We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ca' Formenta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Marina(Venice)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Nuovo Teson(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sarasina(Venice)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
289
316
45
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
316
45
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia garibaldilagoon viewarsenale stopwater taxigrand canalwide streetminute walkst marks squaresmall hotelco opthe hotel staffcoffee machinebars and restaurantsshower cubiclecroissantsexcellent locationthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back from a four night stay a this great little hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff all spoke good English and were very friendly and helpful. We paid the extra for a lagoon view room and for us it was worth it - quite a surprise the first morning to see the cruise ships making their way through to the cruise terminal!
The location of the hotel is great, far enough away from all the many tour groups and hustle and bustle but still only a 10 minute walk from St Marks. It is very easy to get to the hotel from the airport - take the Alilaguna transfer boat to Arsenale and then you are just two bridges away along the lagoon front (this is important because every bridge has steps up and steps down again the other side so you have to carry your suitcases).
The hotel breakfast is a comprehensive cold buffet laid out in the entrance lobby where there are several tables and there are also two tables outside on the pavement. These were nice to sit at on returning from our explorations with a drink from the hotel bar. There are several reasonably priced bars and eating places along the road from the hotel, but we chose to bite the bullet and pay the higher prices at the places along the canals and calles behind St Marks as we were there for a special occasion.
I would have given the hotel five out of five except we had problems with the safe in our room. It did not work when we got there and we then saw that there was no battery to power the lock. We went to reception, who sent someone up with a battery and after some fiddling about they got it to work, but when we got back to the room later that day it would not open. A different person on reception said that the battery had been left out because the safe was faulty and we should have been told not to use it! Eventually they got it open, and for the rest of our stay we left our valuables in the main hotel safe instead.
Venice is really compact and we did nearly all our sightseeing on foot. It is really difficult to get truly lost as many buildings have yellow signs on them pointing the way to the major landmarks. This made just wandering off down any side turning that took our fancy a great but safe adventure and I highly reccommend it! Our best bargain was an hours vaporetto ride the whole length of the Grand Canal for just 7 euros each, which definitely gave us a great view of the Rialto bridge and other landmarks. The Naval History museum at Arsenale was also great with lots of information signs in English and only cost 1.55 Euros each. If you go into the Doges Palace get the audioguide.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a bit noisier but have a great view over the lagoon
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillym88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for four nights in May 2014. Staff really helpful, and with excellent language skills. Our room was a standard one and was absolutely fine - no view, but sizeable enough and comfortable. Our deal included a bottle of Prosecco which was delicious. Breakfast was ample - boiled eggs, meat and cheese, cereals, fruit and sweet croissants. The staff stored our luggage after we checked out until our late afternoon vaporetto trip back to the airport.
The Vaporetto base is about a 10min walk (under cover) from the terminal. You need the Blue line to Arsenale stop which takes 1 hr 15min, cost 27 euros return. Goes via Murano and the Lido, so you get a trip around the lagoon before you arrive. Two bridges to cross - which is pretty good going for Venice! To the left of the hotel there are several restaurants along the Via Garibaldi and we ate twice at ; the mussels and clams starter was especially good - and it wasn't the all present pasta for the prima piatti!
Talking of bridges - there are dozens, and you should be prepared to walk a lot! Get a Good map - with as much detail as poss and use it. So many folk seemed to wander around and expected to arrive without a guide, and clearly many Venetians do get a tad fed up with providing a free direction service for the visitors. High spots were walking around the Arsenale and a visit to the Museo Storico Navale (the Naval Museum) just along from the hotel on the promenade. 1.55 euro entry and we stayed for about two hours. Only open in the morning - get a guide to find out the opening hours for all the sights. Then the free music museum between ST Mark's Square and the Accademia bridge. The Rialto markets were fascinating, so long as you like fish or veg. The Campanile takes a bit of queuing - we went before 11 and the crowds were already growing. Downsides were the hordes of visitors who seem to travel in packs - and then stop in a dense mass on the next camera opportunity. Lots of cruise ship visitors. We went for the islands trip from the St Mark Gardens stop; 20euros for 4.5 hours; loved Burano. The stop at Murano was really only a visit to a glass factory but it was interesting; just be careful about the lure of the saleroom adjoining. Cost may be cheaper in the city, and still made in Murano, not China. Leather bags are plentiful and it pays to shop around. We found good prices in a small shop off the Rialto.
Four days was not enough to do justice to the city. We had a good time.

Room Tip: If you do want a water view, choose a superior room. Our room was fine though and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnbagshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed from 16th to 19th of May for our anniversary, received a free bottle of bubbly on our arrival to celebrate. Lovely staff, fab location, brilliant view from our lovely room. Yes rooms are not huge but who wants to stay in their room in venice !! Would definitely stay here again. One huge tip for venice....good footwear, there's a lot of strolling around streets, we got lost a couple of times but was fun trying to navigate our way back to our hotel. If you take a left out the hotel the bars and restaurants are more casual and cheaper. We spent the evening in the bar next door and drank copious amounts of wine for just 15euros. 3 course meal for 2 in a Main Street restaurant approx 100 euros, but was lovely. You just look around for what you want to spend, it doesn't have to cost too much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonsheppey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in Venice for 3 nights at Ca Formenta and thought it was a great hotel.

It was far enough away from the real biz but Venice is such a small city that your at St Marks in about 5-10 mins walk.

The rooms were lovely, large enough for us as we simply use it as a base to sight see and overlooking the canal. The gentleman on the reception was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and lots on offer.

Have since recommended this hotel to others who have also booked. Would book here again if I was to return to Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is well located and the staff is friendly. Always helpful and happy to recommend places to visit. Few good restaurants around the hotel and just 10 -15 minutes walk to Piazza Marco Polo.
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariusvoila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews