We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Ranked #190 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Venice”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Fabulous holiday as we had never been before, lots to learn and see. The hotel was very close to st. Marc's square in fact 15 seconds! Bedrooms small but compact and clean. Bar closed mostly. Staff helpful. Poor wi fi. Breakfast included it was okay. City tax 4euro each per night.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter really only in there to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    470
    273
    135
    101
See reviews for
238
610
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

You're literally 30 seconds from the square, there's a canal that starts outside the back door of the hotel, and if you're on the third floor, you have roof-top views for as far as the eye can see. This place was beautiful. I loved it. The only semi-issue was that it was my first stop in Europe and I didn't realize that every hotel has showers that are roughly 1/8 the size of American in-home showers, so that was alarming. Once I got past the idea of rubbing my arms all over the shower walls as I washed, I remembered that there may as well not have been a bath - it would still get 5* for being 90 seconds from the clock tower.

Beautiful, old, incredible location. If/when I go back to Venice, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel in mid August .the AC is excellent.g location could not be better,friendly staff,very clean. only problem is the WiFi in the upper floors. I recommend staying in this hotel. .I visited it with my family they just loved it.

Room Tip: Try to book second floor .you have WiFi there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riyad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Situated right next to St Marks square and having the gondoliers ply their trade right outside the dining room window made this the most exquisite breakfast I have ever eaten on holiday. Quintessential Venice you'll love this place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Location is good. Very near to San Marco and Rialto bridge. need to enhance the map or direction in the web for easy finding when first time come, because the location is actually very easy to find with a clear direction. Staff can help for city guide information although not so friendly. Room is a bit small but staying in Venice mostly to enjoy outdoor experience not the room so probably not too important aspect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greve, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

One of the main reasons we booked this hotel, was the good acceds to wi—fi all over the hotels. However we discovered that the wi-fi did not work on our room Complaning to the reseption did not help, as the staff could inform us that wi-fi never had worked on that hotel and that the management was aware of that. If we wanted to use wi-fi we could use the one in the lobby, however the wi-fi there did only reach out for 2-4 sq. meters.
The hotel is knowingly using false advertising when they claim : ”The hotel provides free of charge high speed Internet Wireless connection in all rooms and public areas”.
It was not possible to get in conctact with any memers of the manegement during our stay.
We had booked for 3 nights but checked out after 2.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel could not be much better placed for exploring Venice and St Marks Square. The gondoliers congregate right outside the hotel, making for a superb setting. The hotel itself is a little tired and dated, however. The staff were reasonably friendly and helpful upon arrival and were able to offer a suitable travel plug adaptor (for a €10 fully refundable deposit). The room was on the top floor and unfortunately didn't have a view out over the rear of the hotel (where the gondolas congregate). The room itself was small and dated, bathroom was modern and although small, quite adequate. I'd asked for a possible room change with a better view but the hotel staff claimed they were full...we returned from a superb night out in Venice at 11.30pm to find an unbelievable noise from the lift every time it was called (no matter to which floor). By 12.30am I'd had enough and complained to the reception, and again at 1.30am, and again at 2.30am. The staff either couldn't or wouldn't do anything about this. Sadly, we were leaving the following morning so our last night in a beautiful city was ruined. Having paid £100 for the room (and a very basic continental breakfast) plus a further €4 per person overnight city tax, I was incredibly disappointed in Best Western for not offering even a token partial refund, nor the Cruise 118 tour operator nor the Getabed website (who apparently sold this room to us) for making any attempt to recompense in any way. A feeble apology is all we got for having an entire night's sleep disrupted until around 3am in the morning and starting again at 6.30am. DO NOT BOOK ROOM 1451 at this hotel, nor any other room anywhere near the lifts in this hotel. Ask for another room or move to another hotel. You'll get no sleep! AVOID!!!

Room Tip: Don't book room 1451, avoid at all costs! Also avoid any room near the lifts. You'll get no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#201 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#267 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#155 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#73 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#209 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#119 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo

Property: Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Address: Sestiere San Marco 1107 | Calle del Cavalletto, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cavalletto E Doge Orseolo)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cavalletto e Doge Orseolo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing