We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!”
Review of Hotel Ca' Formenta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Formenta
Ranked #124 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back from a four night stay a this great little hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff all spoke good English and were very friendly and helpful. We paid the extra for a lagoon view room and for us it was worth it - quite a surprise the first morning to see the cruise ships making their way through to the cruise terminal!
The location of the hotel is great, far enough away from all the many tour groups and hustle and bustle but still only a 10 minute walk from St Marks. It is very easy to get to the hotel from the airport - take the Alilaguna transfer boat to Arsenale and then you are just two bridges away along the lagoon front (this is important because every bridge has steps up and steps down again the other side so you have to carry your suitcases).
The hotel breakfast is a comprehensive cold buffet laid out in the entrance lobby where there are several tables and there are also two tables outside on the pavement. These were nice to sit at on returning from our explorations with a drink from the hotel bar. There are several reasonably priced bars and eating places along the road from the hotel, but we chose to bite the bullet and pay the higher prices at the places along the canals and calles behind St Marks as we were there for a special occasion.
I would have given the hotel five out of five except we had problems with the safe in our room. It did not work when we got there and we then saw that there was no battery to power the lock. We went to reception, who sent someone up with a battery and after some fiddling about they got it to work, but when we got back to the room later that day it would not open. A different person on reception said that the battery had been left out because the safe was faulty and we should have been told not to use it! Eventually they got it open, and for the rest of our stay we left our valuables in the main hotel safe instead.
Venice is really compact and we did nearly all our sightseeing on foot. It is really difficult to get truly lost as many buildings have yellow signs on them pointing the way to the major landmarks. This made just wandering off down any side turning that took our fancy a great but safe adventure and I highly reccommend it! Our best bargain was an hours vaporetto ride the whole length of the Grand Canal for just 7 euros each, which definitely gave us a great view of the Rialto bridge and other landmarks. The Naval History museum at Arsenale was also great with lots of information signs in English and only cost 1.55 Euros each. If you go into the Doges Palace get the audioguide.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a bit noisier but have a great view over the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillym88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    291
    41
    13
    5
See reviews for
71
321
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bagshot, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for four nights in May 2014. Staff really helpful, and with excellent language skills. Our room was a standard one and was absolutely fine - no view, but sizeable enough and comfortable. Our deal included a bottle of Prosecco which was delicious. Breakfast was ample - boiled eggs, meat and cheese, cereals, fruit and sweet croissants. The staff stored our luggage after we checked out until our late afternoon vaporetto trip back to the airport.
The Vaporetto base is about a 10min walk (under cover) from the terminal. You need the Blue line to Arsenale stop which takes 1 hr 15min, cost 27 euros return. Goes via Murano and the Lido, so you get a trip around the lagoon before you arrive. Two bridges to cross - which is pretty good going for Venice! To the left of the hotel there are several restaurants along the Via Garibaldi and we ate twice at ; the mussels and clams starter was especially good - and it wasn't the all present pasta for the prima piatti!
Talking of bridges - there are dozens, and you should be prepared to walk a lot! Get a Good map - with as much detail as poss and use it. So many folk seemed to wander around and expected to arrive without a guide, and clearly many Venetians do get a tad fed up with providing a free direction service for the visitors. High spots were walking around the Arsenale and a visit to the Museo Storico Navale (the Naval Museum) just along from the hotel on the promenade. 1.55 euro entry and we stayed for about two hours. Only open in the morning - get a guide to find out the opening hours for all the sights. Then the free music museum between ST Mark's Square and the Accademia bridge. The Rialto markets were fascinating, so long as you like fish or veg. The Campanile takes a bit of queuing - we went before 11 and the crowds were already growing. Downsides were the hordes of visitors who seem to travel in packs - and then stop in a dense mass on the next camera opportunity. Lots of cruise ship visitors. We went for the islands trip from the St Mark Gardens stop; 20euros for 4.5 hours; loved Burano. The stop at Murano was really only a visit to a glass factory but it was interesting; just be careful about the lure of the saleroom adjoining. Cost may be cheaper in the city, and still made in Murano, not China. Leather bags are plentiful and it pays to shop around. We found good prices in a small shop off the Rialto.
Four days was not enough to do justice to the city. We had a good time.

Room Tip: If you do want a water view, choose a superior room. Our room was fine though and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnbagshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed from 16th to 19th of May for our anniversary, received a free bottle of bubbly on our arrival to celebrate. Lovely staff, fab location, brilliant view from our lovely room. Yes rooms are not huge but who wants to stay in their room in venice !! Would definitely stay here again. One huge tip for venice....good footwear, there's a lot of strolling around streets, we got lost a couple of times but was fun trying to navigate our way back to our hotel. If you take a left out the hotel the bars and restaurants are more casual and cheaper. We spent the evening in the bar next door and drank copious amounts of wine for just 15euros. 3 course meal for 2 in a Main Street restaurant approx 100 euros, but was lovely. You just look around for what you want to spend, it doesn't have to cost too much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonsheppey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in Venice for 3 nights at Ca Formenta and thought it was a great hotel.

It was far enough away from the real biz but Venice is such a small city that your at St Marks in about 5-10 mins walk.

The rooms were lovely, large enough for us as we simply use it as a base to sight see and overlooking the canal. The gentleman on the reception was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and lots on offer.

Have since recommended this hotel to others who have also booked. Would book here again if I was to return to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is well located and the staff is friendly. Always helpful and happy to recommend places to visit. Few good restaurants around the hotel and just 10 -15 minutes walk to Piazza Marco Polo.
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariusvoila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The room was pretty standard but was very clean and had everything you needed. Pillows were very thin but we asked for a couple more which was no problem. Very friendly staff and breakfast was lovely, plenty to set you up for the day.

Brilliant location as it is more on the quieter side of Venice but only a short walk to all the main sites and areas. I loved Venice and would certainly have no hesitation in staying here again if we go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceyrz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over Easter weekend in a junior suite on the very front of the hotel with amazing views of the lagoon up close and St Marks square in the distance. Our room was on the corner so we had 3 large windows, 2 on the front and 1 on the side of the building looking over a canal. Every day we had spectacular views of the cruise ships passing a few yards from our window and towering over everything as they sailed into Venice.
There were 3 of us, so the sofa was made up into a bed for the duration of our stay but there was also a small table, desk and 3 chairs. There was a small mini-bar with not bad prices and a flat screen tv but it only had Italian channels and MTV. This was fine as we didn't really spend much time in our room except to recover from all the walking! WIFI was free and worked well, just had to ask for the password from reception. The room was very clean and in very good condition apart from a patch of peeling wallpaper under one window where some water had got to it, overall a nice room with everything we needed.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. They always greeted us with a smile.
Breakfast was continental style with croissants, bread rolls, boiled eggs, cheese, meats, brioche, cereals, fruit, jams, yogurts, biscuits, juice, tea and coffee. As soon as anything was taken the lady would fuss around and top it up straight away. The coffee machine was fantastic and provided a beautiful cuppa.
The hotel location was great. It was approx 10 minutes from St Marks square and 2 minutes from Arsenalle Vaparetto stop. It was just outside of the hustle and bustle in a lovely quiet location right on the water side. There was a small co-op 5 minutes along the street for essentials.
We got the blue and yellow ATVO coach from the airport for 6 euros each. This was a non stop coach to Piazzale Roma bus station at the top of the grand canal taking approx 20 mins. Very easy after we figured out the ticket machine in the arrivals terminal. The coach itself was sat right outside the airport and couldn't be missed. There was a slightly cheaper option for 1 euro less but the ACTV bus is the local city transport so stops frequently and takes longer, we decided to choose the more direct option. Once in the bus station you could get a Vaparatto down the Grand Canal but as we were early we chose a slow walk to the hotel which took ages and a million bridges before we found the hotel. Do not take big luggage, we only had small hand luggage cases and by the end of it I was sick of picking them up to cross yet another bridge even though they weren't heavy. It was OK to walk to the hotel but we were shattered by the end, partially due to the crowds and having to weave our way through them. The hotel was very easy to find, we just headed for the bottom of the grand canal and turned left. Because it was near a vaparetto stop this also gave us a marker to aim for. On the way back to the airport we just got number 1 vaparetto all the way to Piazzale Roma from outside the hotel and got on the bus.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view room, well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#87 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#142 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#132 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#23 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#325 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#154 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Formenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Formenta

Property: Hotel Ca' Formenta
Address: Castello 1650 | Via Garibaldi, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#120 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Formenta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca Formenta is located in the lively Via Garibaldi, only 10 minute walk to San Marco Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ca' Formenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca Formenta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing