We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Ca' Formenta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Formenta
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great little hotel on the Lagoon. Rooms a little on the small side but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Great buffet continental breakfast and really friendly and helpful staff. Just 15 mins walk to St Marks Square over seven bridges, or go left out of the hotel and walk along the lagoon to a lovely park area. Would definitely go back to this hotel and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here in July in a junior suite triple bedded room overlooking the lagoon. This was well worth the extra money. The room was bright and quite spacious. (Room 407) We had big windows giving a great view towards the Grand Canal. Large yachts park nearby and the cruise ships are pulled through the canal with tug boats and pass right in front of the window. St Mark’s square is only a ten minute walk away along the promenade. The location of this hotel is wonderful. It was near the local Venitian areas, away from the major crowds of tourists and close to several reasonably priced restaurants. The friendly staff at reception all spoke great English and assisted you 24/7 with any help needed. The breakfast was fine…meat, cheeses, pastries, fruit. Coffee could have been better. I would definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Loved this hotel I was recommended to by a friend who had stayed a couple of years ago.
Perfect location (10mins from all the biz of S. Marco), so clean, staff very helpful and enjoyed the breakie in the morning - had 4 wonderful days/nights in Venice for a surprise trip for my mum's 60th birthday!
Definitely pay the extra for lagoon view we had the window open anytime we were in the room lots to see going on looking on to Via Garibaldi and the lagoon. Highlight of my mum's stay was seeing the MASSIVE Queen Elizabeth cruise ship passing by at 7am when we woke up. Wow!
Would book again if we came back! :)

Oh and comfy shoes is a must!!!!!!!!!! You will walk LOADS!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I would like to praise the management of this hotel. I had reserved a room with a B&B in Venice but they gave the room to another couple, so my wife and I were desperate to find new accommodations. This hotel stepped up on a very busy weekend and offered to provide rooms to cover our stay. This was a very busy weekend and the management went out of their way to help us, which I really appreciate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Ca' Formenta Hotel is ideally situated on the waterfront about 5 minute walk from Arsenale boat pier and 15 minutes from St Mark's square.
The single room I occupied was comfortable and very clean had a double size bed, TV, Mini bar, en-suite shower and toilet. There was also a safety deposit in the room at no extra cost. The complimentary buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice. and if the weather is ok you can breakfast at the tables outside the hotel. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English.

I would recommend this hotel as an ideal base for a stay in Venice.

Room Tip: This hotel is relatively small and only has one single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greywanderer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here with my son in early April in a twin bedded room overlooking the lagoon - this was a supplement but very well worth the extra - the room was bright and quite spacious for Venice !! We had big windows giving a wide ranging view down towards the Grand Canal and you could see St. Marks square tower, which was only a ten minute pleasant stroll away along the promenade. The location of this hotel was perfect for us - in a more "Venetian" feeling area, away from the major crowds of tourists and close to several reasonably priced restaurants, which the friendly staff at reception had suggested. For a real treat, do catch a private taxi boat from the airport to the hotel, as it has its own tiny pier down a side canal, after a hot and airless flight it was heaven to get fresh sea air and a fab view as you speed towards Venice. My son remarked it felt like we were in a James Bond film and the driver pointed out several places of interest along the way (also very much faster than catching the public ferry boat ). The only small niggle I could mention was the breakfast - it would have been nice to have some traditional orange or apple juice on offer and fresher pastries, but overall a reasonable choice. Loved Venice, especially out of peak season and would definitely return to this hotel, in fact have already recommended it to friends visiting later in the year.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lagoon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked with Citalia, comfortable room, very clean. Our room was on the side but we had a good view of the lagoon. Breakfast was a good continental spread. Staff spoke good english and were always helpful. The best thing for us was position, looking out on the lagoon, only 15 minutes walk from St Marks square but away from the crowds. There are lots of restaurants along the Via Garibaldi, we can recommend La Nuova Perla just next door and a very nice bakery/cafe too for a light lunch. It was lovely to stroll along the edge of the lagoon in the evening admiring the billionaires yachts parked there! Or sit outside with a beer or glass of wine.
The hotel was very easy to get to, just 2 bridges from the Alilaguna ferry stop, Arsenale (tickets from the desk as you leave the airport, Blue Line), and this is an efficient service that runs on time for your return journey too. We would stay there again without hesitation.
Would also recommend pre booking guided tours through Viator and Ticket Italy, we did the guided walking tour and launch up the Grand canal, 3 Islands boat tour and the 'secret Doges Palace', all were worth doing and gave you lots of extra local information you would otherwise miss. You can buy various tour tickets and ferry/vaperetto tickets from the wooden booth by the Royal Gardens just up from St Marks Square. To validate your vaperetto tickets just hold against the machine by the entrance, it is worth getting a ticket for the set time and use it enough times to make it worth while, at 7 euros a trip, if you take 3 rides in 12 hours you are in profit! We mainly walked and it really is a fascinating place to get lost in!
Remember Venice is not cheap to eat out in, unless you are happy to live on pizza for your stay. However it is a wonderful place to visit and we hope to go back one day.

Room Tip: Higher rooms more likely to have a lagoon view. Worth upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddingtonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#102 of 385 in Venice
688 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#152 of 385 in Venice
573 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#158 of 385 in Venice
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#63 of 385 in Venice
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Formenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Formenta

Address: Castello 1650 | Via Garibaldi, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Venice
#100 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £53 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Formenta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca Formenta is located in the lively Via Garibaldi, only 10 minute walk to San Marco Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ca' Formenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca Formenta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing