We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, but average overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Marco Palace Suites
Ranked #257 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had rooms 308 and 309 with a communication door (family suite) just around Xmas; the rooms are built around the lift case which proves to be rather noisy early in the morning, when people leave the hotel, or the hotel staff comes in for cleaning. The bathrooms are really small, and the rooms could be larger. No WiFi or internet fixed access in the rooms (and this was my key requirement when I booked the rooms!), only in the breakfast area/room located in an adjacent building.
The key positive point of this hotel is its location, very close to San Marco Square; of course in case of acqua alta, which was the case on 26 December, you may need some plastic bags or boots to leave the hotel - take with you the plastic bags in your room (that protect the blankets), or buy boots from street vendors (15€)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for San Marco Palace Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

As far as the location is concerned it is about 25 minute walk from the train station but just one bridge away from San Marco Square! It was perfect for New Years Eve, which was the occasion we were in Venice for. My room was not very big at all, and it was located right next to the elevator so it was noisy. The heat was almost too strong in the winter and my and my husband were uncomfortably hot. The beds are hard and the pillows were not soft at all. I was a little let down for how much we paid for the "suite" in fact it didn't seem like a suite at all...just a regular room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feliciagdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Loved, Loved, this hotel! The location was perfect and the our suite was clean and just beautiful. The staff were very helpful in accommodating two more family members that did not have reservations. The hotel is conveniently located by many wonderful restaurants and cafes. The included breakfast was ok; they served coffee, an array or breads and croissants, coffee, juice, and not so good eggs and bacon. Over all, an A++ for location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edithe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We did not intend to stay at the San Marco, but we sure were happy with our turn of events. After another hotel mixed up our reservation, we were lucky to snag a lovely suite at SM. The room was spacious with high ceilings - excellent accommodations. The breakfast was one of the best we had throughout Italy. Best of all, this hotel is just adjacent to the bustling and interesting San Marco Square. We even saw a wedding party. The hotel included a complimentary boat ride and tour at Murano which we took advantage of. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were amazed to have 2 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a huge living area, dining area and entryway! The suite was elegant and immaculate and we had daily maid service!! The air conditioner wasn't quite cold enough for my taste, but the weather was cool so we opened the windows.

This hotel is right off of San Marco square and close to EVERYTHING! The breakfast was adequate but not extravagant.

The staff, particularly the front desk staff, was courteous, professional and so very helpful with all of our questions. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieNimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

As far as our room is concern- small and outdated, some water marks on the ceiling but it is quite and AC works fine. No free high speed internet, continental breakfast was alright. I did not mind all the negative stuff after all the long walk in a hot day. I just want to rest and sleep. DO NOT take the complimentary trip to Murano glass factory unless you have extra time. If you do, do not take interest on any glass art otherwise they will try to sell it to you like a time shares! The only plus is the location, situated in the city center about two blocks from St. Marks Square. I would probably stay in this hotel again if I had no choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank logan33961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

OK- this hotel is not 5 star, but if you have a big family and want to live close to "everything" - this is the place. We were 6 people in a suite with two bathrooms, three bedrooms/livingroom incl. a mini-kitchen. The hotel is located in the street behind the San Marco square with its "own" canal. The breakfast is not great, but har an OK selection of juices, bread, cereal, cold cuts and eggs. Italians are not "breakfast people" like many northern Europeans and Americans, so with this is mind, I was satisfied. The service is not very good. The room was ready 15:15. We were promised it would be ready by 14:00. Boring to sit and waste time in the lobby...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gjedde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#199 of 384 in Venice
1,075 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Torre dell'Orologio Suites
Torre dell'Orologio Suites
#265 of 384 in Venice
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#161 of 384 in Venice
398 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#69 of 384 in Venice
819 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#165 of 384 in Venice
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Palace Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Palace Suites

Address: Ponte dei Dai 875 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £106 - £585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marco Palace Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your San Marco Palace Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Palace Hotel Venice
San Marco Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing