We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic b&b”
Review of Locanda Barbarigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Barbarigo
Ranked #132 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed here for two days at the end of May during Vogalonga. (The Vogalonga is a giant annual May Bank Holiday spectacle, a colourful pageant in which thousands of vessels of every kind race 32 km around Venice’s lagoons and canals. With tiny kayaks jostling for space with dragon boats, outriggers, fours, eights, sculls, skiffs and traditional venetian rowing boats, and with the ornate bridges and balconies teaming with spectators, it is the Italian equivalent to Spain’s running With the bulls). Locanda Barbarigo is a very basic bed&breakfast in every way: staff, cleanliness, facilities, toilet & shower, etc. Which is all ok if you don't mind the price and just want to sleep there maybe after a day spent all around Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

My Mother and I stayed at this lovely little B&B for two nights in May. The directions provided were easy to follow and we had no trouble finding the place. Monica greated us kindly and assisted in carrying our luggage up the stairs and was happy to provide advice on accessing discounted passes to museums and which sites not to miss. We stayed on the very top floor which included an additional living space and window overlooking a small courtyard. One evening we were lucky enough to enjoy the music from the opera house next door - not overly loud.

Room and bathroom were both clean and tidy, shower was great: both hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast was fine: coffee, tea, juice, cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries/breads, fruit, yoghurt. The reception is not manned in the evenings, guests are provided with key card access to the building and keys to the rooms. Wifi signal was poor on the top floor and we had to sit in the lobby to access the internet on our laptop (a bit uncomfortable with guests coming/going as the lobby is small and only two chairs available to sit on). This B&B is relatively close to public transport (water buses) and a short walk to St Mark's Square.

Overall an enjoyable stay and we would recommend to others.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Winta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Well, it's my first comment there. I'm usually just reading what have been said.

Because of the gap between what we've lived and what we can read on tripadvisor, I just want to highlight our experience.

We've been badly received by the manager:
The room was clearly smaller than what we have been said by calling the manager,
The towels were dirty
The soap/shampoo is not refilled
You have to choose between too hot water with low pressure, or cold water with high pressure, nothing between both extreme
The room was quite noisy
Wifi access was not working even on the lobby
Breakfast was a real joke : cold and bad coffee, awful bakeries (if any), old fruits.

And the worst part : if I cannot put pictures of all what I mentioned, it's because my camera has been stolen. During the day. So, I dont't know who did that. But I would have preferred to pay a few more euros per night and still have my camera in hand.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locanda B, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Guest,
we regret you couldn't find anything attractive in our Inn. We are not sure you are referring to our Guesthouse maybe you had a mistake.
We understand that opinions can be subjective, in fact many other guests find their stay at Locanda Barbarigo just perfect.
In any case, every comment represents a purpose to improve our services although, we would like to reply to your libel.
1: the smell when you enter the building is either lavender or citrus essence!
2: our reception staff is always polite and helpful with information and tips, you should have asked to them. We don't want to be to oppressive with guests who love to discover Venice by themselves.
3: In the bathroom it is clearly written, in a multi language sticker, that the change of towels is on request. We take care of the environment, what about you? And to mix the water there is a specific tap.
4: the check-out time is at 10:30 and it is written on the door, like in any other hotel in the world. In any case we always leave other 15-30 minutes after the check-out time before recalling the guest. If you needed a late check-out, you should have asked at the reception
5: it is not possible to drink clod coffee because our automatic machine do not work until the water reach 95C° ( 203 F°)
6: the small room typology is small in itself and it is a non sense to complain for what has been chosen.
7: it is difficult to hear noise because the small rooms overlook a courtyard ,so no steps of people , no people passing by…. The only “noise” you could heard was some music coming from the opera house in front of us…
Our receptionists ( no manager at the reception) are on duty from 8 am to 7 pm and all building is controlled by cameras just for more security, therefore, the luggage left is safe!
It is a common sense to communicate with the staff and report any problem with room service or other things. If the clients do not mention anything we can not guess!
Considering that in the reviews you did not mention the room either the period of your stay, we really do not know who you are and if really you had an accommodation in our Guesthouse.
We also noticed that your profile photos of the 2 reviews (3 and 4 sept .) are the same.!!!!
We think that the 2 reviews are disloyal and we hope you will realize how harmful it can be for us.
Locanda Barbarigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

1st the smell, straight when you enter the building. Awful. It's not the water, it's something else. Weird.

2nd the welcome : no hello or bungiorno, no smile. You seem to disturb.

3rd the room : towels are not changed during your stay. Same story for shower gel, shampoo or soap. They do not want to give you some more! So, you'll be comply with buying it. No hot water in the shower neither. Very very noisy room.

4th the check out time : 10h30, very early. Reception will call you several time to recall you this.

5th the bill : no surprise on the total. Excepted that they add venezian tourist taxes (this is normal) but they try to make you pay this by cash...

6th the luggages : you want to leave your luggages during the day (because you don't want to have it during all your visits)? They will point at the entrance of the room and tell you to leave it their. It means that every one coming in or out the hotel can take it! I've never see such a dumb organization, so if you have an ipad or a notebook in your bag, think twice.

Conclusion : worst stay in venezia. Do not go there, Venezia is full of small charming hotel or B&B, with sympathetic owners ready to help you to discover the charmful city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neal_Cassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locanda B, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Guest,
we regret you couldn't find anything attractive in our Inn. We are not sure you are referring to our Guesthouse maybe you had a mistake.
We understand that opinions can be subjective, in fact many other guests find their stay at Locanda Barbarigo just perfect.
In any case, every comment represents a purpose to improve our services although, we would like to reply to your libel.
1: the smell when you enter the building is either lavender or citrus essence!
2: our reception staff is always polite and helpful with information and tips, you should have asked to them. We don't want to be to oppressive with guests who love to discover Venice by themselves.
3: In the bathroom it is clearly written, in a multi language sticker, that the change of towels is on request. We take care of the environment, what about you? And to mix the water there is a specific tap.
4: the check-out time is at 10:30 and it is written on the door, like in any other hotel in the world. In any case we always leave other 15-30 minutes after the check-out time before recalling the guest. If you needed a late check-out, you should have asked at the reception
5: it is not possible to drink clod coffee because our automatic machine do not work until the water reach 95C° ( 203 F°)
6: the small room typology is small in itself and it is a non sense to complain for what has been chosen.
7: it is difficult to hear noise because the small rooms overlook a courtyard ,so no steps of people , no people passing by…. The only “noise” you could heard was some music coming from the opera house in front of us…
Our receptionists ( no manager at the reception) are on duty from 8 am to 7 pm and all building is controlled by cameras just for more security, therefore, the luggage left is safe!
It is a common sense to communicate with the staff and report any problem with room service or other things. If the clients do not mention anything we can not guess!
Considering that in the reviews you did not mention the room either the period of your stay, we really do not know who you are and if really you had an accommodation in our Guesthouse.
We also noticed that your profile photos of the 2 reviews (3 and 4 sept .) are the same.!!!!
We think that the 2 reviews are disloyal and we hope you will realize how harmful it can be for us.
Locanda Barbarigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Directions given were great and we found it without any problems, and this was navigating our own way from the vaparetto stop at St Mark's Square. We were in room 6 which was small but perfectly formed and had everything you need from a city break hotel including air con which was a must for August..! We had a gorgeous view of the canal running by the hotel. Breakfast was great, fruit juice, tea/coffee, fruit, breads, meats and cheeses etc, all enough to set you up for the busy day ahead. Location was outstanding, only a 5 to 10 minute stroll to the square. We actually booked our room on Laterooms.com and paid a great price, especially when looking at the other hotels in this area. Would totally stay at this hotel again, couldn't fault it. Only thing I would advise is make sure you have your hotel departure tax in Euro's we weren't told this, had 14 euro's on us but then had a mad dash to find 4 extra euro's on checking out, we thought we could just add this on to the bill and pay by card..!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kha1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for your wanderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Locanda Barbarigo.
We hope we can wellcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We chose the Locanda Barbarigo due to the provision (at extra cost) of gluten free breakfasts which were very welcome as was the recommendation of a local restaurant (a beccafico) which serves amazing food with good gluten free options. We booked with Gilli's Holidays and we were so glad that Gilli recommended this small hotel to us as it is in keeping with true venetian style. We had a beautiful room (Tris) which overlooked a small courtyard. We received excellent service in the hotel. The lady on reception went out of her way to try to help us book train tickets over the internet. The hotel is perfectly located to visit the main sites in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Locanda Barbarigo was fantastic. In terms of accommodations the location was great - close enough to the heart of the city but somehow not engulfed by the tourist free-for-all. The room was BEAUTIFUL, well cared for and more than I expected. I would like to offer a special note here to communicate how wonderful the staff was. I was there on business and a colleague lost their passport, wallet, everything. My colleague was staying in a different hotel and I had already checked out. Even though neither one of us was with Locanda Barbarigo at that point the staff took a lot of time out to help us with embassy information, passport recovery information - which was urgent because of a flight out that day - procedures with the Venetian police and, importantly, an overall sense of calm and generosity. In addition to the lovely accommodations it is great to know that a hotel in a tourist epicenter is anything but beleagured. I would highly recommend them.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank jason v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

We are very happy that your trables have been solved. Thank you for your kind review.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
760 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
#189 of 385 in Venice
331 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#124 of 385 in Venice
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#99 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#134 of 385 in Venice
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Barbarigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Barbarigo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2503/A | Fondamenta Duodo o Barbarigo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £59 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Barbarigo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Barbarigo is a Venetian Inn located in the heart of Venice just few steps from Piazza San Marco, from the most important monuments and museums of the city and the most prestigious boutiques.The rooms are located at the first floor of Palazzo Barbarigo restructured in line with the elegant and refined style of the original architectural structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Locanda Barbarigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Barbarigo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing