We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$379
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,146
US$925
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$418
US$408
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Albergo Marin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$522
US$390
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$419
US$373
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
US$727
US$698
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$426
US$365
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sant'Antonin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$375
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$647
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
231
147
51
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
147
51
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridge of sighssister hoteljunior suitebreakfast served in our roomwater taxist marks squareposter bedlovely hotelsan marco squareevery morningcorner roomhigh ceilingsjacuzzi tubperfect locationthe actual hotelcheap hotelshort walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great time in Venice for our 25th wedding anniversary. The whole experience was made memorable with the help of the friendly hotel staff who looked after us throughout our stay. San Marco is just around the corner and good restaurants are nearby too. We stayed in the junior suite which was quite and very comfortable considering the busy location.

Room Tip: Get a good map for hotel location as hotel directions not adequate
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Three_Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so much for the time you took to leave such a nice review about the Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri! Well... what can we say if not that we are priviledged to know you had a great time in Venice on your 25th wedding anniversary. Believe us, Sir, it is always an honour to take care of our beloved guests on such important occasions and we try to make sure everything is perfect. Besides our very central location we are glad that you found our staff friendly and helpy. We hope to accommodate you again, in the future; soon, perhaps?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I'll start by saying that this hotel is beautiful... on the surface. Unfortunately some of the fixtures and fittings are old or falling apart. Yes, it is picture perfect but don't tug at anything or brace yourself against anything, especially in the shower. Apart from this, I cannot give this hotel less than 5/5! The staff are amazing and made sure that everything was perfect for our stay. This trip was a surprise for my wife's 40th birthday and I was looking for a hotel with spacious suites, with palatial rooms with gold gilt edged decorations with dramatic and elegant chandeliers, the perfect image for our venetian trip and this hotel has all that in spades!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yianni1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you so much for leaving such a nice review about our Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri!
We are so glad that you quoted us as a "beautiful" hotel :-) ... at least on the surface. Do not worry, we are trying to fix those little problems day by day with our Maintenance staff.
And, well, wow... thanks for the 5/5 stars you gave us: we hope we can really deserve them. You see, we try hard every day to ensure our beloved guests a wonderful experience in a way or another. That is why our staff is very well trained to give you satisfaction and make you stay perfect. We are happy that you chose to celebrate your wife's birthday with us... we hope to be able to welcome you again on your birthday, next. Or on some other occasion of your choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is in perfect location to st mark's square. It really was a 5 minute stroll through the alleys to the hotel.
There are lots of restaurants nearby as well as the palace and gondolas etc.
It was quite a busy area due to the closeness to the square, but this also makes you feel the very buzz and heartbeat of the city - everything is either walking or on the water!!
The room was clean, plush with traditional furnishings and thick curtains etc. A bit of a time-warp, but in the nice-est possible way- really felt we were in Venice of old!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Will5024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you so much for the nice review which you have left on Tripadvisor: we are glad that you found our location perfect. We would like to take this chance to inform our potential guests that we are at the end of 381 Calle Larga San Marco, behind St. Mark's Square!
We enjoy reading our beloved guests, like you, writing about the cleanliness of their rooms: our chambermaids put a lot of effort ensuring the perfect cleanliness of the bedroom prior to the guest's arrival.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon: thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The beauty of Venice cannot be written, it doesn't really matter where you stay.
Anyway, first important thing at this hotel is the location. Yes, it's true that first we had some troubles finding it, but it was raining, and it's was the flow. After that, it's a bliss to be at 5 minutes by foot from San Marco. You can just walk and walk on the endless alleys and you know where to return.
Second: the staff was just great !
3rd: we had a complimentary trip to a glass factory on Murano island.
The breakfast was served in another hotel, nearby, and i was not verry happy with that at first, but in the end it proved to be a bohemian and romantic location.
Yes, they can do better, and yes, the lobby and the elevator are kinda small, but i guess that is caused by the location and all. Maybe they can charge less.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view on the canal.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mihaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Mihaela,
thank you so much for leaving a review about our nice Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri in Tripadvisor: we are, of course, glad to read that you enjoyed the beauty of our beloved Venice by experiencing our very central location. Our hotel is one step's throw to San Marco's Square, as a matter of fact! Also, we are proud that our staff was great and that you enjoyed your visit to a gass factory. Breakfast is served on the 2nd floor of the Donà Palace, our sister hotel... or in the room at NO EXTRA COST :-) We sincerely hope to meeting you again and host you here, at the beautiful Hotel Al Ponte dei Sospiri!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon! It was so sweet because we left a note on our booking that we were on our honeymoon and in our room was a tart with a little note that said congratulations! I thought that really says a lot about the place, no where else we stayed in europe did something like that for us. Hotel is literally right next to san marco square, and the canal it is on is the one with the bridge of sighs! Was super romantic, had ac, free wifi, free breakfast in its sister hotel probably 30 steps away. If you don't want to walk to breakfast they deliver it to your room for free! Also was very quiet at night. If I ever go back to Venice I will stay here again I highly recommend! The staff was super friendly and wonderful! Thank you for making our honeymoon great!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shannan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpontedeisospiri, Front Desk Manager at Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
we are so proud that you spent your honeymoon with us and we would like to thank you for the lovliest review which you have left. Believe us, the home made tart with our "congratulations" note was just a pleasure of which we could not deprive ourselves. We hope to welcome you on some other occasion, perhaps soom! Thanks again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews