We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel with good service”
Review of Hotel Lux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lux
Ranked #346 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bad hotel with good service”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was VERY bad.
It was difficult to locate.
There was no elevator and we were on the fourth flour. The room was very tiny and the beds were really uncomfortable (very hard - including the pillows). Our shower was broken and difficult to use.
The breakfast was bad with the good tasting stale and off so much so that after the first morning we didn't go back.
The staff were very friendly though and helped us a lot with tours and freight home (getting the best prices)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mossk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    169
    153
    91
    124
See reviews for
124
276
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I had read several negative reviews but was pleasantly surprised upon my arrival. I was given a second floor room and they helped me with my luggage. Room was quiet and met my needs. Staff was helpful and continental breakfast was good. They even let me come early to breakfast so I could make my flight. The location was fabulous close to St. mark's square and a vaparetto stop. There were great restaurants and a fabulous leather goods store very close.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank meeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Porcupine, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location, just 2 minutes from Piazza San Marco. The rooms are clean and very spacious by European standards. The breakfast room is small and can accommodate about 10 people and the continental breakfast is not worth it. They served us 1 croissant each and we had our choice of yogurt or corn flakes. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has mobility issues, heart problems or respiratory difficulties because there is no elevator and lots of stairs. You need to climb one full flight of stairs just to get to the reception desk to check in and then a another flight to get to the first floor of rooms. We were on the third floor and had to climb four flights of stairs with our luggage. There is no one to help you with your bags. But if you are fit and don't mind the climb and aren't too interested in anything more then clean rooms then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were not happy with our experience at this hotel. Rooms are very dark and the air conditioner is controlled by the hotel. Breakfast very basic and area very small. No lift so you have to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eishhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in early August in peak season. Price ok for Venice and i had read reviews so was not expecting much. Low expectations were met. Reasonably quiet in room considering the location and bed not uncomfortable but you just dont really want to spend any time in the room except to shower and sleep. Bathroom is tiny and shower had drainage issues so had to keep turning off the water so the it wouldnt go all over the floor. Made hair washing difficult and time consuming.
Carried luggage up steep stairs to reception on arrival only to be told that i was in the other building so climbed back down. Maybe this info could have been emailed earlier. Walked by staff to another building a short walk away in another lane. No signage on door, and identical green doors side by side in laneway so getting back after dark was a challenge. Main door from street is closed but does not lock, no lighting until you hit a switch which goes off half way up more steep stairs. Thats if you knew to look for the switch in the first place. Didnt really feel safe until i had made it from the laneway into the room. From a security perspective of a solo female traveller i wouldnt want to be in the annexe building. The whole experience may have been slightly better if i was in the main building. Hard to say.
Had read the bad reviews of breakfast so didnt even bother. Plenty of cafes nearby.
Next time i will look for accommodation closer to the train station. You can walk or catch the waterbuses everywhere in Venice very easily. No need to be staying at San Marco. Im sure there must be better offerings than Hotel Lux. I recommend to look for them first.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

It was really a pity that we only had the one night in Venice at the Hotel Lux.
Located a couple of minutes stroll from St Marks Square it is a very comfortable hotel in an absolutely wonderful location. As with most hotels in Venice you are faced with some serious stair climbing and a seperate building for breakfast - but thats all part of the adventure on holiday.
The big question - would we choose to stay here again - yes we would

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel was one disaster.they had reception in other building and rooms in other building.Bathrooms were pathetic and for breakfast we had to go to another building which just had 9 tables or say sitting of less than 20 people.Breakfast was horrible....plz save urself from this hotel.
Only location was good.that's it!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shads87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#258 of 385 in Venice
215 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#273 of 385 in Venice
236 reviews
Castello
Locanda Canal
Locanda Canal
#306 of 385 in Venice
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#218 of 385 in Venice
512 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tintoretto
Hotel Tintoretto
#230 of 385 in Venice
392 reviews
Castello
Casa Nicolo Priuli
Casa Nicolo Priuli
#212 of 385 in Venice
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux

Property: Hotel Lux
Address: Calle delle Rasse Castello 4541-42, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing