We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self contained apartment???? not really”
Review of Locanda Barbarigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Barbarigo
Ranked #172 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Queensland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Self contained apartment???? not really”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Firstly we stayed in the apartment which is managed by the Locanda Barbarigo - not the Locanda Barbarigo its self.
The pics on the booking site do not in any way represent the apartment.
The apartment is in a fabulous location- on the first floor in a small quiet alley 50 metres from the San Marco Piazza and similar distance to the San Marco vaporetta station. It consisted of a small entry hall, a decent sized bedroom, a sitting room, small bathroom and small kitchen.
There are several restaurants in the area - a supermarket nearby. There is an ATM only one block away. The downside is that you have to go to the Locanda Barbarigo to check in and collect the key.
The booking information said that this was a self contained apartment
however
this was not really the case.
The apartment is badly in need of maintenance. The window glass in the kitchen had a crack horizontally right across it - the oven was 'out of order' - there were several plates -but only one tea cup. The 'fridge worked quite well. Four pillows were provided - but only three had pillow cases. We found the fourth pillow case in a kitchen drawer which appeared to have been used by the previous occupants for a tea towel. Given this - one wonders if the bed linen had been changed after the previous occupants had left.
The bed squeaked every time you moved - no night time calisthenics or you will wake the whole apartment block.
Cleanliness??? given that we were told the apartment had just been cleaned, it sure left a lot to be desired -the shower curtain was covered with mildew and we had to clean around the stove and sink before we could use it.
The bath/shower arrangement is positively dangerous. The bath wall is very high and the floor of the bath is split level - giving you a small area to stand and shower.
With some general maintenance, a bloody good clean and a more user friendly bath/shower arrangement, this apartment would be the perfect place to stay in Venice.
However, given its present condition, I could not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We take note of your point of view.
Pity though that you do not have stayed at the Locanda Barbarigo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    92
    35
    24
    15
See reviews for
23
141
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We were aware from the get-go that this was a small, family business style inn, but weren't quite prepared for what was in store.

As we reached the hotel (middle of the afternoon), we found the door closed, with a notice saying that, in case of emergency, we should call the phone number provided, or ring the bell. We rang the bell, and the lady who answered informed us that the reception was closed; she let us know that there was an envelope waiting for us at the desk with a letter, the key and a check-in slip (which the letter explained we were to fill in ourselves) , and opened the door for us.

The morning after we arrived, we asked at the reception about how to proceed with the check-out, seeing as the reception operated on a limited schedule. We were informed that the receptionist would be there until 1pm. On the morning of leaving, we decided to sleep in after breakfast, having understood the conversation to mean that we had until 1pm to check out. To our surprise, reception called our room at 10h50, informing us that check-out had been until 10h30 and that we should vacate the room immediately (we let her know that, since we were sleeping and counting on having a fair bit longer, we'd take a little while to get ready).

As we reached the reception to check-out, what followed was essentially us being accused (quite rudely!) of having purposefully overstayed, causing the cleaning lady to wait. We did our best to try and call it a misunderstanding rather than outright accuse her of misinforming us, so it was quite vexing to have no such courtesy be extended back.

In terms of the actual hotel, the room provided was indescribably tiny -- I literally could only stand by the bed if I were sideways -- there was no wardrobe (just some sort of narrow corridor-like nook with a rod at the end) and we could barely find the space to open our suitcase. Also, the minibar was empty (but with very detailed pricing information for what could've been there, nonetheless!). Still, it was clean and pleasant, with the window overlooking a small canal just off the Grand Canal.

Overall, the hotel is very small, and it was somewhat disconcerting to have the bedroom door open onto to the breakfast room, providing no privacy whatsoever. There are, in fact, no other communal spaces other than the minuscule lobby and the breakfast room. It does, however, have a certain charm to it that was completely ruined by the poor service.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6, aka "Privato", as it's bloody tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pdpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your review , you give us the opportunity to reply to your points.
This is not an Hotel but an old ( Historical) House refurbished as B&B. In this case services are different from an Hotel.
When clients arrrive outside business hours we are organized to wellcome them as you described.
On the room door there is written the check out time but you did not respected it so we have been obliged to call you . After one hour of delay ( other clients were already coming for the check in and we should have to clean the room for them) you came for the check out.
We let you notice the very big delay...in any case we did not ask any charge for your late check out.

When you asked for the reception time you preferred us to speak in Italian ( even if we were speaking in English) and we correctly replied ... possibly you did not understand well .... here the misunderstanding...

We have just received a very positive review appreciating just what you disliked.....
Sothat we can understand that opinions can be completely different......what you consider "surreal" is "wanderfull" for others....

We thank you for your stay in our Locanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We flew in early on a monday morning for a 3 night stay and decided to take the alilaguna waterbus to saint marcos square to get to the hotel as the hotel had recommended. The only problem was that the directions given by the hotel was confusing and it was hard to find.

We we finally found the hotel, the staff there was very nice. Even though it was early, they allowed us to check in early and took us up to the room. The room was very clean and had all the necessities.

The Breakfast was simple with some pastries and meats, but very nice and filling for a day of exploring.

A little noisy at night from the nearby opera, but it was nice to hear the opera from the room and it usually ended early enough to get to sleep at a normal time.

The main problem I had with the hotel was that once checkin is over around 2 to 3, there seems to be no other staff in the building to ask questions or help if there are any problems. As we were traveling internationally we didn't have an Italian phone yet to call for help. Thankfully we really didn't have any problems but it would have been nice to have someone ,even in the early afternoon, to ask for directions, restaurant recommendations, or supermarkets or such.

Also the internet is only free for 1 hour so if you need it, make sure you conserve it.

Overall great stay and great location for the price!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmorse90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
We thank you for your nice review.
Our property is a B&B not an Hotel, sothat our services are different. During the afternoon we are always in touch with the clients who can contact us through an interphone located at the entrance.In this way clients can speak to us avoiding the use of a mobile.
We hope you can come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed in Venice for three days in June 2012, and indeed we had a glorious time there. The Loncanda Barbarigo proved an excellent choice for staying: the B&B is conveniently located in the heart of the city, the manager and staff were really nice and helpful, and they had great coffee for breakfast (which isn't a given, not even or especially in Italy). We had a "double classic", i.e. two beds in a small room (charmingly low ceiling) right under the roof. There wasn't really much of a view, but it was clean, quiet and relaxing to stay there. Next time I go to Venice, I will definitly book myself in here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your kindeness.
It's always a pleasure to receive positive reviews.
We hope you can come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILANO
Level Contributor
520 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed here for two days at the end of May during Vogalonga. (The Vogalonga is a giant annual May Bank Holiday spectacle, a colourful pageant in which thousands of vessels of every kind race 32 km around Venice’s lagoons and canals. With tiny kayaks jostling for space with dragon boats, outriggers, fours, eights, sculls, skiffs and traditional venetian rowing boats, and with the ornate bridges and balconies teaming with spectators, it is the Italian equivalent to Spain’s running With the bulls). Locanda Barbarigo is a very basic bed&breakfast in every way: staff, cleanliness, facilities, toilet & shower, etc. Which is all ok if you don't mind the price and just want to sleep there maybe after a day spent all around Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My Mother and I stayed at this lovely little B&B for two nights in May. The directions provided were easy to follow and we had no trouble finding the place. Monica greated us kindly and assisted in carrying our luggage up the stairs and was happy to provide advice on accessing discounted passes to museums and which sites not to miss. We stayed on the very top floor which included an additional living space and window overlooking a small courtyard. One evening we were lucky enough to enjoy the music from the opera house next door - not overly loud.

Room and bathroom were both clean and tidy, shower was great: both hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast was fine: coffee, tea, juice, cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries/breads, fruit, yoghurt. The reception is not manned in the evenings, guests are provided with key card access to the building and keys to the rooms. Wifi signal was poor on the top floor and we had to sit in the lobby to access the internet on our laptop (a bit uncomfortable with guests coming/going as the lobby is small and only two chairs available to sit on). This B&B is relatively close to public transport (water buses) and a short walk to St Mark's Square.

Overall an enjoyable stay and we would recommend to others.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Winta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#208 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#143 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#136 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
San Marco
Locanda de La Spada
Locanda de La Spada
#68 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
San Marco
Zaguri B&B
Zaguri B&B
#79 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Barbarigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Barbarigo

Property: Locanda Barbarigo
Address: San Marco 2503/A | Fondamenta Duodo o Barbarigo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Barbarigo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Barbarigo is a Venetian Inn located in the heart of Venice just few steps from Piazza San Marco, from the most important monuments and museums of the city and the most prestigious boutiques.The rooms are located at the first floor of Palazzo Barbarigo restructured in line with the elegant and refined style of the original architectural structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda Barbarigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Barbarigo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing