We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Ranked #103 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed in Venice four times over last few years and this find is the best yet. The location is excellent as only 4 minutes to St Marks Square and very near the typical touristy things but also easy to get away from the crowds and get lost in the back streets.We had a suite on the top floor and yes there are stairs but this is Venice and you have to expect that, just pack light and it is no problem at all, the gentleman at the desk offered to carry our bags anyway and the stairs were not too steep so no problem for us at all. The view from our room was great, overlooking the canal and couple of bridges with the singing gondolas going past to entertain you. The bed was roomy and very comfortable with the added bonus of a big sofa and table and chairs all done in a tasteful style, great powerful shower too. Breakfast was typical continental affair but with extras like the pancakes and you could have as many hot drinks as you requested, definitly can fill you up for the day of sightseeing and the staff were very helpful and welcoming.The hotel also has a little dining room where you can get hot or cold drinks including alcohol at anytime and they put this onto your bill at the end of your stay. We found the hotel easy to find and very straight forward from the vaporetto stop.We hope to stay again soon!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Thank god we had already downloaded directions on Trip Adviser otherwise we would have has no hope of finding it! There are almost no street signs in Venice. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice. Only two small negatives- there are no lifts so you have to negotiate several flights of stairs with your bags and also there was construction going on on our floor until 9pm. Otherwise, a pleasant stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a sweet and charming bed and breakfast. It was clean and comfortable and had a nice little (modest) breakfast in the morning (I love fresh fruit and cappuccinos in the morning). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is incredible, right in San Marco, close to saint mark's square, and the rialto bridge. Venice is beautiful and it is very quiet and relaxing. It was nice for us to start there and have a relaxing couple nights but if you are looking for a lively place this may not be the city for you. That being said it is stunning and charming. I definitely recommend checking out the Da Vinci exhibit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubba1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Before arriving at hotel mercurio I was unsure what to expect from the mixed reviews- but I loved it. All I would say it don't be put off by the reception, the rest of the hotel is a lot nicer- it's the only small area I would say needs refurbishing.

But anyway- yes there are quite a few stairs to climb, but it's a Venetian building? Surely that's to be expected... It's all part of the character!

We we're given a lovely room on the top floor- beautifully decorated and again, full of character! We even had a little staircase leading to the room- almost like a secret escape!

Brilliant location- close to St Marks square, the grant canal and all of the other main attractions.

Some reviews mention that it's really difficult to find too- we walked from the vallaresso ferry stop and it was very straight forward; the hotels website provides a useful map and directions to help! Anyway, getting lost is all part of the Venice experience.

I'd recommend the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, nice accommodation at a reasonable price

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanyacrump13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and we were pleased overall with the experience. We had a canal view room on the top floor and it was quiet, clean and comfortable. You had to go up a couple of steps to get in the bathroom, which was odd but not really a big deal. The room was clean and charming, and the breakfast as many have mentioned was pretty basic, but filling enough for us to start our day. We don't eat a large breakfast anyway. Wifi worked great, and we found a couple of English-speaking channels when we wanted to watch the tele.

The staff was helpful if we asked questions, but not very engaging outside of saying hello when we came and went, and not every attendant spoke English. When necessary, they would call someone else and we just made sure to ask any questions during the day when there was someone else on-hand. The location is central and perfect for wandering the city, and we didn't mind the number of stairs to the reception area, or to our room.

This is certainly not the hotel for anyone that has mobility issues, but I'd argue that Venice in general isn't ideal for anyone with mobility issues.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms on the top floor are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of December.
We has some important to us criteria for our Venice accommodation:
Location - the Mercurio is located in a fantastic spot - 5 mins to St Marks and 7 mins to Rialto. Cannot be beaten for convenience
Rooms - we like to spread out a little & our canal view suite allowed just that. Bathroom was quirky and small but perfectly functional and clean
Wi-if - comes free and worked perfectly
Value for money - at 86 euro per night - another tick!
Having said that there is some definite room for improvement here:
Service - our welcome was totally underwhelming and whilst we were given help with our bags to our top floor room - there was no information - only that the breakfast room opened at 7am and that we must hand in our key to reception each time we leave the hotel. Natale the night manager was a gentleman and most helpful and pleasant
Information - there is no information brochure at all in the rooms - nothing on who to contact, usage of the phone or even how to contact reception - nothing at all which was a little frustrating especially on our last night we turned on the tv to get some news and it did not function. We had no idea who to contact or how.
Having said this - the Mercurio is a great find - just be prepared for some small issues
Would stay again & request room 64

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in November and gave this hotel a low rating because of the room we were given. The actual room itself was fine, decent size and very clean but the location of the room (room 29) was terrible! It was on the first floor about 1.5 metres from the entrance and about 2 metres from the reception desk (see photos) so EVERYONE who came in and out of the hotel and talked at reception we could hear and were woken up 3-4 times each night which left us very tired and anoyed each morning. I dont no why they would have a room in that spot........ The location of the hotel was great, close to the main square in Vencie. I might stay here again in future but would refuse to stay in one of the 3 rooms next to the entrance/reception. If you get put in one of those rooms ask to be moved as you won't sleep!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 29 or one of the other two rooms near the reception/entrance!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlisonCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#94 of 388 in Venice
512 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#99 of 388 in Venice
853 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#126 of 388 in Venice
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 388 in Venice
795 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#82 of 388 in Venice
471 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#186 of 388 in Venice
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio Venezia

Address: Calle del Fruttariol | San Marco 1848, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £57 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercurio Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercurio is a family-run three stars Hotel located in the old town center of Venice at a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and La Fenice Theatre. Attention to guests and to rooms detail are a must for us, we guarantee a pleasant and relaxing stay in the very center of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mercurio Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing