We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Ranked #159 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I had a lovely stay at this hotel. The location was perfect for everything including the vaporetta stop at Zaccharia, my room was spotless and cleaned daily, it was small enough and I had no view but it didnt bother me as all I needed it for was to sleep and shower, the bed was really comfortable and the shower was powerful. There was a heatwave of 36 degrees so the air conditioning was very much appreciated and not at all noisy.Considering hotels a block away were asking over €200 per night you really couldn't get better value for your money.

Room Tip: If you will be spending a lot of time in the hotel you might want to choose a room with a terrace or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiegirlDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

After visiting Rome, Milan, Florence, and Pisa, our last stop in our visit to Italy was Venice. We stayed at Hotel Antigo Trovatore. Venice as those of you who have visited know and those who will visit it will soon learn, is a giant labyrinth of little hidden piazzas, bridges, canals and narrow dead-end alleys. This can make things a bit confusing when trying to find something. What makes perfect this hotel is its location. It's right off the San Marco vaporetto stop. Just walk straight to Calle delle Rasse (which is the street right in front of the vaporetto stop) and in less than 1 minute you'll see the entrance to your left. The hotel's entrance can be easy to miss because it's just a glass door that leads to a staircase; but, it makes it easier if you look for a hanging sign that says "Ristorante Antigo Trovatore" which is right beside the hotel's entrance. Another convenient aspect of the hotel's location is that it's less than 2 minutes away from the St. Mark's Piazza! At night, go and visit the Piazza and watch the orchestras from each restaurant play outside!

The day we arrived the girl at the front desk immediately made us feel welcome. Even though our check-in was supposed to be later that day (we arrived around 11am), she made sure our room was ready and gave us the key. Even though it was only two of us (my sister and I) our room had a single bed and a "queen" sized bed (it was made out of 2 twin size beds, as most "queen" size bed in Italian hotels are). The room was very clean and spacious. It had two night tables, a desk with 2 chairs, TV and mini fridge. It had an armoire, a wooden bench to store your luggage and a very spacious bathroom (which btw, just like in the other Italian hotels we stayed, had a weird looking hair dryer that doesn't really do much. So take your own hair dryer with you!!)

Breakfast is served from 7:30-10am. Just go to the breakfast room (1st floor), sit down, and a very sweet girl offers you coffee and/or juice. Breakfast is very simple. They serve you a basket with one of each of the following for each guest: cornetto, bread roll and a pre-packaged sweet toast. They will also have on each table a little dish with peach and raspberry jam, butter and nutella. To drink, you can have orange or apple juice, cappuccino, American coffee and/or water.

The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They helped us with our schedule and finding our way around. They all speak English and some of them also speak Spanish.

It's a charming hotel with a perfect location and a GREAT staff. If I have a chance to visit Venice again, Hotel Antigo Trovatore will definitely be my choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ileska v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a great stay with a lovely sized room and huge bed. The bathroom and room were kept immaculately clean. The air conditioning worked very well and kept the room quite comfortable. We were on the second floor and although we didn't have a great view the fact that we were so perfectly situated to get anywhere by foot or ferry made for a great stay. There were nice eateries available on the block and very handy gelato too when we were too exhausted to keep going!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a lovely holiday at this hotel, it was in an ideal position, the staff could not do enough to help you, we were very fortunate to have booked hotel rooms with a terrace that overlooked st. marks bell tower. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable, the showers were a little too dated but sufficient. The only downside was the breakfast, I unfortunately do not eat wheat and therefore there was nothing for me to eat, still we were able to walk outside and there were plenty of cafe's for us to choose from. We would definately go there again.

Room Tip: book with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in their highest room,401, and it was an excellent view of the city and the camponile in st. Mark's Square and the back of the Doge's Palace. A VERY short walk from St. Mark's Square, this hotel is close to everything, including Zaccharia dock, where you can jump on a taxi to the train station or the Alilaguna to the airport. Breakfast was wonderful. The wifi didn't reach our room so we had to go to the lobby, but that's the only negative I have to mention.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I've been there for our honeymoon. They gave us a gift, champagne and we appreciated that.
Hotel is very close to Piazza San Marco and you can go everywhere easily by ferries. Ferry stop just across the hotel street.
Sometimes we came to Hotel, rest and go out again. Staff was helpful there. Room was nice, enough for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Onur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary last weekend! Fantastic location, very easy to find. Very clean throughout, staff very helpful & friendly. Very very pleased with our choice :-D (oh and it's worth saying that I'm incredibly fussy about the cleanliness of hotels so I was pleasently surprised!). Would recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in an ideal location central to venice!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Terihannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#84 of 385 in Venice
458 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
862 reviews
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#152 of 385 in Venice
573 reviews
Castello
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
#195 of 385 in Venice
262 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#132 of 385 in Venice
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antigo Trovatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Address: Calle delle Rasse 4534, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £73 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antigo Trovatore 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A familiar and confortable enviroment embraces the guests at the ANTIGO TROVATORE Hotel. Located at less one hundred meters from the splendid ST. Mark’s Square, in the heart of Venice, the hotel is easily reached from the Riva degli Schiavoni where there are a number of boat stops for the city water transportation system and where our street, Calle delle Rasse, opens out into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antigo Trovatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigo Trovatore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing