We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close, yet so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Ranked #136 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So close, yet so far”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A great base from which to explore Venice. Only a short walk to the nearest vaporetto stop or to St Marks Square. A water taxi delivered and collected us to and from the hotel, which was in the venetian style. Very comfortable beds, pleasant and helpful staff, and good breakfast selection. We very much enjoyed the oasis of the second floor balcony area, where we sipped our Prosecco after a tiring day of exploration. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance, DO NOT miss out eating dinner at CoVino, Calle del Pestrin, Castello! There are two sittings, so booking is essential. We loved the food, the ambience, and all three of the staff!

Room Tip: We were in the annexe in a very comfortable, quiet room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    442
    151
    84
    42
See reviews for
240
583
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Expensive for what we paid & room only available in the annexe on the top floor. Not a room with a view, except an inner courtyard, small room with mirrors that although antique looking made the room seem musty & drab. A bathroom door that would not shut without brute force & a hairdryer that was faulty. Had some of these issues sorted, but a room swap meant we had to wait in the following morning after our arrival to change, which was precious time to us, as we wanted to be out sightseeing. I understand on these short breaks a room is just a place to lay your head, but it would have been nice to have had the "wow" feeling from us when we arrived. Staff were a bit miserable on the reception desk also when we booked in & whether it was the torrential rain outside, I do not know. Breakfast was a floor below us in the annexe, which seemed strange here as well, as 4 or 5 guest bedrooms came straight out into the dining area where everyone ate - not appropriate at all I felt. Continental in it's basic form poor quality, along with self service - not a great choice The one staff member, that did make an appearance now & then, I felt should have been on hand all the time, serving tea & coffee to the guests, as the tables were too close together & it was so easy to knock against a fellow guest whilst they were dining - an accident waiting to happen.
Loved Venice, but not this hotel.
Booked as one of the hotels Thomson's offered, so can only say - do some research on sites first before making a booking & don't take Hotel pictures as law.

Room Tip: Not top floor - annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcadeiconti, General Manager at Hotel Ca' dei Conti, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest, thanks for your reviews. We w consider it to improve our service.
Anyway I would like to explain that room with canal view has to be reserved in advance becuase we have only few rooms with view. The rooms faced on the breakfast room are suite and deluxe and are absolutely unsonorizated.
Breakfast is not self service, but we served our guests at the table. Also in your review you note that was a staff member working for the guests...
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Well situated centrally in Venice this hotel was ideal for our weekend stay. The staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was first class. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed, but the 'canal view' is limited because the canal is so small. We would saty again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent hotel, 3 mins from San Marco and close to all tourist sites but a world away - very quiet in the evenings so good night's sleep no problem after a busy day site seeing! Clean and well decorated rooms, charming and elegant. Staff very helpful booking restaurants and transport for us, and lending us umbrellas during a brief rain storm! Good value compared to other hotels we have stayed in whilst in Venice, and I disagree with the other reviewers who criticized the breakfast - it was actually pretty good compared to others we have experienced in Italy (maybe we have been unlucky in the past!). We would stay again next time we go to Venice, and would recommend.

Room Tip: No real views as on small canal, upstairs rooms better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velademar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A very nice hotel, situated to 3 minutes walk from San Marco. This has the advantage of being away from be very heavy crowds in the major area, but very close to the sights, shops, and some really very nice restaurants.
Staff very helpful and pleasant. Room very good.
Breakfast only average compared with other places we have stayed, including places in Italy. Content a little sparse. Not much variety.
Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerkshireWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Visited three years ago, and have such fond memories of our blue bedroom with a view of the canal that when my husband asked where I wanted to go for my birthday, Ca' dei Conti immediately came to mind. I had read the reviews first, and was concerned about which room we might get...but ours was beautiful. I would recommend getting the room confirmed if you don't want a poor choice. Ours was on the 3rd floor, off a salon, and near the upstairs balcony. Best part was getting lost in the tiny streets, and finding ourselves in the section where the locals shop for daily produce. Stopped at a little cafe for a snack, saw everyone was drinking Prosecco with their early lunches, and joined the crowd! Hotel is only a 3 minute walk to St. Mark's. Get to breakfast early if you wish to get a seat, as the room is tiny~~~but well appointed.

Room Tip: Require first, if you want to make certain. Blue Room on 3rd floor with canal view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
332 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a nice hotel, although the design of the hotel is a little unusual. We had to go through several lobbies/rooms to get to the elevator for our room. Rooms were nice. The breakfast buffet was below average compared to other hotels we stayed in Italy, and was located upstairs from the main lobby. The front desk people were helpful. The hotel is located about midway between St. Mark's Square and the Rialto bridge, although you have to get use to wandering the maze of streets to get there. A negative is that you cannot take a vaporetto directly to the hotel, so you have to haul your bags over a couple a bridges to get to it. I thought the hotel was nice and I had no real complaints, but I think there are better locations in Venice to stay for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#155 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#69 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#203 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#66 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' dei Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' dei Conti

Property: Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Address: Castello 4429 | Fondamenta del Rimedio 4429, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#115 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ca' dei Conti 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ca' dei Conti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Conti Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Conti Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing