We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Location near San Marco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Igea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Igea
Ranked #174 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super Location near San Marco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

A great central spot from which to explore Venice, and to enjoy "down time".

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_petrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    224
    48
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
335
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

we loved this hotel. i was concerned about venice accomodation being a bit damp and old. the staff are very friendly and helpful. the breakfast is great. the location is at the end of the grand canal, not on the canal but just behind it, so it is very quiet and not so touristy. the rooms are all decorated in venitian decor, wallpaper, tapestry curtains and matching bedspreads and painted doors with little birds on them. it made our stay feel very luxurious and romantic.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamswestaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

My wife and I (along with friends) spent 3 nights at this Hotel which is in a great location (in a quiet side street out away from the main thoroughfare) and just a few moments from the San Zaccaria ferry stop and within 150 metres of St Marks Square. The hotel double room was of a good size, very tastefully furnished with lovely decor and extremely clean. The shower pressure was amazing, however, the beds were another issue. The matresses in both rooms were unbelievably hard and the pillows were so flat with minimal filling, ultimately resulting in back problems for two of our party.

Staff service was excellent from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble, whether it be staff on the reception desk or the room servicing / kitchen staff. Breakfast dependent upon demand, was shared by way of a co-operative arrangement between the Savoy Hotel (approximately 50 metres away) and the Hotel Villa Igea itself. At both locations the breakfasts were absolutely superb comprising hot bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs (the best of which we had ever tasted), along with continental choices like cold meats, yoghurt, cereals and bread etc.

Providing the Hotel addresses the issue of the quality of matresses and pillows, would certainly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

The Hotel Igea is a few moments from the water at San Zaccaria, where all the boats stop, and three minutes from St Mark's square. The room and bed were really comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful. Breakfast was included, although we had to go to the sister hotel, the Yolanda and Savoia, for this as the Igea's coffe machine had broken down. However, it was only 30 seconds away and there was a great choice of breakfast buffet.
The staff on the desk at the Igea were helpful though not obtrusive. We'd stay there again.
I recommend January to go to Venice- no crowds, although a number of restaurants were shut for the holidays - and we were lucky with the weather - a bit of snow, about an hour of rain and a lot of days of sunshine. it was freezing though, so take lots of layers if you go at this time of year!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

My wife and two children stayed in Hotel Villa Igea for four nights from 26th December 2008. We could not recommend this hotel highly enough. The location is ideal: a 30 second walk from the San Zacarria stop which you can reach directly by water bus from the airport; and only 5 minutes walk from St. Marks square. The little square in which the hotel is situated is very quiet. We were offered either a double and twin room or a suite; the suite (room 705) was very comfortable and warm, clean and decorated in the Venitian style. The staff were warm and friendly, particularly Thomas the consierge who organised a free trip to Murano for us, and also arranged a guided walking tour. The breakfast was full of choice. The price of the package which we took through Expedia was real value for money. The only thing to be aware of in Venice is the price of everything and with the pound / euro rate at the moment, money seemed to flow out of our pockets faster than the Venice tide. But Hotel Villa Igea is an absolute gem.

  • Liked — situation, staff, price, size
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickwyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Villa Igea for four nights. It was during the dreadful storms that lasted our entire stay. However, the hotel was great. We ad a problem with the air conditioning. It stayed very warm in our room. The service is absolutely terrific. Everyone was quite helpful with offering good places to shop what to do for dinner. The television in the room only offers a couple of English channels. Mainly consisting off CNN International and BBC News. The location is quite close to St. Mark's Square. I do suggest as soon as arriving finding some rubber waders to wear. The first evening I had to carry my girlfriend on my back through the entire square as the ramps are not entirely complete as far as avoiding the flooded areas. The hotel map is not very useful. Many roads are not labeled and tend to lead off into nowhere. Given the price, it was very reasonable for a hotel in Italy. Our stay in Venice was plagued by both the rain and being very cold. However, the hotel and it's staff made the best of it.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The room was extremely warm.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doublearon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

Recently spent 5 nights with my husband at this lovely hotel. The location is excellent - you can catch a water bus from the airport to the San Zaccaria stop which is literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel! The hotel is situated up a quiet alleyway opposite an historic church - San Zaccaria. The setting is excellent as only a few minute walk leads you to the busy bustling St Marks area but you have the peace and quiet of being off the main way.
From the moment we arrived we were wowed by the first class service and hospitality we received from everyone from front desk to the kitchen staff. We asked several questions of the front desk staff with regards to sightseeing and each time they were incredibly helpful and would go out of their way to ensure we received the right information.
We had a standard double room which was incredibly clean and well appointed with great pressure shower and tasteful decor. The bed was a little firm but perfectly acceptable and not uncomfortable.
Each day we had a fabulous full breakfast with hot bacon, sausage, egg and a full range of continental choices like yoghurt, cereals and bread!
I would certainly recommend this hotel again and I hope to come back in the future.

  • Liked — Super friendly staff and fantastic location
  • Disliked — No English TV channels!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelBugNZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Wildner
Hotel Wildner
#194 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#90 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#95 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Castello
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
#130 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#103 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Igea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Igea

Property: Villa Igea
Address: Campo San Zaccaria Castello 4684, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#93 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Igea 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Villa Igea Hotel Venice
Igea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing