We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Airone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Airone
Ranked #347 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“One night in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

An acceptable hotel for one night pre-cruise.
Check in next door at Canal hotel was easy and I must say the staff there were AMAZING,
We had lost one of our suitcases and they helped by making all their staff aware and even phoning the airport luggage center the next morning to find out the status of our suitcase.
It was to show up at the ship, and it did. We did get a breakfast basket of croissants, Melba toast, buns and jam in the morning with coffee, tea or choice of juice. The location was excellent, as all reviews state.

Room Tip: Internet available but expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwaBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    75
    87
    45
    66
See reviews for
36
164
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place has two things going for it-- a great location near the train station and it's relatively clean. Otherwise it is a poorly lit hovel that really is a hostel-- the rooms are tiny and you can hear everything through the walls.

Breakfast is not included. Though the hotel claims to have a safe, they do not. Though the hotel claims to have "luggage storage," your bags are left out in the open and unattended in the hotel lobby.

Granted, Venice is very expensive but still I do not like this place. I was happy to check out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I booked this hotel and slept there 3 nights with my family. I booked it for the price that was very interesting for a family of 4, considering that is Venice! Perfect position, close to the train station and to the vaporetti station (important point if you are travelling with your children that are always tired of walking). The room was spacious and clean with a simple but essential bathroom. The view was not very nice , a little court but the positive thing it is that there was no noise at all! Also the breakfast was essential in realty, they could improve it, but finally you have all what you need for only €5.00 per person. If you desire something more luxury, don’t choose this hotel. But I was looking for something easy and comfortable and that’s what I Had.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Airone is not a hotel, you have to collect your key from the Hotel Canal a few doors down.
The rooms are clean but small and in need of some maintenance. Not all rooms have en suite facilities but I can confirm rooms 4 & 14 do. Breakfast was simple consisting of rolls, croissant, jam etc. Please be aware that access is via a steep staircase to the first floor and there is no lift. It is situated opposite the train station on the side of the Grand Canal. If you are looking for a simple place to stay in a good location and are not expecting a luxury hotel then this is a great base for Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 14 have en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtnsjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We arrived at the Airone via the Vaporetto from the airport, which was very reasonable and easy to do at 27 euro each return. We got off at Guglie and it was an easy 5 minute walk over 2 bridges to Airone. We were pleasantly surprised how easy it was to find, on the Grand Canal, opposite the main train station. Within a few minutes walk you can find many restaurants, ice cream parlors and coffee shops - it is definitely in an ideal location. The hotel is more like serviced rooms as they do not have a reception, you have to book into the Airone, via Hotel Canal 3 doors down to collect the door key for the main door and the room. The room was very clean, quiet and ideal if you want an en-suite room that is not too pricey. Be advised not all of the rooms are en-suite, so make sure if that is important to you you make sure you stipulate when you book! We were in room 14 which had an en-suite and our traveling companions were in room 4 which was also an en-suite room. The hotel included breakfast, brought to you on a tray in the small seating area directly outside all of the rooms. It was carb-loaded and was pretty basic:- bread, croissants, melba toast with butter/jam/cheese spread and a choice of tea/coffee and orange juice. Overall if you are not looking for an extremely up market hotel, then this is a great option due to its great location. To note all the rooms are on the 1st floor with no lift, so not ideal for people with mobility issues. We've given the hotel 4 stars; not because it's a 4-star hotel, but because it was great value for what we paid for it in a good location. We try to go away as many times each year as we can so keeping costs down means we can travel more!

Room Tip: Room 4 and 14 have en-suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimandsimone1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a week-end in Venice to profit of a little break from our job. We decided on the very last minute so we choose this hotel because of the good relation Price/position. As soon as you arrive in Venice and you go out of the train station you can see the hotel in front of you, on the other side of the canal, so it was right, it is very easy to reach it. It was really at 2 step from the train station! The room was clean, with a comfortable bathroom , with clean and soft towels, soap, hairdryer,, everything you can need.. Breakfast was basic but good and various. The staff, starting from the reception up to the room cleaner, everybody was helpful and nice. So I can say that this 2 star hotel has overcame my expectations!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I booked this hotel for the position. The hotel is very close to the train station , so very easy if you arrive in train and then you decide to go to the port for your cruise. Very good priced hotel. My room (N.20) was with the bathroom outside but for the price I booked it was a good deal, the room was comfortable with a little sink inside and the bathroom outside was very big and clean with a comfortable shower that get always hot water with no problem. And with no extra charge I had the room overlooking the grand canal: what a marvelous view I had! The breakfast is very basilar but essential for starting your day in a perfect mood. I slept there only 1 night before our cruise (we were 2 friends) but I find it very comfortable for the position. I really advice it if you need something “on the way”.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#324 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal
Hotel Canal
#247 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#201 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#215 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#285 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#246 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Property: Hotel Airone
Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing