We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Short walk to Vaparetto”
Review of Locanda Barbarigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Barbarigo
Ranked #153 of 470 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

At this time of year, this was one of the best prices I could find so I was not expecting much -- especially when I booked the "small" room (having been to Venice before I have experienced very small rooms). Instead, I found a spotless room, with a good size washroom, and plenty of room to walk around the bed. There was a mini fridge, small flat screen tv, a safe, air conditioning, free wifi and a very basic breakfast. The reception lady was very friendly and helpful. There is no reception in the evening or early a.m. but you can leave the key in the mailbox if you have an early check out. The location was quiet along a small canal. If arriving from the airport, take the orange line to the Giglio vaporetto stop, walk due straight down the narrow alley to the square, turn left and take the small bridge to the left, walk to end (5 minutes total). This is very handy to avoid carrying suitcases through the various Venetian streets. The B&B is not clearly marked, it's the first door under the "walkway". If you take the blue line, it's about a 7-10 minute walk from San Marco towards Academia over a few sets of bridges.

My review is based on the room on the 1st floor to the left. There are only 2 rooms on this floor and another 5 on the 2nd floor opening onto the breakfast area.

Room Tip: 1st floor, room to the left is quiet with a small window opening into the courtyard of next building...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your very positive review.
We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay at our Locanda.
We hope you can come back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Locanda Barbarigo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

The rating stars are for the Locanda Barbarigo apartment - not the hotel.

Firstly, we were originally booked in the Locanda Barbarigo apartment not the hotel. We booked through hostelbookers.com and were so excited to stay in the grand rooms advertised. However, in the small print it says - the apartment is located 5mins away from the hotel. Great...

The apartment was in a great location- on the first floor in a small quiet alley 100 metres from the San Marco Piazza and similar distance to the San Marco Vaporetta station. It consisted of a small entry hall, a decent sized bedroom, a sitting room, small bathroom and small kitchen. The small alley was of concern straight away as we were two young women travelling and it was very dark.

It is not a self-contained apartment. The oven was broken, the kettle was mouldy, the apartment hadn't been cleaned and the shower head kept falling down. We put our stuff down and noticed there was a stain on the bed sheets....obviously hadn't been cleaned! My friend went straight to have a shower and the head kept falling down and the bath tub only had half to stand up in as the other half was a moulded seat.

We are British and it is not really in our nature to complain but we couldn't stay in the apartment for the price we had paid unless it was cleaned. It was very difficult to get in contact with the hotel reception, but when we did they offered us to come and see a room in the hotel. They told us that we would have to pay more for the hotel room, however we argued that we didn't pay nearly 400 euros for false advertisement and an apartment that wasn't clean! After some forceful negotiation we got the room. Roxy was very helpful, however Christine wasn't so pleasant to deal with and wasn't very clear with her directions and was very cold / almost patronising.

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms were so elegant, the bathroom was large and the air-conditioning in August was ok. We were told we wouldn't have breakfast or have cleaning services everyday which was fine as that is what we expected anyway.

We suggest going to the beach on the Island of Lido for the day as it is so easy to get to and you can have a well earned rest! You get off the water bus and walk straight for 5mins and reach the hot sand! The best restaurant we visited was on 'Calle Larga S.Marco' just behind San Marco square called 'Marciana Ristorante'. The seafood spaghetti was beautiful and the prices were reasonable for the city. Also on the same street was 'Rossopomodoro' which had the best street pizza ever!! It was 3 euros for a huge slice and it was beautiful....

Venice is stunning and to be appreciated more, do your research and read all the fine-print even if the pictures on a site suggest otherwise! Stay at the hotel - not the apartment! I can't recommend the apartment to anyone but the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJSWORDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

We regret that on your arrival, the accomodation was not what you expected. It is described on the main page.
In any case we usually send more detailed information just to avoid every misunderstanding.
We are also very sorry that something inside did not work perfectly, the previous clients were not so "educated" and maybe room made did not notice some items, but she cleaned the apartment and she chenged towels and linen.
We understand that the day of your arrival was very hot ( around 35°C) and humid so the nervousness could intensify vision of things.
Because of it we decided to give you the only room availbale at the Locanda at the same rate of the apartment.. You had a huge upgrade , it was a double room with view that normally cost 3 times more than the apartment.
You couldn't speak to Cristina because she was not there.
Notwithstanding it you decided to go further with your complain editing some Photos that can be misunderstood.
The accomodation is not at all as your photos describe, they describe your point of view. Also colors can distort the truth.

We suggest you to read very well the information before make a reservation because we did not edited anything else but what we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Was a bit worried when I read the other reviews but it was for nothing.
Easy to find after catching water taxi. Warm greeting and very helpful young male attendant, was a nice man throughout the stay. Another female attendant was also friendly.

the room is small but we were aware of that already. Bathroom is a decent size. There was no smell we could sniff that was bad. Comfortable bed, additonal pillows provided on request.

So close to the St. Marks Square, very convenient. Our friends had booked the self service accommodation next door and that was really nice too.
We didn't hear the Opera but our Friends said they could from the self contained apartment- but said it was enjoyable.

Air con worked beautifully. Luggage is required to be taken up two flights of stairs. We were assisted.

Rules are no different to majority of places- if you want towels replaced etc, put them on the floor. There is explanation in bathroom. Same as any other place we have stayed.

improvement I can see is that I agree with others about the breakfast- a little more attention to it would make it perfect- a toaster and freshly sliced bread so that a hot option is available. Auto coffee machine was nice and as much as you can drink. I didnt think the crossaints were very fresh- they arrive early in the morning from somewhere else and were not warm- I was up before 7am and they had already arrived and the bag was cold. After the crispy flaky warm crossiants we enjoyed in Roma and Florence, I was a little let down. I would have really loved some toast to spread the nutella on!

Apart from that small criticism I enjoyed my stay. I also liked the cuteness and difference of the Hotel with its design.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Krystle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for your great reviw. We are Happy that you enjoyed your stay .
We will take in consideration your advises.
We hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After a two day trip to Trieste in a very beautiful Bed&Breakfast we arrived in Venice at Locanda Barbarigo.
A very friendly woman opened the door for us, unfortunately she was only a guest. The deskmanager didn´t welcome us, the first thing he said: passports (i guess he didn´t know the word please)...i was very disappointed because he didn´t smile at all.
I don´t know why parts of the house smelled weird, like in an old cellar...maybe because it´s so old, but you get used to it after a few hours ;)

The breakfastroom was small but cute and the variety was as small as the room but it was ok :) As an improvement i would take real cheese and not plastic toast-cheese-slices. (I read the manager wrote under a comment: We take plastic wrapped cheese because of the guests pollution --- But the ham wasn´t wrapped? That´s a weird statement i think.

The room was very nice! Could have been cleaner but it was really ok. I think it´s a very big room for a hotel in Venice.

Unfortunately i cannot give a better note than 2 points reffering to the unfriendliness of the personal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m9999Linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Welcome to Venice.
As for the smell: we are in Venice and when there is low water , the smell come up and spread all over . It remains for just one or two hours and then disappears .... but it is normal here..... of course people coming from a "normal" town do not know this phenomenon...

We are sorry that something went wrong with your arrival.
We apologize if the guy who welcomed you in the evening was not very polite... he had the instruction to take the passports because for our law, we have to register people incoming otherwise we may be fined... perhaps he has been too dutiful...

Our breakfast room size is of 40 sqm and 6 m. High.
Our breakfast is composed by:
Cold drinks: Orange juice, Milk, Water
Hot drinks ( from a self service machine) : Milk, Expresso, long coffe, coffe with milk, cappuccino, hot water for tea.
Varieties of tea,
On the client table: 3 kinds of jam, cream chocolate , honey ,bread , croissants
On the buffet: Cake, sweet venetian bread, yogurts, butter, sliced cheese, cream cheese,salmi and cooked ham, plums, fruit in syrup, biscuits , crispbread, corn flakes, muesli.

Thank you to give us the opportunity to explain what Venice is...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for two days on our trip across northern Italy. We loved the quaint quality of it. The staff was multi lingual and very helpful. The rooms although small were just what we wanted (we didn't want to be in the larger tourist/American style jumbo hotels). The location was easy to find and a short walk from San Marco Piazza... Far enough away to feel like you weren't surrounded by tourists.

Room Tip: Try to get the top room upstairs, it is secluded and romantic!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheazhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy that you choose us just for our characteristics and you liked them.
We hope you can come back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent location And really nice staff made our short trip to Venice really plesant! Clean rooms, a bit small but airconditioned and with huge bathroom. Highly recomended for couples wanting a romantic hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavardMoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for your great review,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here.
We hope you can again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We arrived early and were pleased to be given immediate access to our room. It was large, clean and very quiet. Even though Venice is not big the location couldn't have been better - close to San Marco square and the water taxis. Walking around Venice can be a challenge but we have an iPhone app (Off Maps 2) which made it very easy to get around. You know where you are at all times with no need for a data plan or wifi. Speaking of wifi, for a small fee, we had good wifi from the hotel for our entire stay. When we were in Venice the temperature was between 25 and 28 Celsius and the room air conditioner worked very well even though we turned it off when not in the room.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor. I think the room name was "Tris".
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarigoVenezia, Responsabile reception at Locanda Barbarigo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We thank you for your nice review.
we are happy that you had a nice stay.
We hope you can come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#140 of 385 in Venice
610 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#142 of 385 in Venice
553 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#194 of 385 in Venice
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#166 of 385 in Venice
247 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Locanda de La Spada
Locanda de La Spada
#58 of 470 in Venice
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Barbarigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Barbarigo

Address: San Marco 2503/A | Fondamenta Duodo o Barbarigo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £120 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Barbarigo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Barbarigo is a Venetian Inn located in the heart of Venice just few steps from Piazza San Marco, from the most important monuments and museums of the city and the most prestigious boutiques.The rooms are located at the first floor of Palazzo Barbarigo restructured in line with the elegant and refined style of the original architectural structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Locanda Barbarigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Barbarigo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing