We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Ranked #142 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A disappointing stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a lovely holiday in venice which was a few days in our three weeks in Italy. The hotel location is quite good, being close to the centre of action in st marks square, albeit it does take some map navigation to find ones way here. The room we stayed in was nice, tidy and clean. As other reviewers have mentioned the hotel has a certain old world elegance which is charming.

Nevertheless, the service was very poor and unfortunately consistently so. The was reinforced several times during our stay. The air conditioning in our room did not function correctly and we requested it to be at least looked at on several occasions but to no avail. No one ever turned up.

Breakfasts were generally quite poor in terms of quality. For example, the standard of fruit provided was very poor. One does not come to venice for the breakfasts however the service standards for the breakfast staff was generally very poor to a bit surly. For example ; it became a bit of a mission to order a cappuccino in the morning. Anything beyond the filter coffee provided was greeted with sighs and rolling eyes even though an industrial scale Italian offer machine was on proud display in the kitchen. Native Italian speakers seem to get access to this with ease...foreigners had a less frictionless experience when ordering something of better quality. Difficult when coming from Melbourne and strange for an obvious Italian passion!

The height of poor service however came when we asked the reception staff to look into booking a standard available tour of the cathedral and palace for us in the afternoon from one of their brochures displayed in the foyer. After we returned from our lunch nothing had been booked, a hasty telephone call made and we were told that that tour had been booked out for three days. Pretty poor to let us build our days activity around this, obviously not attend to it while away and then try and get out of it!

Still for a family of four with two small children the facilities met our needs. I think however given the reasonable price a certain level of care and service is expected. We were not particularly demanding but did have the sense that everything was an effort by the staff, and it all didn't matter given the sea of tourists that flow through this city in summer.

Venice is a lovely city dispite the crowds. Magical. Ca dei monte is probably best avoided if you have other options.

Room Tip: Ask for the quad room 303 if you have kids under 10. Easily sleeps 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    453
    159
    86
    47
See reviews for
254
603
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Centrally located...........just off saint marks square and very close to vaporetto station,the hotel has an old world charm to it. Restored from an old palace the hotel has kept some of the old antiques likes huge old mirrors in every room and the original doors etc. Although getting to the hotel involves climbing up and down stairs over bridges on the grand canal, the location is very good considering the fact that the dodges palaceand other attractions are very closeby (10minutes walking dsitance)......................breakfast is basic.....................beds are big.........................the hotel is expensive and worth it at the same time..........................would like to add that there are some very good murano shops in and around the bylanes of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkydas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A great base from which to explore Venice. Only a short walk to the nearest vaporetto stop or to St Marks Square. A water taxi delivered and collected us to and from the hotel, which was in the venetian style. Very comfortable beds, pleasant and helpful staff, and good breakfast selection. We very much enjoyed the oasis of the second floor balcony area, where we sipped our Prosecco after a tiring day of exploration. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance, DO NOT miss out eating dinner at CoVino, Calle del Pestrin, Castello! There are two sittings, so booking is essential. We loved the food, the ambience, and all three of the staff!

Room Tip: We were in the annexe in a very comfortable, quiet room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Expensive for what we paid & room only available in the annexe on the top floor. Not a room with a view, except an inner courtyard, small room with mirrors that although antique looking made the room seem musty & drab. A bathroom door that would not shut without brute force & a hairdryer that was faulty. Had some of these issues sorted, but a room swap meant we had to wait in the following morning after our arrival to change, which was precious time to us, as we wanted to be out sightseeing. I understand on these short breaks a room is just a place to lay your head, but it would have been nice to have had the "wow" feeling from us when we arrived. Staff were a bit miserable on the reception desk also when we booked in & whether it was the torrential rain outside, I do not know. Breakfast was a floor below us in the annexe, which seemed strange here as well, as 4 or 5 guest bedrooms came straight out into the dining area where everyone ate - not appropriate at all I felt. Continental in it's basic form poor quality, along with self service - not a great choice The one staff member, that did make an appearance now & then, I felt should have been on hand all the time, serving tea & coffee to the guests, as the tables were too close together & it was so easy to knock against a fellow guest whilst they were dining - an accident waiting to happen.
Loved Venice, but not this hotel.
Booked as one of the hotels Thomson's offered, so can only say - do some research on sites first before making a booking & don't take Hotel pictures as law.

Room Tip: Not top floor - annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcadeiconti, General Manager at Hotel Ca' dei Conti, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest, thanks for your reviews. We w consider it to improve our service.
Anyway I would like to explain that room with canal view has to be reserved in advance becuase we have only few rooms with view. The rooms faced on the breakfast room are suite and deluxe and are absolutely unsonorizated.
Breakfast is not self service, but we served our guests at the table. Also in your review you note that was a staff member working for the guests...
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Well situated centrally in Venice this hotel was ideal for our weekend stay. The staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast was first class. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed, but the 'canal view' is limited because the canal is so small. We would saty again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent hotel, 3 mins from San Marco and close to all tourist sites but a world away - very quiet in the evenings so good night's sleep no problem after a busy day site seeing! Clean and well decorated rooms, charming and elegant. Staff very helpful booking restaurants and transport for us, and lending us umbrellas during a brief rain storm! Good value compared to other hotels we have stayed in whilst in Venice, and I disagree with the other reviewers who criticized the breakfast - it was actually pretty good compared to others we have experienced in Italy (maybe we have been unlucky in the past!). We would stay again next time we go to Venice, and would recommend.

Room Tip: No real views as on small canal, upstairs rooms better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velademar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A very nice hotel, situated to 3 minutes walk from San Marco. This has the advantage of being away from be very heavy crowds in the major area, but very close to the sights, shops, and some really very nice restaurants.
Staff very helpful and pleasant. Room very good.
Breakfast only average compared with other places we have stayed, including places in Italy. Content a little sparse. Not much variety.
Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerkshireWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#55 of 385 in Venice
886 reviews
Castello
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
#191 of 385 in Venice
251 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#152 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#61 of 385 in Venice
717 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,845 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' dei Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' dei Conti

Property: Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Address: Castello 4429 | Fondamenta del Rimedio 4429, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#115 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ca' dei Conti 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ca' dei Conti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Conti Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Conti Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing