We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Ranked #139 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is the first place I said "I love you" to Sarah. She is now my wife! It was the most ideal place in all the world.

The room set the mood for the most romantic trip ever. The hotel location was fantastic to see Venice and the hotel room was our private haven.

Room Tip: A room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    295
    72
    14
    8
See reviews for
89
300
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice and clean. Location is excellent. Lots of restaurant. behind Piazza San Marco. From the airport, water bus stop Zaccarias, same stop for San Marco. Then cross only one bridge to get to hotel. Hard to cross a lot of bridges if you have luggages. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleLabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Check-in was quick, there is no lift between the ground floor and reception, but there is a lift from reception to your room. The room was small (but that seems to be the norm in Venice) but it was clean and tidy, we had a terrace overlooking St Marks square which had a nice view. Breakfast could have been better. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnRPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshunt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a couple of times and have not been disappointed , last time we had a superior room which had a terrace and overlooked the rooftops with a view of the Campanile. it is just a few minutes walk to St Marks Square and surrounding attractions , we never have breakfast preferring to use the cafe bar at the top of Calle de Rasse along with the locals stand at the bar don't sit it costs twice as much,opposite the cafe is a wine bar excellent for a drink after you have had your evening meal and another wander.Hotel room was clean good bed and shower you need to ask for internet code other than that we didn't re.ally talk to staff just prefer to go out walking all day or take a vaporetto to the other islands. Venice is magical just go in Spring or Autumn when it is less crowded.

Room Tip: Choose superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have been staying at the hotel for the few years. Since the remodeling a few years ago, the hotel and service have improved tremendously. I recommend the room with a terrace--a different way to experience Venice from the terrace above the noise and hustle of the streets. The room was very clean. The breakfast is light. The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: The room with the terrace is an excellent choice. The view is an ultimate Venice view--the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel for a stay in Venice. Fantastic location with everything you need right on your doorstep. Check in and out was seamless and room was kept spotless. Room was good size and bed comfortable. All in all an excellent hotel that we would use again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was the third hotel we stayed in during our Italian trip and it was the least value for money and the most unfriendly. No "welcome" or offer of a map when we arrived . . . just instructions about what to do when we checked out and a reminder that a city tax was due which had to be paid in cash!
The first thing to say is that it is not really a hotel: more of a glorified B&B. Well, just a B actually, since breakfast was not included in the nightly rate.
Internet wasn't included either. We got two hours free on check in. After that they wanted to charge us an extortionate 4 euros for two hours. I tried to explain to the receptionist that I really felt that since were staying four nights I thought it reasonable that we should be allowed two hours free access per day. She was having none of it.
Another disappointment was that the "hotel" had no laundry service, something we really needed at the end of a two-week trip.
The location was great . . . a few steps from St Mark's Square. The room was sparkling clean, but very small. We had a terrace luckily, but don't be seduced by the hotel photograph taken on a terrace overlooking the Doge's palace. Having booked a superior room with terrace I assumed that was what we would get. The reality was rather different, with our terrace being just a few feet away from the windows of the building across the narrow alley!
There is no lift from the ground floor to reception, but there are lifts from reception to the rooms. For some reason, the lifts constantly smelled of bins. We generally took the stairs.
Having now seen what Venice has to offer, I would stay away from the hotels near the centre. There is much better value to be had, and far fewer tourists, in the areas of Dorsoduro and Canareggio. That is where we shall stay if we ever return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#95 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#102 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#101 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#25 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antigo Trovatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Property: Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Address: Calle delle Rasse 4534, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in Venice
#143 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antigo Trovatore 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antigo Trovatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigo Trovatore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing