We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Igea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Igea
Ranked #173 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I loveeeeee pretty and old hotels. The pictures said it was pretty. But it wasnt in reality. It was overdone. The bedsheet, curtains, and wallpaper allllll had the same fabric and design. Felt very suffocating, although the room was big. The shower didnt work. The light was poor.

The breakfast was good and was arranged in the nearby hotel. You can enjoy it outside.

Wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShAdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    224
    48
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
335
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Hotel Villa Igea in Venice was the jewel in the crown. 6 of us stayed there from the 11th to the 14th September 2013. Everything about this hotel ticked all the boxes for us...Location, cleanliness, staff friendly & so personable, the breakfasts were sensational. Love loved loved Venice but this hotel made our experience unforgettable.

Room Tip: We enjoyed rooms at the front & the back of this hotel & all were terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank resniksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We didn't think it was possible to stay so close to St. Mark's square for such a great price until we saw Villa Igea. Tucked away down a little side street, it was hard to find at first but made for a very quiet visit. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The only (very minor) complaint was that the wifi didn't work in our room and we had to stand in the hallway to use it. Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was my 2nd visit this year to Villa Igea and about 7th time I have stayed there out of over 25 holidays to Venice over the past few years. As usual I stayed 6 nights. You get a truer feel for a hotel and its location if you stay for more than one or two nights.

And this is my favourite Venetian hotel for location, ease to get to, comfortable and very clean rooms and bathroom, flat screen TV, free wifi (which worked perfectly in my room), quiet location just off the main Riva and Bacino. It is particularly good value for money in the quieter months of November through to January.You can walk to practically everywhere you want to visit. I have even found a quick route to walk to the Fondamente Nuove to catch the more comfortable and spacious no 12 Vaporetti direct to the islands of Murano and Burano,than the tiny, very busy vaporetti to Murano that you can catch from the Riva that stop a multitude of times before they get anywhere near Murano.

Out of season you don't get the weather to enjoy the two terraces that overlook the Campo and the stunning San Zacarria church (do pop in and see the fabulous, famous Bennini Altarpiece), where in summer you can sit and take an early evening drink (if you remember to buy a bottle from the supermarket or the shop closeby). You get the beautiful church bells at midnight and to waken you at 7.30am instead of the din of your alarm clock. And you have to stay in the Spring or Summer to see the front of Villa Igea in all its glory with its beautiful flowers fronting each window of the building. Unlike many Venetian hotels, the Villa Igea is not located down a tiny claustrophobic alleyway where they are often a nightmare to locate.

Since I stayed in Summer '13, the hotel has re-introduced a receptionist/concierge service between 9am and 6pm. Previously you had to check-in / out and use the services of its larger sister hotel, The Savoia and Jolanda, just 100 yards away on the Riva facing the Lagoon / Bacino.

The one downside for which I have not down marked the Villa Igea, was the pigeon-fest of a breakfast which is taken at Igea's sister hotel in their Ristorante Principessa. I have reviewed breakfast separately under Ristorante Principessa.

Room Tip: Reserve a room at the front overlooking the very beautiful Campo and San Zaccaria church if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were so pleased to stay at this hotel after a 12 day Mediterranean cruise. It was easy to find: just steps from the Zaccaria vaporetto stop on the Grand Canal, near St. Mark's Square. It is affliated with the canal front hotel, Savoia and Jolanda, but down the side street where it was quiet and on a small courtyard. The staff was extremely helpful, especially Michael. They stored our bags until check-in so we could set off exploring Venice. They provided great directions and suggestions. The room was very charming with an ultra modern bathroom that even had a towel warmer! We had a rooftop patio as well:) The next morning we were able to enjoy the buffet breakfast at Savoia and this was included in the price of the room. The proximity to the square, but also other points of interest and vaporetto stops was so convenient.

Room Tip: There is not an elevator but the staff cheerfully assists with getting your bags up the stairs if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janea26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This lovely hotel is behind the row of houses next to Piazza San Marco. The rooms were beautiful (we were upgraded to a suite), the kingsize bed had a good mattress which was hard enough to get a decent sleep.
The room was very clean and we never had to ask for more toilet paper (big plus!).

Breakfast was included, but you had to walk a few steps towards the waterfront, then turn right and could sit in front of Hotel Savoia. Even though we went there after mid October celebrating my husbands birthday and hoping to avoid the huge crowds, it was VERY crowded. I guess there is no time in Venice when it's not crowded :(.
We were having breakfast no later than 8 a.m. and the crowds of tourists walking by in front of us were covering the view on the sea most of the time. Unbelievable! :(

From our hotel it was only a few hundred yards to the many jewelry and fashion and souvenir stores in the small lanes. Many of these stores sell the most beautiful masks, they make a great souvenir.
The hotel staff was very kind and helpful (they even arranged a free trip to the glass blower isle Murano for us) and spoke English very well.

The only two things that we disliked: the a. c. was not working (it was still in the mid seventies F) and the nightstand lamps were not bright enough for reading, but this is a common problem worldwide, not just in Italian hotels or British or American B & B's. But we still rate it 5 stars.

On my husband's birthday we had a gondola just for the two of us (it costs only 80 Euros if you hire one a few hundred yards away from the water front, so please don't trust your travel agent if they claim it costs more than $260, because it's not that expensive!). The gondola took off after 6:30 p.m., there was a full moon. The gondola ride took 45 minutes, it started in a small canal next to the Sephora store and first we went to the Canale Grande, then our friendly gondoliere lead us through the small canals with lots of tiny bridges and beautiful palazzos. Don't forget to bring your camera!!!
This was a very lovely end of this special day.

Villa Igea is a very romantic hotel and highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite on the 7th floor. It's very quiet up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Villa Igea was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there last year post cruise. We were not disappointed! Small hotel so close to St Marks, the valporetto stop, loads of shops and restaurants with welcoming, helpful staff. The room on the first floor was small (typical of Europe) as was the lift but the view of the church, the "little extras", cleanliness,the decor, the great breakfast, wonderful staff, free wifi, location, all made our stay one we will treasure. Thank you Villa Igea we hope to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tartiniBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Wildner
Hotel Wildner
#193 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#88 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#102 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#97 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Castello
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
#128 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Igea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Igea

Property: Villa Igea
Address: Campo San Zaccaria Castello 4684, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#93 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Igea 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Villa Igea Hotel Venice
Igea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing