We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Ranked #135 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotels location is great, with just 5 mins (tops) to St Marks Square and some great bars and restaurants. It does however take some navigation. The hotels directions on their website really didn't help so thankfully I had my phone and used google maps. The hotel is quirky with some amazing features. The room however was not what I expected - absolutely tiny. Couldn't believe it - it was no more than 8ft x 8ft. Barely big enough for two persons let alone the luggage. It was also very noisy, could hear all the neighbours and just had a terrible nights sleep. If I was staying any longer than the two nights I would have complained...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a lovely room, which was calm and quiet, lovely for relaxing. Although there was not much of a view it did not matter. We had 3 windows which we could open for air and light, and there were enough views in the rest of Venice - we did not need them from the room. The shower was good, and there were good toiletries and they were always replenished. You entered the hotel over a pretty bridge, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and made sure we were okay on the last day between vacating the room and leaving for the airport. Location is excellent - only a 3 minute stroll to St Mark's Square, and a minute from some lovely bars and restaurants - and yet so quiet - perfect. Breakfast was very good - there was a selection of juices, fruits, cereals and cooked food. There is a terrace where you can sit and have a drink or read, or doze - no-one bothers you. Overall a lovely experience.

Room Tip: It is an old building and rooms appear in odd places, like off of the breakfast room, so discuss you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package and it was very good. Excellent location, 5 minutes from St Marks Square and not much further to Rialto Bridge.

Adjacent to small squares with excellent eateries and bars.

The hotel itself was clean and very comfortable. We had booked a superior room which unfortunately was not ready due to repairs required but we were offered prose co on the terrace as an apology and were given another room (502). The room was excellent! We had a very comfortable bed, snail kitchen, lovely bathroom and a private garden terrace. The room was in the building adjacent but very quite.

The breakfast was a continental breakfast with cheese, hams, pastries, tea, coffee all of which was self service and typically European but enough to set you up for the day.

The staff were very helpful too.

All in all a great stay and we wouldn't hesitate in returning!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do come of the area set out for breakfast which is not ideal but don't see thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We traveled to Venice for three nights as part of a longer trip to Italy in early July 2014, which is the high season for travel to Rome. We stayed at this hotel.

The hotel location is very good, close to San Marco Sq and all the attractions, yet away from the beaten path and hustle and bustle. The room was nice and clean and well appointed. The bathroom was clean, but the sink and shower had a little bit of mold. The beds were comfy and large. Our two kids shared the pull out couch in the living room and it was not great but OK.

The hotel staff were a mix of helpful and aloof. Some of the front desk staff were eager to help you out and answer your questions, others were not so.

The free breakfast is OK, but not great. The breakfast space is in the lobby of the second floor of the hotel and not very large. If you get there around 8 AM, you will likely have to wait for a table to open up. I found rotten fruit in their fruit basket and they had canned fruits on the buffet. The cream cheese was too old and had liquid in the packages. There is a sign next to the scrambled eggs container saying if you serve youself eggs and bacon there is an extra charge of 2.50 Euroes per person. At the prices that they charge for the rooms, this is down right insulting to guests.

At check in you will be given a username and password for Wifi connection which is good for 30 minutes total. After that you need to reach for your wallet. 2 Euros for each additional 15 min of wifi connection, with price breaks all the way up to 24 hours. This constant nickel and diming from this hotel was very annoying. If I stayed at a cheap hotel, I can understand this. But this is far from a cheap hotel.

We paid an average of over four hundred Euros a night for our stay at this hotel. For these prices, having to pay 2.5 euros for eggs at breakfast and extra Euros for Wifi connection is unreasonable.

I would have given this place a four star review, but for the reasons above, I am giving them 3 starts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reza5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcadeiconti, General Manager at Hotel Ca' dei Conti, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guests, thanks for your opinion. First of all I really like to explain you that the services include or not do not depend from the hotel but from the web site or travel agent that sold our room. They also decide about the price. For example, in our web site reservation we includes american breakfast (no extra charge for eggs and bacon) and wifi.

Refer to the quality of breakfast products we use only first choise foods. The type of cheese you mentioned has water and it is normal (i.e.Mozzarella must to have water otherwise is not fresh).
I hope to clarify some doubts.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a lovely holiday in venice which was a few days in our three weeks in Italy. The hotel location is quite good, being close to the centre of action in st marks square, albeit it does take some map navigation to find ones way here. The room we stayed in was nice, tidy and clean. As other reviewers have mentioned the hotel has a certain old world elegance which is charming.

Nevertheless, the service was very poor and unfortunately consistently so. The was reinforced several times during our stay. The air conditioning in our room did not function correctly and we requested it to be at least looked at on several occasions but to no avail. No one ever turned up.

Breakfasts were generally quite poor in terms of quality. For example, the standard of fruit provided was very poor. One does not come to venice for the breakfasts however the service standards for the breakfast staff was generally very poor to a bit surly. For example ; it became a bit of a mission to order a cappuccino in the morning. Anything beyond the filter coffee provided was greeted with sighs and rolling eyes even though an industrial scale Italian offer machine was on proud display in the kitchen. Native Italian speakers seem to get access to this with ease...foreigners had a less frictionless experience when ordering something of better quality. Difficult when coming from Melbourne and strange for an obvious Italian passion!

The height of poor service however came when we asked the reception staff to look into booking a standard available tour of the cathedral and palace for us in the afternoon from one of their brochures displayed in the foyer. After we returned from our lunch nothing had been booked, a hasty telephone call made and we were told that that tour had been booked out for three days. Pretty poor to let us build our days activity around this, obviously not attend to it while away and then try and get out of it!

Still for a family of four with two small children the facilities met our needs. I think however given the reasonable price a certain level of care and service is expected. We were not particularly demanding but did have the sense that everything was an effort by the staff, and it all didn't matter given the sea of tourists that flow through this city in summer.

Venice is a lovely city dispite the crowds. Magical. Ca dei monte is probably best avoided if you have other options.

Room Tip: Ask for the quad room 303 if you have kids under 10. Easily sleeps 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Centrally located...........just off saint marks square and very close to vaporetto station,the hotel has an old world charm to it. Restored from an old palace the hotel has kept some of the old antiques likes huge old mirrors in every room and the original doors etc. Although getting to the hotel involves climbing up and down stairs over bridges on the grand canal, the location is very good considering the fact that the dodges palaceand other attractions are very closeby (10minutes walking dsitance)......................breakfast is basic.....................beds are big.........................the hotel is expensive and worth it at the same time..........................would like to add that there are some very good murano shops in and around the bylanes of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkydas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A great base from which to explore Venice. Only a short walk to the nearest vaporetto stop or to St Marks Square. A water taxi delivered and collected us to and from the hotel, which was in the venetian style. Very comfortable beds, pleasant and helpful staff, and good breakfast selection. We very much enjoyed the oasis of the second floor balcony area, where we sipped our Prosecco after a tiring day of exploration. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance, DO NOT miss out eating dinner at CoVino, Calle del Pestrin, Castello! There are two sittings, so booking is essential. We loved the food, the ambience, and all three of the staff!

Room Tip: We were in the annexe in a very comfortable, quiet room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#58 of 385 in Venice
907 reviews
Castello
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
#197 of 385 in Venice
260 reviews
Hotel le Tegnue
#5 of 23 in Sottomarina
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#72 of 385 in Venice
1,022 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#78 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' dei Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' dei Conti

Address: Castello 4429 | Fondamenta del Rimedio 4429, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#114 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £67 - £710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ca' dei Conti 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ca' dei Conti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Dei Conti Hotel Venice
Ca Dei Conti Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing