We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly worth a visit!”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #70 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My wife and I have literally just returned fro our stay stay here, and felt it important to tell everyone about the Hotel Duodo Palace. The concierge desk were brilliant, and did everything (and more) that I asked them to! We were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary, and had a beautiful bunch of flowers arranged for my wife, and they gave us an upgraded room overklooking the canal entrance. Great service, Great Hotel, great Holiday - thank you.

Room Tip: Room 100 overlooks the canal entrance, but has a low ceiling, (if that should ever matter!)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest,
we are happy to know that your stay at Duodo Palace for your Silver Anniversary were enjoyable.
Our Hotel and our services made your stay immensely enjoyable. Remember us in the future for your next "Special Occasion".
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
There are newer reviews for Duodo Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Leaving St Marks Square the hotel is to the left and about halfway across the island, about a 10 - 15 minute walk, or you can take a water taxi. We could not find anyone who new of the hotel in St Marks Sq and did not have a good map, so we walked a bit further than we needed to. The hotel is small with 32 rooms, has recently been re-modeled and has gorgeous rooms with full bathrooms, AC and flat screen TVs. They have a bar which is open in the evenings and pizzas can be ordered. An excellent continental breakfast is served, with lots of food and warm rolls. Decaf coffee is available. Taxi service is available to the airport for $120.00 E for 2 and $10 E for each additional person. A water taxi will pick you up at the door and take you to a waiting van which will then take you to the airport. Book it the nite before and cash only for taxi service, prices include tip so none is required during the trip. The hotel is off Verona and once in the little square follow the small brass signs on the buildings to find the front door, which is at the end of the alley. Staff were very courteous and provided directions/ maps and guidance to a good restaurant.

Room Tip: We were only in 2 rooms, all appear to have limited views of the adjacent roof tops and or canal
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest,
good Hotel, great location, nice service, generous buffet brerakfast, Bar & Snacks...
I think we will see you soon at Duodo Palace, hopefully!
Thanks and best regards.

Sebastiano Cagnin
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had a memorable stay in Venice, which was due in part to the comfortable surroundings at the Duodo Palace Hotel and the magnificient staff. Sandro on the desk was always ready with helpful information and Silvio in the restaurant was especially good.

The location was just great, being within easy walking distance to the major attractions and close enough to the water-bus stations to be able to drag your bags without much trouble.

The water taxi ride from the train station to the hotel was a great way to start and to get a feel for the place. Although relatively expensive I feel that it was money well spent and made for a very relaxed arrival directly to the portage of the hotel. We just loved the choice of restaurants and amazing historic sites within such a small area. The tour to Burano and Torcello was just great, but time restrictions did detract from the overall experience. Murano was dissapointing. A ride over to San Giorgio is well worthwhile and we found it to be very quiet, which made a nice change from the crowds we experienced in Venice itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice review and for the lovely words to Sandro & Silvio. They both work hard and well for the full satystaction of our Guests! Thank you very much.
Best regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My Partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012, it was our first trip to Venice and we loved this hotel so much we will definitely be staying here on our next visit.
The location is fantastic, just a short, pleasant scroll to San Marco and the Rialto Bridge on the Grand Canal. Everything you need to do in Venice is nearby, yet the hotel is in a private and quiet location.
The hotel itself is beautiful, it's set in an older building (as is all of Venice), but the inside has been renovated. The lobby makes a perfect first impression, it's full of Venetian charm and elegance. We stayed in a room overlooking the canal, the rooms stay true to their heritage and I loved this about them. I was probably most hesitant about the rooms when I booked-I usually look for very modern designed hotels, to avoid anywhere outdated and rundown, but it was so clean and stylish, once again full of Venetian charm.
Our rate included buffet breakfast, it was simple yet delicious, so no problems there.
The staff here are fantastic and so happy to help with anything.
We also received a complimentary water taxi out to Murano with a guided tour of a glass factory, this is highly recommended and we felt no pressure to buy anything. You do need to organise your own transport back, but the water bus is about 3 Euros so that's no issue.
If this hotel is within your price range (look around because you can get a great rate, we did!) book it now, a great hotel can make all the difference to your trip-and this is certainly one of the best in Venice!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a canal view room, it's so worth it. My favourite was waking up opening the sh...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the "charming" review and for your reccomendation of our Hotel! We are very happy that you loved our "Venitian Charm". It's part of our Hotel, our city and our History!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Spent two nights in August 2012. Great location. Easy walk to Piazza San Marco. Good restaurants nearby. Staff attentive. Agree hotel is quite and peaceful overlooking canal. Would arriving and departing by water taxi. Other reviews mention expensive however we found it well worthwhile and worth the cost. Definitely recommend boat trip to Burano and this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShamckWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely review! We agree the taxi service on arrival and departure make things easy! Also it is nice to arrive "in Style" getting off into the Hotel reception! We do hope to see you again in the next future!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was y first trip to Venice It was the first stop on my Venice-Simplon Orient Express adventure last fall. I took a water taxi from the train station and I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised when the taxi arrived at the water lobby of Duodo Palace. The hotel is small and charming, which I prefer, From the start the service was excellent. The bellman help me out of the boat and into beautiful lobby. The reception clerks all spoke English and went out of their way to be helpful. All of their restaurant recommendations were exceptional, The room was on the top floor. It was immaculate and had breathtaking views of the city, even from the bathroom! I plan on going back to Venicw one day and I will certainly stay at the Duodo Palace again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear Mr Watts,
thank you very much for your lovely review; it's quite important for us to read a lovely comment from an Venice-Simplon Orient Express Guest! We understand you have agreed our charming athmosphere and our service. We wait for your next visit in Venice!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Spent four nights at the Duodo Palace, which is centrally located - a stone's throw from La Fenice and an easy walk to Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge - but blissfully quiet and peaceful. The hotel has its own private dock on a side canal, so arriving/leaving by water taxi is super-convenient. My double room didn't have a view, but it was spacious, elegant and extremely comfortable with all the amenities like wi-fi working perfectly. Everything was kept in immaculate condition.

Everyone working at the hotel, from housekeeping to reception, delivered top-notch service and made our group feel welcome. Breakfast was a great experience too, with prompt, courteous service and excellent food and coffee. On the last morning, a friend and I had to take an early water taxi to the airport. Although breakfast service didn't officially start until after our departure time, the young waiter kindly made cappucino for us, and the hotel presented us with breakfast bags to take to the airport. These gracious little gestures show the care that the Duodo Palace shows toward its guests. I'd love to stay here again when I return to Venice.

Room Tip: Fourth-floor rooms have great views over rooftops of Venice
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely words and the nice consideration about our service. We usually take care of early departures asking the Guests about their departure time. Our attentions to provide wake up calls, breakfast box to take away (for departures before 07:00AM) and water taxi from our pier to avoid troubles at the end of the stay!
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 384 in Venice
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,049 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 384 in Venice
1,013 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#55 of 384 in Venice
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#49 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#60 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £75 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing