We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and a well deserved 4 star rating!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #64 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
litllemermaid
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and a well deserved 4 star rating!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Myself and my partner have just got back from a 3 night stay at the Duodo Palace. After much consideration of choosing where to stay I finally settled on the Duodo Palace and was not at all disappointed. My first impressions of the hotel were great and the room was lovely. The view was off rooftop buildings which we didn't mind but perhaps would like a canal view next time. The ceiling was absolutely stunning all painted and so admirable and the room was of a good size. On our first night we were tired after a long days travelling so decided to have a couple of pizzas from the hotel and a drink. They had a fantastic offer one for a pizza and soft drink at 9 euros, I must say the pizza was one of the best I have ever had! Breakfast in the hotel was great. A selection of hams and cheese, delicious croissants, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cake and toast with plenty to add to it. You can even have prosecco free of charge!! There are also fruit juices and coffee. The only thing unexpected was the tax we had to pay locally of 2.80 euros per person per night. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and it is only a 5 minute walk from St.Mark's Square. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank litllemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much and would' be a big pleasure to see you again in my Hotel
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    500
    100
    25
    13
See reviews for
192
949
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights over christmas. Everything was perfect. Excellent location, professional friendly staff, lovely room, fresh & tasty breakfast. Couldn't be better, it really was faultless. Thank you to everyone at Duodo Palace!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spottypigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Google Translation
Vi ringrazio per il commento e sono felicissimo che il Duodo vi ha soddisfatto in tutti i suoi servizi
grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here in September and highly recommend this hotel. We arranged transport through the hotel from the airport which involved a taxi to the water and then a water taxi that delivered us right to the door of the hotel. The room was reasonably large, heavy furnishings in traditional Italian style with a spacious bathroom. Everything was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was adequate, coffee was great. The hotel is centrally located though a bit of a maze to locate if you don't know where you're going. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank scorpio1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for you kind review on us.
We are happy to see that you’ve appreciated our typical Italian furniture and room, of course.
We would llove to welcome you again at Duodo Palace Hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

After reading many great reviews about the hotel and staff I was disappointed to find that we did not receive the same hospitality. After a five hour delay at Gatwick Airport and then not having our bags delivered by BA, it was the extremely frustrating to discover that my kids were been placed on a different floor from us, despite requesting connecting or rooms next to each other when we booked. The staff were completely unhelpful in trying to accommodate us. Eventually we were given rooms on the same floor. One of these rooms was very small and "dingy" in a corner. The bathroom was in poor condition. The shower was over the floor with only a curtain which was also not clean. Mildew and soap suds on it. The breakfast was very basic. Only plus was the free wi-Fii. Had expected better for the ratings it received!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMaharaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your opinion, it’s always helpful to know what our guests think on us, so we have can improve our services.
We’re very sorry that the Duodo Palace Hotel did not live up to your expectations.
If you come back during another occasion we’ll be very glad to make you change your idea about our Hotel.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

On the whole this is a very pleasant Hotel with a nice central location. It is slightly tucked away and therefore not the easiest to find but that does mean it is reasonably quiet save for the traffic on the small canal it overlooks. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of November and were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade on arrival. This was particularly welcomed as we had been delayed and diverted by airport strikes and technical issues with the plane and it was getting late by the time we had found the place. Given the time we decided to make use of the hotel’s snack service which is reasonably priced for Venice. The drinks in the bar and indeed the mini bar are also not bad by hotel standards, I have certainly stayed in pricier establishments.

We were given a room overlooking the canal. The views aren’t brilliant but still OK. I believe there are far better views from some of the top floor rooms The room was quite large, traditionally decorated (including the ceiling) and clean. Beds were comfy and the bathroom clean and functional. The décor throughout the hotel is very pretty and traditional in nature, retaining some period features and all tastefully done nonetheless.

Breakfast is continental although there are a few cooked options for an additional charge. There was sufficient variety to satisfy all but the most picky. They were only using a small dining room while we were there which did just mange to cater for the numbers although there is a larger dining room which is supposedly used at peak times.

The staff are pleasant and efficient and the wifi is free – you just need to get a code from reception. There is direct access to a canal, so those wishing to use water taxis can get dropped off and picked up directly. This could be useful for those arriving in Venice the first time and may struggle to find it. I know some people who were on our flight took the water taxi from the airport as we were late and arrived at the Hotel a lot earlier than we did but were also probably around 100 euros lighter as well. Not sure what the costs are now but we paid 95 Euros for a taxi to the airport 3 years ago. The bus will cost 11 euros return, unfortunately our tickets didn’t work when we got on the bus which just added to the delays but we did eventually get that sorted.

As I indicated one of the best things about the Hotel is it’s central location and is only around 15 minutes to St Marks or Rialto and probably not much more than an hour from anywhere either side of the Grand Canal. There are a number of cafes and restaurants close by so you really don’t need to travel far for anything and once you have orientated yourselves it is an ideal point from which to explore. All in all a pretty good choice for anyone looking for the Venice experience without busting the bank. I would not hesitate to use the Hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SafetymanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
wow what we can say ? “Grazie” Thank you for this outstanding review of yours, so full fill of details.
We were glad that we fully met your expectations in all aspects of your stay.
We all hope that we get the chance to repeat this very soon.
Happy New Year.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have just got back from a weekend trip to Venice and first time we have stayed at this little gem of a hotel. We had excellent service and the staff were so friendly and helpful, I would definitely recommend this place. If I come back to Venice this is the place I would stay. There was so much to choose from at breakfast and all very delicious. Room service was quick and great value, we had decided to eat out in town on arrival as we thought the food would be more expensive in the Hotel and in fact would have worked out slightly cheaper and a better standard. As checkout was at 11 and we weren't due to fly back until late afternoon, they stored our luggage free of charge and although the bar was closed when we came back they made us a coffee with an abundance of biscuits all for 4 euros. The room was really comfy and the tv offered loads of channels. Don't miss out on staying here as we loved it and can't wait to go back especially for the prosecco for breakfast, which you can help yourself too!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor but there is a lift it was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MammaMiaWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your opinion from your recent stay at Duodo.
Our staff will be pleased to read your kind compliments. We’re happy to see that you loved the breakfast and room service, as well.
There’s nothing better to see someone happy after staying with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company when travels return you to Venice.
Happy New Year
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel in 2010. Supposed to stay in another hotel but fully booked, so we stay in this hotel. The most luxurious hotel I've ever stay. The moment we stepped into the room, we fell in love with it. Looks like old charm vintage hotel with the red wallpaper & matching mattresses & pillows. Even the bathroom is huge. Too bad we have to leave early otherwise we would love to enjoy the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkeiffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUODO PALACE D, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your experience at Duodo Palace Hotel.
We’re glad to see you enjoyed our furniture and the old venetian style. You should see it now, we’ve recently renovated all rooms and floors.
We would like to welcome you again at Duodo.
Happy New Year
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#70 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#58 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Property: Duodo Palace Hotel
Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#44 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing