We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #68 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

Historic hotel with still all its charm! Loved the fact of the orginal celling was there in our room! The service was good and the breakfast was good also! Location to st Marc was fantastic but a map is essential to prevent getting lost on the little streets!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny_mcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review; if you contact the hotel in advance, you will get the chance for a map road or suggestion to organize a transfer. It will be easier to reach us!
Thank you very much and hope to hjave you here in the future as valued Guests!
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    515
    102
    27
    13
See reviews for
197
976
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was such a magical experience. Venezia in general is just so wonderful and this hotel accentuated the surroundings so many times over! This was a great boutique and quaint hotel right on a small canal. The architecture is old and has so much character but they also renovated things like the bathroom and tv, etc. to make it feel modern as well. The rooms are so unusual and something you will always remember. The staff was great and super friendly. The breakfast had great options, very small room, but again it just had so much character. The staff also provided up w/gluten free breakfast options. The restaurant (Ristorante Teatro) around the corner from the hotel is wonderful and has GF pasta! You can walk to Piazza San Marco in about 5-7 min. Great, beautiful place and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your fantastic review from NYC !
You mentioned our Hotel, our friendly staff and the good service.
To satisfy our guests it's what we are looking for! Many thanks for staying with us!
Best regards.
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Our water taxi left us at Trinita pier, a good 10 minutes walk from the Hotel. We had to walk with the bags and got lost. By the time I arrived at the Hotel I was pretty furious. The receptionist was so nice, the inside the Hotel and the room were so beatiful that I got over the problems with the transfer very quickly. Good spacious room, amazing ac, bathroom with shower only (which makes no diference to me), and the location is amazing. You can go out at night without any worries and find good and affordable restaurants just a few steps away. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review. We usually suggest a transfer service with water-taxi. We undrstand that is more convenient to reach San Marco by water-bus but, please send us an e.mail before and we will forward a city map with the ititnerary to reach us!
Nest regards

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Beautiful Victorian hotel in the heart of Venice, great location, about five minutes walk to St Mark's square, very nice, clean, good size rooms, bathrooms spotless, clean towels, great AC, front desk staff very nice and helpful giving us direccions and recommendations, breakfast young man very nice and super accommodating, I regret don't know his name, breakfast was good, they had breads, pastries, ham, salami, cheese, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee, capuccino, tea, cereals, closed to the vaporettos (water bus) stops, took vaporettos to rialto bridge, Murano island and from there to Lido and Burano. A lot of nice restaurants near hotel . Alilaguna water bus line from San Marcos to airport for 15 euros per person, about one hour trip. We also bought the vaporettos 72 hour passes from Veniceconnected.com, and they were very convenient.would def go back to Venice and to the Duodo Palace.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alinajimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your recent review about our Hotel; we do hope to have you here in the future as our valued guests.
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family and I stayed at the Duodo Palace in late July. We really liked it. It is classical yet modern. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed the breakfast offered every morning. It has a nice variety and good quality.

I was undecided about rating the Duodo Palace a 4 or a 5. I "rounded down" to the 4 only as I thought about another hotel we stayed at during our trip. That one was definitely a 5, and I wanted to distinguish it. The only real negative I could mention about the Duodo Palace was that I felt that the information about Venice that was offered at check-in was really a sales pitch for some additional tourist services.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbu79_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your review. We usually offer to the Guests a city map for free, some excursions for free and we try to organize the best excursion with the most conveninet price. Of course, you feel free to accept or decline.
Hope to see you here at Duodo Palace in the next future.
Sincerely

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a lovely hotel, I'm so glad we booked it. The location is perfect as it is easy to walk to anywhere on Venice Island; it's tucked away in a little courtyard and so is a quiet and peaceful oasis within a city which is buzzing with tourists. We took a little while to find it, but purely because of our own lack of proper research before getting there. As a general point I would advise people to get a good map of Venice before leaving home. The staff are exceptional in every way: superb level of courtesy and warmth of welcome and able to provide advice and ideas for your visit. The gentleman on reception arranged for us an amazing and magical evening trip from the hotel's canal-side entrance involving a private water-taxi, an hour through the canals and a bottle of chilled Prosecco for the journey. Our room was immaculate and very well air-conditioned; the bathroom was lovely and the large bed very comfortable. The continental breakfast was great as well. What can I say? I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Venice. Many thanks to the Duodo Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: Our very pleasant room (603) was up a flight of stairs without an adjacent lift but hotel staff are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth070623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review; we' re happy to know that the panoramic tour was nice and you enjoied the bottle of Prosecco wine! We will suggest something different for your next stay with us!
Sincerely

Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife and I have visited Italy many times and have seen all of the main cities and tourist favorites. However, on this 13-day trip we had our son, daughter-in-law and three grandchildren (ages 16, 13 and 11) and needed to economize more than usual. We booked three rooms in Venice at the Duodo Palace Online relying with some trepidation on the description and the pictures. It turned out to be a wonderful choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights. The staff was welcoming and all spoke very good English. The rooms were nicely decorated and exuded Old World charm. The facility was very clean (even by my wife's standards and she can be very demanding in that area!) and the air conditioning worked well. The hotel is right next to the La Fenice Teatro and there is good dining with outside seating nearby. The walk to St. Mark's and the Grand Canal takes about 7 minutes. Going to the Rialto Bridge is even faster. As is typical in Venice, finding a place for the first time can be a bit confusing but once found it was easy to return to and to find our way to other desired locations. Water taxis can conveniently arrive right at the back door of the hotel and canal facing rooms can provide an evening view of the gondolas going by. We would definitely return to this hotel on a future visit to Venice.

Room Tip: There is no elevator (lift) on one side of the hotel. If one needs assistance getting to the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Guest,
we're happy to read that Duodo was a "pleasant Surprise" and that all of your Family enjoyed the two night's stay with us! We do hope to see you again for your next trip to Venice.
Thanks and best regards.
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,793 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 385 in Venice
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
976 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,984 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#60 of 385 in Venice
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Property: Duodo Palace Hotel
Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#47 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing