We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, typically Venetian”
Review of Hotel Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Castello
Ranked #213 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Was really impressed with this hotel. Close to all the Major Venetian attractions, San Marco, Doges Palace and San Zaccaria. The room was small but comfortable with all ammenities (aircon, TV, Mini Bar). The Bathroom was well equipped and very neat. The staff were friendly and very helpful when asking how to get to meusems. The hotel also has free Wifi access in the lobby. I woud highly recomend this hotel if you are staying in Venice for a short vaction

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Me and my girlfriend went here at the end of november 2011 and everything was just perfect starting the room, which was clean, confortably bed, lcd tv, seif and a minibar. bathroom was pretty big, clean, with everything in it (towels, soap, shampoo, hairdrier, etc). the hotel is located right in the heart of Vennice, 5 minutes from Saint Mark;s square, the breakfast was more then enough with cereals, milk, toast, ham, some sallamy, honey, butter, croissants, etc and coffee, hmmmmm, the incredible caffe latte served each morning.the smell of fresh croissant and coffee were inveding our room every morning. it was just wonderful. Vennice is incredible and the word are not enough to describe it. To bad about the big prices :) I will definitley go back to Vennice and to Castello hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoeugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Apon arrival there was a smell of drains in the entrance foyer ,breakfast was continental with not much selection of cereal or cold meats /cheese's.Room was small but this is the case in a lot of venice hotels .Bed wasn't that comfortable ,but the shower room although small was refurbished and good hot water supply.Location was good for us not far from st marks square.Wasn't to hard to find although it was up a little alley you have to keep looking up for the sign .Staff were friendly but be aware that there is a CITY TAX to pay and the end of your stay (This applies to all of venice),there was a notice on the notice board.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here for my 40th birthday had read some not so pleasant reviews but decided on reading many bad hotel reviews re Venice that this hotel sounded the best. I am so glad I did the staff and owners are amazing and location well perfect right by St marco square. The rooms were in true Venetian style beautiful fabriced Walls and furniture it blew me away. The breakfast was fantastic for continental and the lady that serves you coffee is lovely. The prices in Venice can be steep but check out hotel prices for bottle of wine one of the cheapest we found only €8. There are loadsof places to eat but can be expensive but left out of alley is a huge pizza and coke for €7 so grab if peckish last thing. There is a bar just off the square that is out from hotel take upper left path off square walk up and small bar on corner near bridge the atmosphere is lovely and wine only €2.20 if standing and €3 if sitting prob cheapest we found food is ok but great little place. Look out for ice skating too in one of the squares hotel side of Rialto bridge. Would I go back yes it's the most beautiful place but feel it's a love it or hate it place. Hotel was best choice especially when I saw my other options. Just remember no where the rooms are going to be huge as they have to take space from where to do ensuites and they can't build think about it logically but have fun!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loumay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Castello. The staff were friendly, the rooms were beautifully decorated and cleaned daily. We would certainly go again and would recommend a visit to the Castello centrally located.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zakaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

the hotel was a great deal and a great location just behind St. Mark's square. the rooms were small, decorated in the old venitian style, and quite location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCurtis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The Castello has a great location five minutes from St. Mark's and the Riva degli Schiavoni and its several vaporetto stops. The rooms are on the small side, but adequate. Ours were very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, but not great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryansmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 385 in Venice
458 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#120 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,170 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
831 reviews
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#107 of 385 in Venice
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello

Address: Calle del Figher, Campo SS Filippo e Giacomo | Castello 4365, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £47 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing