We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place!”
Review of Silk Road Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silk Road Hostel
Ranked #33 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Even though we only got to stay at Silk Road for one night, the hosts and the place were so lovely! Would highly recommend!

The room (private double with shared bathroom) was really lovely, and although noise from the avenues below travelled up between the buildings, this couldn't be helped.

The free breakfast in the morning was also really delicious and broad, and we were able to mingle with other guests too.

The guys let us leave our stuff at the hostel during the day too, once we had checked out, which meant we could go an explore Venice properly without struggling with heavy backpacks (our train wasn't until later that evening).

Overall, was a lovely experience and would definitely stay there again if we ever get back to Venice (fingers crossed)!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Silk Road Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights and had a great time. Alex, the host, was incredibly friendly. He took some of the guests and I on a short photo tour around the area one afternoon then even made us dinner in the evening. The location is very convenient, just a short water taxi ride from the bus terminal, and there is a grocery store right down the street. I'm so glad I chose to stay here!

Room Tip: I stayed in the female dorm room, which was very spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hostel is in a great position to explore Venice and only 15min walk to the train station. Very clean and tidy. The owner Alex was really helpful and made me feel very welcome. Delicious breakfast and coffee in the morning. I would highly recommend this hostel; I can't wait to return to Venice. The best hostel I stayed in in Italy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Now i am starting at hostel and its amazing for this price, so clean and the receptionist is so kind person. When i visit to venice next time, i will stay here again. Also you can cook in the kitchen what you want. There are so many stuffs.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed in a 4 bed female room. I was super excited that the twin beds were not bunk beds. We each got a cupboard to lock up our things with a small chain and padlock. We had a view over the canal from our bedroom window.The bedroom itself was not locked. We got the padlock key and a key to the outside door. There was one bathroom on the first floor and one on the second. Each had a shower, toilet, and bidet. Bring your own towel.

The bedroom was big, with a high ceiling and marble floor.

Breakfast was white toast, nutella, cheese spread, jam, pre-packaged mini fruit or chocolate pie, pre-packaged croissant, pre-packaged chocolate cake bar.

My first night was Saturday night. Our host cooked pasta with red sauce and served it with a large bottle of table wine. He said that sometimes he does that on Saturday night. I enjoyed the food and conversation.

Make sure that you print the directions that you receive in the confirmation email. It includes specific instructions for finding the door. It is down a narrow alley. It is easier to find the place if you take a water taxi. I thought it was a short walk from the train station, but I got off track and spent hours with a map trying to get back on course. Venice is a maze. It took approximately a half hour for me to walk to the train station without mistakes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MinnesotasFavoriteVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My first visit to Venice and I was looking for somewhere clean and reasonably priced. This place fitted the bill perfectly. I read all the reviews before booking and thought they sounded a bit too good to be true. They turned out to be accurate. Alex works hard to make the place welcoming and I would have no hesitation in booking again if I ever return to the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artsavesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My sister and I stayed here in July 2012 for 3 nights ... Silk Road is very clean, has friendly staff, and is in a great location! There is also a grocery store very near by which came in handy. There are also many restaurants near by. I really liked the view from our room overlooking the Giudecca Canal!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Instablonde1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
#121 of 225 in Venice
6 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
L'Imbarcadero
#59 of 225 in Venice
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Haven Hostel San Toma
Haven Hostel San Toma
#47 of 225 in Venice
29 reviews
Giudecca
Sunny Terrace Hostel
Sunny Terrace Hostel
#146 of 225 in Venice
91 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Easy Hostel Venice
Easy Hostel Venice
#113 of 225 in Venice
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Road Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Road Hostel

Address: Calle Dei Cortellotti Dorsoduro 1420 E, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Silk Road Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing