We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel that sets out to please” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' Bauta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Bauta
Ranked #45 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small hotel that sets out to please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family and I spent a few days in Venice and chose this hotel for its proximity to major attractions but away from the crowd. We had a spacious room - king bed + sofa bed + single bed and bathroom. Bright and cheerful. I liked that we were given keys to the gate and hotel - come and go as we please. The hotel has 6 rooms which means each customer has the attention of the owner, Davide. Breakfast was plentiful and ok. The walk to the hotel was a little tough in the wet weather at night but made better that our luggage had wheels (a must) and directions were good. Hotel great for travelers with children at a reasonable price .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    58
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
87
105
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel had emailed us directions which allowed us to find it easily. Took a water taxi (water bus really) from the airport, and had to walk about 20 mins from the boat landing, including a couple of bridges. Not a big deal but make sure you can drag your luggage up and down stairs.
The hotel is small but nice. Classy interior, small bathrooms (Italy style) good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. We had a room with a king bed and a double (fold out sofa thing) for the kids which was a ggod deal. Location is in a quieter part of town, but only a sort walk from all the sights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heemskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague - Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Thank you very much for unforgettable stay in Venice. We wanted something special for our 3 days in Venice. Finally we chose Ca`Bauta because we did not want to stay in touristic area around San Marco`s Square, we wanted to be closer to local people but still very close to all tourist attraction. The location was great surrounded by highly recommended restaurants. The hotel staff was very helpful answering our questions all the time :-) I can hardly find the words how to describe the room or the apartment, it was fantastic and very unique. High ceilings, jacuzzi in the middle of the room, beautiful and peaceful private terrace. If you are thinking about a romantic and unique stay, this should be your choice!

Room Tip: We had an apartment with a jacuzzi and private terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. A fairly short walk from the water bus stop: F. Nova.
While directions to hotel first appeared tricky, they were very accurate and got us there with no problems or missteps. I can't say enough about how friendly and genuine the service was. They really want you to enjoy your stay in Venice, always checking to make sure that everything was okay. We really appreciated the recommendation for local places to eat that weren't touristy. Overall, a wonderful stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We only stayed one night here during our recent visit. We took a water-bus from the train station to Fondamenta Nuove water-bus stop and it's a long walk from there~ ok it's suppose to be a 10min walk but ended up 20min walk due to the heavy luggage, we had to drag our luggage over 3 bridges and finding the hotel. It's well hidden in a small alley sharing the same courtyard with some residential.

There's more stairs up to the reception area. The hotel is very elegantly decorated, has a luxury feels to it. Staff was friendly. We got to leave your luggage with them before check-in time. We had a room next to the dining area, a bit odd but it was not noisy since it's just a small hotel. Our room was 205, had one double bed and a sofa bed to fit all 4 of us. Bathroom was spacious with a bidet. However shower cubicle was very small, no bath tub.

You can get a city map from the reception desk. It's a nice walk from the hotel to San Marco Basilica and the branded shopping street of Marzenia De l'orologio. There's some pizzeria and small restaurants near the hotel.


P/S: and there's 4 bridges to cross if you're departing to the Airport which uses another water-bus stop that's further away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aby112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Ca' Bauta, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
We are happy to read that this client appreciated our Guesthouse and the attention and care of our staff. Altough the title of the review is about a not good location, we understand the he liked what he calls "a nice walk from the hotel to San Marco Basilica and the branded shopping street".
Indeed our Guesthouse is at about 5 minutes walking from the tourist streets and still in a tipycal and very Venetian neighbourhood.
About the effort to carry the luggage, for the other users of these reviews it is necessary to say that in Venice there are about 400 bridges and it is hard to get any further than 100 metres without crossing at least a cuple of them. Only 3 bridges from the waterbus stop to our Guesthouse is therefore rather good!
Besides, we send to each client (when we dispose of the email address) a file with step-by-step directions from every possible arrival point in Venice (Train station, Airport, Bus station ecc...), along with suggestion, waterbus routes, information about fares and others. From the train station, for example, during the day it is possible to reach another stop, closer to us and with no bridge on the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Ca'Bauta is a type of mask used to hide the true identity of a nobleman during Venice's historic Carnivale. So don't be put off by the dingy, narrow surrounding streets in this part of Venice, because from the tiny little calle (alleyway) which offers very little promise, open the gateway to the courtyard, go up the stairs and enter into the most beautiful of 14th century residences. Great care has been taken to retain the original soul of this small hotel, only six rooms of varying sizes which all lead off from the large central reception/dining room, yet all modern comfort is here. We had one of the smaller rooms, perfectly big enough for two adults, king size bed, and very good air conditioning, an essential for August. There has been previous comment about noise: be assured, the walls are thick and the bathroom is placed between the main core of the rooms and the central hall, which further aids soundproofing. The ceilings are probably twice the hight of a modern room and built with typically Venetian wooden beams - simple and gorgeous. We slept very well.
The staff - we concur with other guests. Davide is the perfect and authentic Venetian gentleman and his staff take from his example (special thanks to Cristina from both my wife and myself). They will look after your needs, recommend itineries and authentic eateries. On a map of Venice, Ca Bauta may not look the best location for convenience, but Cristina showed us routes to avoid the crowds, the quickest a-to-b, where to eat well and what to see. With this knowledge, your less than 10 mins walk to Piazza San Marco one way and in the other Fondamente Nove (vaporetti to Murano, Burano and Marco Polo Airport), and yet in a much more quiet part of the city. In all, ideal location, though not much to see the further east you wander.
Breakfast is GENEROUS for a continental style (anyone wanting the full "English" - don't go the Venice!)
Venice's hospital is minutes away, ideal should you need it (as I did!), but the building is worth seeking out anyway, the part fronting onto "Zanipolo" contains the former "Scuola di San Marco", a majestic optical illusion made out of marble.
BUT the best thing - definitely Davide, his staff and his beautiful hotel - just don't expect to see a canal directly from the window.

Room Tip: check Ca'Bauta's own website for Davide's special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DakerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights in Ca'Bauta in july on trip to Florence. They provided excellent detailed instructions on how to come from airport. I did not find it difficult to find at all. However, it was 10-15 min walk with luggage from where waterbus from airport dropped us. There were some steps involved which also was not great. However, once we arrived- we were thrilled. We had a lovely junior suite which had more than enough room. It was clean and comfortable and staff was very helpful. It is also away from the hustle and bustle but easy to walk to most things you would want to see. I would definitely return and recommend to all ( except physically handicapped - bec you have to walk up flight of stairs to enter and exit property.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#22 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#61 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#72 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#23 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#97 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Bauta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Bauta

Property: Ca' Bauta
Address: Castello-Barbaria delle Tole 6457 | Calle Muazzo, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Bauta 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historic centre, Ca' Bauta captures the spirit and splendor of Venice. Housed in a 15th-century building, this quaint hotel has very spacious rooms with high ceilings and is adorned with stylish furniture and fittings. The surrounding neighborhood is full of restaurants and shops to satisfy any taste, and is conveniently near St. Mark's Square (8 minutes), the Rialto Bridge (10 minutes), the Jewish quarter (20 minutes), Murano island (20 minutes), Gondola Point (5 minutes) and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Ca' Bauta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing