We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous little hotel”
Review of Albergo Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Marin
Ranked #112 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fabulous little hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is the best 1 star hotel I have stayed in. Flatscreen tv, aircon and in room wireless along with a good breakfast make this an excellent choice for exploring venice. Situated at the top of the grand canal it has very close access to all the main boat routes, train and bus station. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barnsley245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello Mr Bamsley,

thank you so much for this great feedback,we are proud of your words even if we are working hard to imrpove more and more to give you the best possible experience!

See you next time!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    352
    114
    23
    13
See reviews for
145
467
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in an excellent location 5 mins from train station. Just as close to grand canal and bus station to. Only issue is finding it! Used map on my phone but walked right by it once as baring a few tables and chairs outside door it doesn't look like a hotel. Very helpful staff and a good breakfast to prepare for a day of sightseeing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello Jason,

thansk for your feedback...we also have the name written outside above our entry anycase :)

See you next time, when you won't miss the entrance for sure!

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a great hotel for that typical Venice stay. We have visited Venice twice before and love it and wanted to share the experience with our son and his wife, who live in London. The hotel is perfectly located for arriving by air and train, but also easy to get to the rest of Venice. Restaurants nearby. Also easy to get to Do Spade tapas bar near Rialto. Atmosphere of hotel is great, very friendly staff, good breakfast. Our son and his wife had a great room, right above the door, great for pictures. Wifi available in rooms and also in the sitting area outside the hotel. The welcoming drink and snack was a great way to start our fabulous Venice weekend. Everyone was very impressed..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonRob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
HELLO.

Thank you so much for your nice feedback! See you next time

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very close to main train station (although negotiating the bridge steps with luggage is a challenge....unless of course you wish to pay the local luggage porters !). Great access to the whole of Venice, either on foot or using the Vaporetto.
The welcome on arrival, including complimentary drink and local advice was great.
The bed (s) were typical European being two adjacent singles with flat pillows...but I suppose that is just normal over here.
The tiny shower cubicle was cluttered up with oversized plumbing making it unuseable for anybody other than a small child !
Breakfast was ok but definitely basic.

Ps. There is no elevator and steep stairs to contend with if you have reasonable luggage

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetaboutDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Dave,

thanks for your feedback. I appreciate your time

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great location--very close to Santa Lucia and bus station, whilst also being close to Ponte Rialto and St Marks. If we got tired, it was very easy to catch a traghetto(?) from the hotel to St Marks. In a really quiet neighbourhood. We had just come from Rome and the peace and quiet were heavenly. Richard's welcome was lovely. We'd spent all day on a train, so we guzzled our chips, nuts and freshly squeezed welcome juice. The staff and Michaela were all very helpful in giving info on how best to get around. Breakfast was great. All in all, a wonderful little place to stay. Room was super-clean and wifi was strong. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strzelecki61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello,

thank you so much. I'm always proud when we get 5/5 as e want to deserve the maximum possible rate: it means our guests feel as if they were at home!

Cheers

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good location, could get anywhere easily from here and very short walk with luggage from bus and train stations. Breakfast is bountiful, rooms clean (but small - price reflects small rooms). Location is quiet. Bed was comfortable. This is my second visit, and I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 790Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Susan,

thanks for your feedback, I hope we are going to deserve 5/5 next time you come here :)

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The staff are extremely pleasant and always helpful, we were given a 20 minutes guide of where to go in Venice and where to eat which was very helpful. Complimentary drinks were also a nice touch. Location is also very good and at the price we paid we don't have many complaints especially as we booked it short notice but our room had a few minor problems.
Bath matt provided was not the best to say the least and not useable and the safe could be picked up by hand as it wasn't bolted to the floor so could not use it. Bed was two singles and kept moving apart.
Overall I would recommend but would stay in a different room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo_Marin, Owner at Albergo Marin, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hello David,

thanks for your feedback. I hope to welcome you next time, but concerning the "issue" of two beds put together I regret to inform you we need to have some rooms with two beds, as many times people need separate beds and we cannot have all rooms with double bed only.

Cheers and thanks again

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#82 of 386 in Venice
1,030 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 386 in Venice
2,085 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#133 of 386 in Venice
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#166 of 386 in Venice
643 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
783 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#86 of 386 in Venice
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marin

Property: Albergo Marin
Address: Ramo delle Chioverete Sestiere Santa Croce 670/b, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#81 Family Hotel in Venice
#107 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Marin 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo Marin is your cozy hotel in Venice, close to the train station S.Lucia and a couple of steps far from the Grand Canal. We offer to our guest 19 nice rooms, all ensuite but one (cheaper), with a/c, safe, satellite tv and all kind of comfort you can get from a 1 star hotel of Venice. We also have two superior double rooms with turkish bathroom, where you can enjoy a complete and charmant relax. In the morning we serve complimentary breakfast in our breakfast all, which becomes a nice bar corner all the day long, where you can get something to drink before or after dinner. Starting from March the 5th 2013 we are proud to inform our nice guests we offer free wifi anywhere, also in rooms, and not only in common areas as once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Marin Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing