We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No luxury, but low cost, clean, and in a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Airone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Airone
Ranked #348 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Southern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No luxury, but low cost, clean, and in a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a "triple room with private bath" - Basically this was 3 twin beds in a room and a small bathroom. No elevators, and we had to pick up the room key from a neighboring hotel. The shower's spray was on a broken down pole-like apparatus. There was soap by the sink, but we brought some bars from home as another website had people complaining about a lack of soap, but we didn't have this situation. The beds were pushed together, and not the most comfortable, but then again this isn't a 5 star hotel.

The air conditioning was quite different then what we have at home. We took the A/C remote control with us to the nearby hotel where we retrieved the key for some help. The room did cool off nicely.

We chose this location as it was fairly close to where we needed to be to board a cruise ship, and we stayed in the city for 2 nights. There was a challenge with luggage as the hotel is past 2 bridges - which are ALL steps.

Aside from the location of the cruise ships, this hotel was right beside the Grand Canal, which made travel around the town a breeze. Just pick up the Vaporetto (canal boat/bus) and travel around the city. There are many restaurants nearby too. If you cross the next bridge past the hotel you can find a restaurant that actually makes omelets for breakfast, because most places are focused strictly on pastries and breads.

Be prepared to pay high prices for canned sodas in Venice...And make sure to go to the Rialto Market to see all the offerings from Fish to Fruit and stores with pretty treasures to bring home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldknurse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    76
    88
    46
    66
See reviews for
36
166
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ninove, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We paid 75 euro for one night (no breakfast). Don't book this hotel if you want luxury. But the location was perfect for us, 5 minutes walking to the train station. Room 24 was clean, with a private bathroom, and we had a view of the Grand Canal! Hotel Airone is a good budgethotel for persons who don't spend much time in hotelrooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We chose this hotel because it had rooms with a private bathroom for a decent price and for the location. It's right on the Grand Canal and an easy walk to the train station. The air conditioning did stop working, but it was cool enough when we were there that we didn't need it for the rest of our stay, so I can't comment on the response of the staff to fix it. The check-in a few feet away was not a problem. The desk did not have enough hair dryers to go around, which was a little inconvenient. The breakfast was adequate and tasty. Italians don't eat American-style breakfasts if they do eat breakfast, so the breakfast was croissants and jellies, and coffee or tea. Don't expect bacon and eggs. Also, there are stairs to get up to the rooms. No lift. Again, it's Europe. Expect to haul your stuff up a lot of stairs. Bottom line, this hotel was perfect for a place to sleep and shower. If you're in your room longer than that, you're not enjoying beautiful Venice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValS303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg,Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very small room that only fit a bed. The carpet is old, dirty and covered with dubious stains. Toilet and bath are shared, toilet seemed clean but the drains in the bath were blocked so dirty water covered your feet. No shampoo or anything. But worst the water was cold. We paid 135 euro a night for this due to a late cancellation of our hotel booking in a Biennale busy Venice. The reception is in the neighbor hotel which mean you have to lock yourself in at the front door. We could only get one key which meant you had to come home at same time/ or as others did bank heavily on the door making noise in all the building. First night there was loud hammering trough out the night until workers took over in the morning. The star is for the fresh and clean towels that were changed very day and the clean toilet. The stay was like a joke: Everything than can go wrong went wrong. We named it worst holiday room ever. To be fair I should say I think we got the worst room. Change and up grade was not possible. Located near the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Line A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Venice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the train station. The reception though was in the next hotel. They were not courteous and were keen to get rid of us once the paperwork and formalities were complete. The shower cubicle was tiny and flimsy. Air conditioning unit was present but the remote control was missing. It is probably an additional cost to request for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank PickleCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a very old hotel. I considered our stay there as a camping trip. The bed was sub par. There was no air conditioning even though the description says they have it. Yes, they have it but we were there in May and they don't turn it on in May. I will say the location is great. Seriously, you get off the train, walk across the bridge, turn right and walk along the canal and it is right there. The bus station is similarly close.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#329 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Hotel Canal
#247 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#200 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Belvedere
#244 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#252 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Property: Hotel Airone
Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing