We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
Ranked #233 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Visited for 3 nights in February.

Great value hotel. Rooms were small but clean, and no lack of hot water or pressure in shower. Great location for price - actually in Venice on the islands. Breakfast included, served in the room, was a nice way to start each day. Service was hit and miss - incorrect utensils provided with breakfast but quickly fixed, gave us extra blankets upon request, hotel manager is definitely in the grumpy old man category. Surprise of the city tax at checkout as well (not complete surprise since I read reviews prior, but still they should tell you this upon arrival). Overall it was a good experience, for the comparable price we could not find another hotel on the island for when we visited, so given this fact it was a great find and great value for the cost.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMSC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

Wonderful place to stay in Venice. Quiet, away from the main tourist area. Even had breakfast brought to me in my room every morning! Very comfortable beds too, which sometimes is hard to find in Europe!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank rachelae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 days at the start of December, in room 101. The hotel is in a small courtyard with a gate and tiny garden where in summer I guess you could spend your time. The location of the hotel is great, 5 minutes from the piazalle Roma, where most the Airport transfer buses arrive. You are also 10-15 minutes walk from the main attractions, and the whole area is quiet, away from the main tourist itinerary routes. The room was small but clean, had everything you needed. The bathroom was an ok size, no problems to think of. The room has wifi coverage which was great, and the TV, unfortunately had no english channels, but we managed to get entertained by the italian channels.
Room also has a minibar where prices are quite allright, considering they are lower than what you would pay in a restaurant, but higher than any of the grocery stores we found around in Venice.
Since we went in winter we relied on the room ai conditioning for heating, the windows are not thermal glazing, but the walls seemed to have some minimum insulation underneath the wall cloths. One small drawback of the their AC system, or maybe our inability to set it right is that when it works in heating mode the unit only has ON and OFF and a temperature control which didn't seem to work, so if you leave it overnight it might dry out the air in the room too much. It was a minor inconvenience and we got around it since we only stayed in the room to sleep and have breakfast.
Breakfast was ok for the price, in the weekends they serve breakfast in the rooms, during the week you can go to their small restaurant outside in another part of the building.
The staff was ok, they are either Moldavian or Romanian which worked out great for us since they speak our language. We had some depleted remote batteries which they replaced as soon as we brought it to their attention. The manager though speaks english and we had no problems to have to deal with.

Room Tip: Room 101 is not a bad choice, we were happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DyJohnnY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had a lovely room with a balcony, excellent decoration and cleanliness.
Breakfast was simple but good, served in the room but at a fixed time so best to be aware of that, Italians haven't quite grasped customer service but they met our needs.
Very good value for Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 126lhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Away from the crowds. But close to the train and bus. Great value for the money. Wifi and small breakfast included. The rooms are small but clean and have all you need for your stay. Allora ottima locanda.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 4 years ago and loved it. It is away from the crowds which is great after running with them all day to see the sites nice and quiet. Great location to stay before a cruise close to people mover. Very clean and simple nothing to fancy but nice. Breakfast is nice and simple as well. We did find out if you want the larger rooms for more space you have to request them when you make your reservations otherwise you will get the smaller rooms.. The larger ones go fast. The older gentleman at the desk hasn't changed still grumpy seems to chat better with the husbands vs the wives.. But would stay here again love it. Great resturants and bars close by.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinatralis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The front desk receptionist (a man) was rather curt and almost rude. The Venice city sales tax, which was not announced at check-in, but delivered as a surprise at check-out. We were too much in a hurry to remember to ask for a receipt, which was not offered, and then wondered if we were ripped off on the city sales tax. The city sales tax is very common in Italy now. It is the Italian method of solving their economic crisis: make the tourist pay for it. But all hotels except this one tell you exactly what it will be when you check in, and it is typically 2 euros per person per night. The breakfast and room were both OK.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhoeverYouAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel al Malcanton
Hotel al Malcanton
#237 of 388 in Venice
141 reviews
Hotel Vecellio
#182 of 388 in Venice
524 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#335 of 388 in Venice
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Airone
#352 of 388 in Venice
341 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#195 of 388 in Venice
579 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#191 of 388 in Venice
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Gaffaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Gaffaro

Address: Corte del Gallo Dorsoduro 3589, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £60 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Locanda Gaffaro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Locanda Gaffaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Gaffaro Hotel
Locanda Gaffaro Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing