We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault the hotel - love it!”
Review of Hotel Ca' Formenta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Formenta
Ranked #144 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Loved this hotel I was recommended to by a friend who had stayed a couple of years ago.
Perfect location (10mins from all the biz of S. Marco), so clean, staff very helpful and enjoyed the breakie in the morning - had 4 wonderful days/nights in Venice for a surprise trip for my mum's 60th birthday!
Definitely pay the extra for lagoon view we had the window open anytime we were in the room lots to see going on looking on to Via Garibaldi and the lagoon. Highlight of my mum's stay was seeing the MASSIVE Queen Elizabeth cruise ship passing by at 7am when we woke up. Wow!
Would book again if we came back! :)

Oh and comfy shoes is a must!!!!!!!!!! You will walk LOADS!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I would like to praise the management of this hotel. I had reserved a room with a B&B in Venice but they gave the room to another couple, so my wife and I were desperate to find new accommodations. This hotel stepped up on a very busy weekend and offered to provide rooms to cover our stay. This was a very busy weekend and the management went out of their way to help us, which I really appreciate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Ca' Formenta Hotel is ideally situated on the waterfront about 5 minute walk from Arsenale boat pier and 15 minutes from St Mark's square.
The single room I occupied was comfortable and very clean had a double size bed, TV, Mini bar, en-suite shower and toilet. There was also a safety deposit in the room at no extra cost. The complimentary buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice. and if the weather is ok you can breakfast at the tables outside the hotel. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English.

I would recommend this hotel as an ideal base for a stay in Venice.

Room Tip: This hotel is relatively small and only has one single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greywanderer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here with my son in early April in a twin bedded room overlooking the lagoon - this was a supplement but very well worth the extra - the room was bright and quite spacious for Venice !! We had big windows giving a wide ranging view down towards the Grand Canal and you could see St. Marks square tower, which was only a ten minute pleasant stroll away along the promenade. The location of this hotel was perfect for us - in a more "Venetian" feeling area, away from the major crowds of tourists and close to several reasonably priced restaurants, which the friendly staff at reception had suggested. For a real treat, do catch a private taxi boat from the airport to the hotel, as it has its own tiny pier down a side canal, after a hot and airless flight it was heaven to get fresh sea air and a fab view as you speed towards Venice. My son remarked it felt like we were in a James Bond film and the driver pointed out several places of interest along the way (also very much faster than catching the public ferry boat ). The only small niggle I could mention was the breakfast - it would have been nice to have some traditional orange or apple juice on offer and fresher pastries, but overall a reasonable choice. Loved Venice, especially out of peak season and would definitely return to this hotel, in fact have already recommended it to friends visiting later in the year.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lagoon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked with Citalia, comfortable room, very clean. Our room was on the side but we had a good view of the lagoon. Breakfast was a good continental spread. Staff spoke good english and were always helpful. The best thing for us was position, looking out on the lagoon, only 15 minutes walk from St Marks square but away from the crowds. There are lots of restaurants along the Via Garibaldi, we can recommend La Nuova Perla just next door and a very nice bakery/cafe too for a light lunch. It was lovely to stroll along the edge of the lagoon in the evening admiring the billionaires yachts parked there! Or sit outside with a beer or glass of wine.
The hotel was very easy to get to, just 2 bridges from the Alilaguna ferry stop, Arsenale (tickets from the desk as you leave the airport, Blue Line), and this is an efficient service that runs on time for your return journey too. We would stay there again without hesitation.
Would also recommend pre booking guided tours through Viator and Ticket Italy, we did the guided walking tour and launch up the Grand canal, 3 Islands boat tour and the 'secret Doges Palace', all were worth doing and gave you lots of extra local information you would otherwise miss. You can buy various tour tickets and ferry/vaperetto tickets from the wooden booth by the Royal Gardens just up from St Marks Square. To validate your vaperetto tickets just hold against the machine by the entrance, it is worth getting a ticket for the set time and use it enough times to make it worth while, at 7 euros a trip, if you take 3 rides in 12 hours you are in profit! We mainly walked and it really is a fascinating place to get lost in!
Remember Venice is not cheap to eat out in, unless you are happy to live on pizza for your stay. However it is a wonderful place to visit and we hope to go back one day.

Room Tip: Higher rooms more likely to have a lagoon view. Worth upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddingtonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Really great time spent at this hotel. Very friendly staff and nice relaxed feel. Well positioned close to the centre of Venice but out of the real tourist hurley burley. It has it's own landing stage for the water taxi. Breakfast was again nice and calm with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband booked this for my 50th ...... Alongside the free proseco he had arranged with the staff a bouquet of the most beautiful lilies and other flowers' which was huge!!!!! Nothing was too much trouble for them, polite and friendly.
The hotel is based a few bridges walk or vaporetta ride to the main square of st marks but we found it perfect and like another reviewer wrote turn left and there are a host of other bars shops and cafe's too explore. They are cheaper here too.
Perfect spot for viewing the private aughts mooring, the closest we got to that was treating ourselves to a speedboat back to the airport which picks you up from the private jetty at the back of the hotel....again the staff sorted that for us and previously booked a table at a vegetarian restaurant for us called la zucca which requires a bit of working out in terms of waterbus stops and street navigation.....it's so much fun though we got lost a few times, turned it into a boat tour or a street tour.... Wear sensible footwear and you will be ok because there is a lot of walking and bridges. There is so much to see and do I don't know where I would start other than to say book and go Venice is amazing. A city of contrasts jump on the vaporetta over to the lido and relax on the beach which is really easy to find, off the waterbus follow the crowds straight down the main road and there you are.......or submerge yourself in the history, or just soak up the experience of just being in this unique beautiful place... Theatres are amazing or just walk round st marks square listening to the music then in to the narrow alleys and canals with gondola rides £80 to £100 euros set price, so relaxing though. We stayed for 5 nights and could have stayed for many more it's so fascinating..........take Mozzie spray though ..... There are lots of insects, they hang out everywhere there is no escape!!!!!! Enjoy we did :)

Room Tip: Book the junior room overlooks the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedomcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#102 of 387 in Venice
693 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#151 of 387 in Venice
425 reviews
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#149 of 387 in Venice
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#158 of 387 in Venice
658 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#156 of 387 in Venice
576 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Formenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Formenta

Address: Castello 1650 | Via Garibaldi, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Venice
#100 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £46 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Formenta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca Formenta is located in the lively Via Garibaldi, only 10 minute walk to San Marco Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ca' Formenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca Formenta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing