We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1970s Throwback”
Review of Hotel Airone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Airone
Ranked #349 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 17 July 2014

There are a multitude of things in this hotel that were more than just unsatisfactory; they were a hazard to health and safety.

After travelling from a very basic, yet comfortable, 2 star hotel in Rome, we assumed that our hotel in Venice would be of a similar standard due to the same rating. However, upon arriving in the hotel the previous one seemed like a luxurious 5 star; to begin with, there is no reception (even though stated on their website that there is), you must go to the next hotel to collect your keys. After being given no information about breakfast, checking in and out times etc, we had to let ourselves into Hotel Airone, and were confronted with a flight of very steep stairs to carry our luggage up. When arriving at the top of the stairs, it seemed we travelled back in time to the 1970s (it had not been decorated since then anyway). Although we requested a room with a canal view 10 months prior, we were not given one. Our room was situated in the back corner of the hotel which included exposed and very dangerous wiring, damp and cracked ceiling, very unsecure windows with a broken latch, wobbly taps, cigarette burns in the bedding, very uncomfortable bed and pillows… the list goes on. The next morning breakfast was an ordeal within itself; confronted with one small bread bun, one croissant and a packet of melba toast each, washed down with either water, diluted squash or milk, (choosing milk because of not being able to drink the water), which we soon found out was warm (unfortunately too late). It had obviously been left to sit in the warm room for some time, which soon amounted to an illness (diarrhoea), which ruined the day and had a knock on effect for the day after. Various amenities and facilities stated on the website are not included, including: a safe, a hairdryer, a reception and a bar to name a few. When departing from the hotel I enquired about luggage storage and subsequently was taken to an open, unmanned and unguarded room with no CCTV. This posed the problem that it was open for anyone to stroll in…. not very safe.
Amidst all the negatives, the hotel was in a perfect location within Venice, situated opposite the train station and next to the bus stops. The hotel was very clean with very good (but loud) air conditioning!

All in all not only would I not recommend people to stay here, I would actually discourage it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I have backpacked around the world and srayed in various hostels and budget accommodation but this was by far the worst. Although not the worst I've stayed in as far as amenities, it was the worst with regard to overall experience. Firstly you check in at another hotel a few doors down with a miserable and unfriendly middle aged man who puts customer service at the bottom of his priorities. Then back in the hotel there is a seating area in the middle of the rooms for people to congregate and wake you up with noise . If you opt for a private bathroom the toilet is in the same cubicle as the shower. The shared bathroom is nicer!! The bed was uncomfortable meaning no good sleeps in top of loads of mosquitos. The only redeeming feature is the access to the train station and bus station.

Thank Omar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Well we can say we have been sarisfied in total. Check in and check out very quick. We paied everythimg at the arrival. Room was clean and quiet. With a slittle supplement we had also a small breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria1969b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Well you get for what you've paid for and sometimes even less. Luckily it was only for one night. Checked in next door at Canal hotel (which seemed like a better place to stay). At first experience the staff seemed well informative and receptive by charging us 4 Euro for a map. At least they were accommodating in letting us leave some of our luggage in the lobby (space permitting). We were informed of breakfast price of 5 Euro in the dining room (be sure to ask which dining room because we found out the next day after breakfast that Hotel Airone has its own dinning room with breakfast at 5 Euro and 10 Euro in Canal Hotel). The problem was not the price but it was the way the information was given. There was no clear indication that there was a dining room in Hotel Airone but it was the guests responsibility to ask about it. How can the guest know if the reception doesn't inform?
We got 2 rooms and it was spacious enough. One of the rooms was right near the stairs and a view of the street and the river below, no complaint about that, but the toilet blocked up right away after using it. (luckily there was a toilet right outside across the room). Another room was in the back. It was quite large with a tiny washroom and no view of anything except walls of other buildings. We didn't mind it and we had the window opened but right when we were about to go to sleep there was a great stench coming through the window. At first we thought some sewage pipes had exploded. We shut the window and opened the room's door and tried to fan out the odor.
Looking back it was a funny experience but in that moment the only thing to look forward to was our trip the next day and getting as far away as possible from Hotel Airone, Venice.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel it is only because it is close to the train or the bus terminal. And maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pornpimon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed there one night post cruise. The location is close and the price was reasonable. However, as stated, air conditioning was not provided. When I asked I was told the air conditioning systems were being brought in the next day. It was a little toasty, the next day I saw fans in the lobby (not there the night before) and asked why we weren't offered one. We did have a room with a bathroom. The room was clean. Once we found the hotel, it stated check in was at the Hotel Chanel. It was close, but it wasn't well marked, so we walked around and had to ask where it was. The set of stairs was tough getting our luggage up. The next day the gentleman told us there was help, but non was offered at the time we brought our luggage up. The breakfast was not very good at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

An acceptable hotel for one night pre-cruise.
Check in next door at Canal hotel was easy and I must say the staff there were AMAZING,
We had lost one of our suitcases and they helped by making all their staff aware and even phoning the airport luggage center the next morning to find out the status of our suitcase.
It was to show up at the ship, and it did. We did get a breakfast basket of croissants, Melba toast, buns and jam in the morning with coffee, tea or choice of juice. The location was excellent, as all reviews state.

Room Tip: Internet available but expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwaBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place has two things going for it-- a great location near the train station and it's relatively clean. Otherwise it is a poorly lit hovel that really is a hostel-- the rooms are tiny and you can hear everything through the walls.

Breakfast is not included. Though the hotel claims to have a safe, they do not. Though the hotel claims to have "luggage storage," your bags are left out in the open and unattended in the hotel lobby.

Granted, Venice is very expensive but still I do not like this place. I was happy to check out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Hotel Canal
#246 of 385 in Venice
1,350 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#232 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#297 of 385 in Venice
577 reviews
Hotel Altieri
#352 of 385 in Venice
335 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#347 of 385 in Venice
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Airone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airone

Address: Santa Croce 557, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £27 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Airone 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Airone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing