We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Ranked #114 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very easy to find from the vaporeto stop. Great to be close to St Marks Square. I couldn't find the hotel until I went back to the waterbus stop. So easy to find from there. Great staff. They have a computer available in the lounge which was great since my phone died. You can sit and have a drink. They don't have a lift for your luggage but they are always there to help. They brought my luggage to my room for me. Breakfast included. I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mercurio, Owner at Hotel Mercurio Venezia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you, we're happy our pc in the lounge was helpful for you!

Many thanks for your beautiful words too, as said in previous reviews below, a lift is already in our priority projects.
Hope to see you back soon!
Your Hotel Mercurio Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    374
    120
    40
    10
See reviews for
177
401
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, or stay here again. The location is perfect, and the room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was very helpful with directing us how to get around Venice, and helping us arrange transportation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mercurio, Owner at Hotel Mercurio Venezia, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We're so pleased and flattered by your words...
Thank you very much for recommending us

Your Hotel Mercurio Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Staff were very friendly and most helpful at every turn. Quiet, clean, air conditioned room for three. Breakfast buffet was very ample and fresh. Cappuccinos were wonderful, of course it's Italy, home of great coffee!
Easy to find the hotel with their map or Internet maps. 5 minute walk SW of St. Mark's Square and about 10 minutes from the Vaporetto (water bus on Grand Canal) or airport ferry stops near St. Marks. 2 minutes from lovely opera house.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mercurio, Owner at Hotel Mercurio Venezia, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Reviews like this one... the dream of every hotel owner ;-)

Thank you very much
Your Hotel Mercurio Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1,066 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,116 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a small hotel with about 30 rooms. It was comfortable and clean. Price is about 240 euros but that is consistent with the decent hotels in Venice. Free wifi and an adequate breakfast.

There is a long, steep stair case up to the lobby, and then more steep steps up to your room. We were traveling very light and were thankfully on the first floor.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mercurio, Owner at Hotel Mercurio Venezia, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for this beautiful review, we also hope this is helpful to other guests. Thanks for stressing the fact we are close to the Opera House, the worldwide famous La Fenice Theatre, something that sometimes one tends to forget, as everyone is so concentrated on St. Mark and Rialto Bridge...

Sincerely
Your Hotel Mercurio Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Mercurio is a charming, clean, well-situated hotel on a canal. The staff is very helpful and attentive. The rooms are larger than average, decorated nicely and quite comfortable. The breakfast is included in the price and quite substantial and tasty.
However...if you have any trouble with stairs, this hotel is not for you. In fact, perhaps Venice is not for you. From the entry of the hotel at ground level you must climb a staircase of about 25 steps straight up at about a 60° angle to the lobby. No lift. To get to the breakfast room one must climb a winding staircase (not spiral) of about 20 steps. No lift.
Otherwise, this hotel is wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Mercurio, Owner at Hotel Mercurio Venezia, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much for considering our hotel "wonderful". As concerns our stairs, we understand the irony in defining them, but maybe "killer" is a bit too strong a word... anyway this review gives us the chance to underline that an elevator is our priority project. Hopefully it's just a matter of short time, as you will surely understand, in Venice things like this one (building an elevator) are very difficult to handle, compared to... the rest of the world ;-)

Sincerely
Your Hotel Mercurio Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The location is quite convenient, especially for the first time visitors to Venice - within 10 mins or less, one can reach Piazza San Marco, Academia bridge, or Rialto bridge. A large (to Venetian standards) food store is within 5 minutes. Only one bridge to cross with the suitcases to get to vaporetto. However, a central location comes at a cost of crowds everywhere (especially the Rialto bridge area is becomes disgustingly crowded in the middle of the day) and high prices for restaurants. If I were to come to Venice again just to enjoy the views and to take pictures, I would probably stay in a quieter area away from the streets filled with tourists (i.e., away from the city center).

I did my research and read reviews of this hotel. Some of them were quite amusing. One has to understand that Venice is a medieval city in which strict preservation laws prohibit new construction or major rebuilding projects. The hotels are housed in buildings which are several hundred years old. Aside from cosmetic repairs and modern plumbing, they remained as they were originally built - without elevators, with narrow stairs, and narrow hallways. This hotel is no exception - its entrance is a one story high stairway, and depending on your room, you may have to climb extra stairs with your suitcase.

The hotel, despite its relatively small size, has a 24 hour front desk, which is a big plus in terms of convenience and security. The hotel would gladly store your luggage in case of a early arrival or late departure. However, in contrast to common practice in the US, they do not have a dedicated storage room - they just allow you to leave your suitcases anywhere in the hallway. I ended up carrying my computer backpack on me on the last day because somehow I was not ready to leave it on the floor in a hallway, even if it is next to a reception.

Breakfast exceeded our expectations. Their breakfast room is small and I can see how it can get crowded, but since we would always come up for a breakfast at 7 am or whenever they would open the doors of the breakfast room, there was plenty of free tables and very few other people. There was a good selection of yoghurts, pastries and cold meats (pretty much all you can eat), some cereals and juice, and one could ask for custom-made coffee drinks (real Italian coffee - not that brown bitter non-drinkable liquid which is called "coffee" at home!) or hot chocolate. The people who assist guests at the breakfast were cordial, polite, and attentive.

The triple room which we got was a mixed bag. It was kind of small, but OK for the European standards in general and for our Venetian expectations. No complains about cleanliness. The bathroom appeared to be relatively recently remodeled. The shower was fine. There was an exhaust fan on the ceiling which did not really work. The beds were nothing fancy, but OK for the tired bodies. Unfortunately, the lack of attention to certain details was stunning for the price which we were paying. There was no foldable stand for the suitcase(s) which are pretty much standard at all medium-range hotels. So suitcases were sitting on the floor. There was a safe in the cabinet which despite common sense was not bolted to the cabinet and due to its small weight and size could be removed with all its content (why would you provide it if you can't secure it?).

There was a desk in the room, but it was the tiniest table I've ever seen - even a laptop would barely fit. There was a small cabinet which was too small to unload our suitcases.

Our room had windows to the canal. It was a mixed blessing. Gondolier's songs were amusing in the evening, but disturbing later in the night when we were trying to fall asleep. I guess, it was a part of the experience to remember :)

There was free wireless provided by the hotel which worked OK for general browsing but it barely worked for e-mail via VPN and did not work at all for over-the-internet telephony.

Value is hard to judge. Aside from the breakfast, the same quality level room in the US would cost probably around $60 per night. We paid close to $350 per night in late April. But this is Venice and the price is determined by demand and supply. Nothing is cheap here.

Overall, it is a safe hotel with attentive customer service in a central location and with a good breakfast. In all other areas, one has to calibrate his expectations before coming. This is Italy, and this is Venice - a place which to a certain degree got frozen in time. You do not find modern hotels here.

Overall, we had good experience (in line with our modest expectations) and we are thankful to the hotel management for their hospitality and efforts to keep customers happy.

If this was a hotel in the US, I would rate it two to three starts maximum, but it Venice it deserves four because it is as good as it gets within a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank And_A_I127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mercurio, Owner at Hotel Mercurio Venezia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
This review is actually a wonderful explanation of what is like visiting and living in Venice. What one can expect and somehow accept and what can this wonderful and unique city offer. If there are some inconvenience or discomfort compared to other cities and places in the world, it's just because of our uniqueness.
We believe that everyone should read reviews like this, before thinking of coming to Venice, irregardeless of the hotel we're talking about, because the "standards" we all are used to outside Venice are difficult to find here.

Having said that, we thank our dear guest for his beautiful words on Hotel Mercurio, we'll treasure his suggestions to improve our service; this occasion is great for us to promise to all our guests that we'll always do our best to please everyone and to make your stay in Venice a memorable one!

Your Hotel Mercurio Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent the last two nights of our honeymoon here, it was lovely. Manager Christo was very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfasts were included and well prepared with table service for hot drinks. Cereals, pancakes, fresh and tinned fruit, sweet and plain croissants, cakes ,lovely
The rooms were clean and well maintained daily. The hotel had a policy that keys were handed in daily, seemed unusual but wasn't a big deal. Shower was small but functional, no sharing space.

Room Tip: No elevator so don't go too high, those steps are steep to lug bags up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 287PurpleTulip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mercurio, Owner at Hotel Mercurio Venezia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank You very much for this beautiful review
Your Hotel Mercurio Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#59 of 385 in Venice
908 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#71 of 385 in Venice
684 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#135 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#110 of 385 in Venice
777 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#123 of 385 in Venice
547 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#70 of 385 in Venice
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio Venezia

Property: Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Address: Calle del Fruttariol | San Marco 1848, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercurio Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercurio is a family-run three stars Hotel located in the old town center of Venice at a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and La Fenice Theatre. Attention to guests and to rooms detail are a must for us, we guarantee a pleasant and relaxing stay in the very center of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercurio Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing