We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little gem”
Review of Hotel Lisbona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lisbona
Ranked #168 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gem”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked a reservation here on the recommendation of a good friend -- it didn't disappoint. The price was good, room comfortable and as they say in the real estate business...location, location, location. It was very close to St. Mark's square and a gondola station. But, the rooms were still very quiet...
One thing that could be a problem for some travelers...no elevator. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the stairs were very steep. Even the 1st floor is up a flight of steps.
The hotel was spotless, the front desk friendly and helpful, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greekartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    203
    80
    22
    20
See reviews for
38
293
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent,England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Lisbona and would thoroughly recommend it.
It is in a great location just 5 minutes walk from St Mark's Square and the Vaporetto stops.

We had a superior canal view room which for a city centre hotel was of a decent size, with a spotlessly clean modern bathroom. Our room had a small balcony with views along San Moise Canal to the Grand Canal - there was alway something to see and the gondoliers below were a constant source of entertainment.

Most of the other hotels in the area were 4 and 5 star with prices to match, but by venetian standards this was a bargain!

Yes the breakfast room was small, but we never had to wait for a table and the breakfast was a better than average continental. The staff were all friendly and helpful and helped to carry our luggage to our room.

Venice was very crowded and we were very grateful to have a quiet little oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location near the Grand Canal and St Marks Square and under a 5 minute walk from San Marco vaporetto stop.
We booked a twin room with Canal View. The room was on the third floor up a very long and steep staircase. The gentleman at the check in desk made no offer of help with our luggage. Maybe he exhausted himself assisting the very attractive young lady who arrived just before us? The room itself was bordering on small and not enough power points for charging phones, tablets etc. On the plus side, opening the very large windows, let the atmosphere of Venice into the room. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was quite small and the shower/bath was the most ridiculous & useless configuration I have ever seen. A split level bath with a tiny shower area mostly taken up by the taps and faucet. Barely enough room to stand let alone turn around. It took a few days for the bruises to subside. Breakfast was quite OK – no better or worse than many other hotels. Wifi was not free but the coverage in the room was good. Overall, a great location but if you struggle carrying cases up 3 flights of stairs, best ask for a room on a lower floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I made a booking for Hotel Lisbona for accommodation from 27-30th April 2014. I was told that I had up until 24th April for a free cancellation with the online company i booked with, however on 9th April 2014 then hotel attempted a successful pre authorisation amount of 130eur from my credit card.

Although i was hesitant as no other hotel in all my life has ever done this, I went ahead and let them preauthorise this amount. I called the hotel on 9th April was assured that the money will be put back into my account in 15 days. I even queried this with the hotel upon my arrival and was assured the pre auth was cancelled. Till date (3rd May 2014) the money was not put back into my account. When i got to the hotel I was then told that takes up to 20 days. Still no money in my credit card. Communication needs to be consistent with the staff, one said 15 days another says 20 days, this is really unacceptable.

Overall this is a good hotel for a 3 star rating, very centrally located near the San Marco Square and easy to get to from the Vaperatto Line 1. We were situated on the first floor with no canal view, and we were OK with this. Initially when we got into the room it was so tiny we could hardly even open our luggage, however we got use to the space and worked around the luggage as the room had a nice cosy feeling to it which my husband and I enjoyed. The bathroom was very neat and clean as was the room.

There is no lift, however the front staff member was kind enough to assist with our bags. Breakfast is very limited and not a wide variety at all, just some cold meats, cheese, rolls, cereal and yoghurt. Wifi is not free and there is a charge of 3eur per hour should you wish to use wifi.

Hotel is situated on the shopping brand shopping street. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keshnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were looking for a central hotel in March and this hotel was ideal. The hotel is on a narrow plot and most rooms face the canal, the stairs run up the other side in straight run to the first and second floors. The room and bathroom was clean, the hotel is quiet, buffet breakfast was good but there is a limited number of tables so some had to wait. Staff are very friendly and recommended good restaurants etc.. WIFI has to be paid for, but it is a reasonable price and can be switched on and off through a browser to minimise your connect time. The walk to the hotel from Plaza Roma (where the Airport bus stops) to the hotel is a good introduction to Venice but Google maps will take you to the back of the hotel, best to get to the bridge by Campo San Moise and go through the arch of the Hotel Violino D'oro. The St Marks Square water bus stop 1 is less than 5 mins away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to Venice, it is a difficult to make a comparison with other hotels in Venice. The location was excellent for us as accessibility to the areas that we wanted to visit was easy. It was not difficult to find and we managed the transfer from train, to Vaporetto to the hotel easily. Reception was adequate but not overly friendly. Our room, on the second floor, was described as a larger room with balcony overlooking the canal. It was very small room but had a comfortable bed and was clean. Housekeeping was good each day. The shower recess was very small. Breakfast was good and the dining room staff friendly. Overall, you pay for location. It is neat and clean. If you are there just to sleep it is fine. You can get some nice photos from the balcony.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very conveniently placed hotel near San Marco and the San Marco vaporetto stop. It was quiet and overlooks the San Moisè's canal. We could look out on the gondolas being prepared for the day. The room we had on the second floor was quite small but perfectly adequate for our 5 night stay. It was very comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. There was a good selection of food for the buffet breakfast though a little fruit would have been nice. The only negative point was that you have to pay for internet access.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crassus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Anastasia
Hotel Anastasia
#138 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#58 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#112 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#71 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisbona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisbona

Property: Hotel Lisbona
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2153, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lisbona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lisbona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbona Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing