We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, convenient, reasonably-priced (by Venetian standards)”
Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Marin
Ranked #123 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good location, could get anywhere easily from here and very short walk with luggage from bus and train stations. Breakfast is bountiful, rooms clean (but small - price reflects small rooms). Location is quiet. Bed was comfortable. This is my second visit, and I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 790Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello Susan,

thanks for your feedback, I hope we are going to deserve 5/5 next time you come here :)

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

The staff are extremely pleasant and always helpful, we were given a 20 minutes guide of where to go in Venice and where to eat which was very helpful. Complimentary drinks were also a nice touch. Location is also very good and at the price we paid we don't have many complaints especially as we booked it short notice but our room had a few minor problems.
Bath matt provided was not the best to say the least and not useable and the safe could be picked up by hand as it wasn't bolted to the floor so could not use it. Bed was two singles and kept moving apart.
Overall I would recommend but would stay in a different room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hello David,

thanks for your feedback. I hope to welcome you next time, but concerning the "issue" of two beds put together I regret to inform you we need to have some rooms with two beds, as many times people need separate beds and we cannot have all rooms with double bed only.

Cheers and thanks again

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We arrived around midday and experienced one of the most enthusiastic and friendly welcomes we've received at any hotel in any country. Michela (sorry if I've spelled that wrong!) was so warm and friendly that we felt like we were visiting an old friend, not checking into a hotel. On top of the welcome drinks and nibbles (peanuts, potato chips), she soon had maps out with recommended hotels, cafes and gelato, sunset walks, etc - amazing service. The other staff were also generally friendly and helpful at all times, but Michela's welcome has become our new gold standard. :-)

We stayed for 5 nights and were initially worried our room was close to the stairs so we would hear a lot of foot traffic but, in fact, we heard none at all. There were only two issues we experienced with the hotel.

1. As noted by another reviewer, the curtains would be the one issue we had with this hotel - they were transparent white linen and since we had people moving around across the small street we looked onto, if we changed clothes at night, we had to turn off the light in our room so we could not be seen. We also tended to wake early because of the dawn light though that may not be a problem for early risers.

2. The bathroom is renovated but the shower cubicle is a bit crowded. It's not a large cubicle, but there's a fancy massage shower in the cubicle which reduces the space further. This unfortunately would result in bending down to pick up the bottle of shampoo on the floor of the shower and inadvertently adjusting the water temperature by knocking the mixer tap with your hips/butt. It's certainly fancier than a standard shower, but probably overkill given the limited cubicle space. Once you work out where to stand in the shower so you don't change the temperature, it's fine, but there were a couple of suddenly-cold moments in the first shower experience which was "invigorating".

It's easy to get to this hotel if you arrive by bus, even with wheeled suitcases - only two small bridges to cross and less than 5 mins total walk. The train is also about a 5 min walk, but there's a much larger bridge you need to navigate so you'll be carrying your luggage over that because of the steps on the bridge. Not an insurmountable challenge and good exercise for the other 384 bridges in Venice!

Breakfast was great - three types of cereal, tinned fruit, yoghurt, toast and jam, croissants, cakes and pastries, and an included tea/coffee/hot chocolate each morning. Definitely a lot of variety and wildly better than we've experienced in other low-star rating hotels.

5-star service, only dropping one point overall for the see-through curtains. We'd stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MQ007b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hello our friend,

we wish to thank you for your feedback. Michela is proud of your words and would like all other staff become as welcoming as her.

Concerning curtains, you also had outside stuff to close in order not to be visible from the street, I will show them next time ;)

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The meet and greet and welcome drinks were the best we have had. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the local places to visit and restaurants which were exceptional. We comfortable and very homely and welcoming almost like you were a part of the family. Room was very clean and breakfast was good with great coffee. We will stay here again,

Room Tip: Right off of the Grand Canal and very close to the bus station and main train station. Definetly us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Bill,

you have been so nice, thanks a lot for your feedback, next time we wish to deserve a 5/5!

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Based on previous reviews we were expecting something better. The initial drinks and chips and check in was wonderful but the room was just ok. We had room 106 triple room and maybe other rooms are newer but our bed was so soft that two adults could not sleep on it. The heaters supposedly do not turn off until 11 pm so our room was very hot so we left the windows open for fresh air and let in Mosquitos and outside noise. On the first night the rooms next door had loud music and singing at 2 am until I had to ask them to please be considerate of others. The breakfast was very basic but ok.

The location was near enough to the train station and vaporetta stations. But you need to bring your luggage over a bridge with many stairs.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank theleavers_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Madame,

thanks a lot for the time you used for writing down your feedback. I apologize if other guests have been loudy during the night, unfortunately you know we cannot manage the behaviour of other people. Concerning the temperature, every room has independent control of the temperature, and you could have switched it off.

I confirm you did not have a renovated room, but please remember you are always in a 1 star hotel, which grants you a lot of good services and nice rooms, also the eldest.

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arrived at 9pm at night and the staff of the hotel had been waiting for us and offered a very nice welcome drink with some chips. They also upgraded our hotel room for free. We were very satisfied with the hotel and the staff and will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tchi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello Sir,

thanks for your feedback. These words sounds as honey, super!

Happy Easter from Venice, hope to meet you here again

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stefano and Patrizia
Great meet and greet with welcome drinks and our luggage taken up to our room on arrival. Staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the local attractions, felt very homely and welcoming almost like you were a part of the family. Room was very clean and breakfast was good with great coffee. Location is perfect to access Grand Canal and train station. Exceeded our expectations and we will be staying at this hotel when next in Venice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Stefano and Patrizia,

thank you so much for this great feedback, I truly appreciate these nice words :)

See you next time!

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 385 in Venice
1,110 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,170 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#126 of 385 in Venice
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#113 of 385 in Venice
1,164 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#129 of 385 in Venice
945 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#59 of 385 in Venice
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Address: Ramo delle Chioverete Sestiere Santa Croce 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#106 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £44 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing