view of the grand canal and the gondolas floating on the river bank with vaporettos cruising along the cold water. Venice was beautiful at night and not forgetting the day. We very lucky to get the beautiful view from our room. The bathroom on the other hand, was basic but was very clean and had toiletries and fresh clean towels. The only drawback for us was that the hotel did not have wifi and we had to go to Hotel Canal to purchase and use the wifi to check in our flight.

Before our day tour started, we dropped by Hotel Canal and enquired about the suggestion of places to visit in Venice including purchased a map of Venice there. The map was only 50cent. I can say that's the cheapest you can find in Venice. Even the tourist information booth sells it expensive. Once again, I would emphasis that the hotel is very strategic as just across the grand canal, right beside the train station, there is a tourist information booth where we were guided to buy the right Vaporetto pass to accommodate our travel in Venice including our early morning trip to Marco Polo airport.

Apart from that, having a personal key set was an advantage, as there was no curfew and we could be in and out as late as we want. Moreover, the reception in Hotel Canal is open 24/7 and it was rather convenient for us as we had to check out very early in the morning on 15th February. Our convenience was pretty sure their inconvenience that early in the morning but no grumpy faces were shown and we were sent off with a warm pleasant smile including given a very easy direction to Piazza Roma to catch our airport bus.

As I said, initially it was weird that Hotel Airone had a reception counter in Hotel Canal but as time passed, we got used to it. Good job to both the hotels and thank you Hotel Airone for a cozy stay while, thank you Hotel Canal for your hospitality.

As a whole, Hotel Airone is a convenient hotel which offers comfort for a cheap price. It's for sure worth the money spent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    77
    95
    47
    69
See reviews for
41
171
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had an acceptable stay at Hotel Airone in Venice. The room for 4 was extremely cramped for our family of 4. We never could get the wifi to work, and the lobby-based computer wasn't very helpful either. The location was good for us though, and accommodations were adequate for the price. Breakfast was good but felt awkward because the dining room was full of guests' luggage.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillsFamMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We booked a family room for 4 people and our room was really spacious and we a great view pvet the grand canal ... Wow!!! Breakfast was basic but good. You have your own keys and you are free to move with no problem

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isawright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

if you are looking for something cheap hotel Airone is your choice.
We book it becouse of the price. Our room was with shared bathroom...but we had no problem for this becouse we never find too many people and we always find it clean. Even more you reach all attractions walking if you wish

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexmallory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Only one night, very simple hotel. A good choice for a short stay at a conveniant price. Close to the mainn means of transport and mains attactions. Clean and easy to find... definetle come back again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Pros - good location near train station and bus, reasonable cost

Cons - a dump, no running water at sink in our room (we had a shared bath), carpet worn and filthy (afraid to remove shoes), TV didn't work

Fortunate that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 385 in Venice
356 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 385 in Venice
320 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#304 of 385 in Venice
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#270 of 385 in Venice
252 reviews
Hotel Canal
#259 of 385 in Venice
1,289 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#253 of 385 in Venice
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Property: Hotel Airone
Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing