We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This small hotel is so well situated, being very close to St Mark's Square. It was fabulous to be near enough to see the sights so easily. We took the advice from Tripadvisor reviews and booked a room with a terrace looking towards the campanile - what a surprise when we saw how large the terrace was - it was a real treat.

As a disabled visitor there were certain snags - the platform lift to bring wheelchair users up to the reception was very temperament and I actually got stuck in it once! Also, the doorway coming out of the elevator on our floor was not wide enough for a wheelchair. On their official website they advertise disabled rooms, but you do need to be able to get as far as the room. It could be that we didn't have a disabled room, but it needs to be borne in mind if anyone has mobility issues.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antigotrovatore, Direttore at Hotel Antigo Trovatore, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank your comment about our hotel.
Our hotel have 25 rooms, 2 of them are set up for Giuest with walking problem or using a wheelchair. The rooms are standard (without terrace) and located on the first floor.
Your reservation was a double room with terrace and without note about the wheelchair, only a request for a bathroom with shower.
Guests that use the wheelchair should call the hotel and explain the situation so we can give to them the right service or write on the note at the reservation.

Hope to have you again our guest!
Best Regards,
All the staff
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    297
    74
    14
    8
See reviews for
90
303
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

this hotel is easy to find, staff kind and helpful. we arrived 3 hours before check in to drop off our luggage. the staff quickly got to work and had our rooms ready 2 hours early and allowed us to check in. room clean and well done, great value for the area and nice view with or without a terrace.

Room Tip: if you book this hotel make sure you do it directly with them as you will get free wifi if you go th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkino86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Can't beat the location, and was pleased by how clean the room and bathroom was. The staff was accommodating but could have been a bit less officious. Thought it was a bit cheap that you had to pay for maps rather than them just providing them. A bit of a nuisance hauling our suitcases up the stairs (a full flight up to get to the hotel with no elevator) but these were small things-- overall no complaints--the bed was comfortable and the bathroom and room was well maintained and pretty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very good location close to St. Marco's and vaporetto stop. Nice clean room and good large bed. Our room had a nice sunny balcony with the view on the bell tower. Friendly staff. Didn't try the breakfast. The minus goes to the fact that there was no hot water on some mornings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This small hotel has friendly staff and spotless, recently-redecorated rooms. Our room had access to a sunny terrace with a view to St Mark's bell tower across the rooftops. I'd have given it 4/5 if it hadn't been so expensive - I think it's probably good value by Venice standards but...! Breakfast was pretty basic - yogurt, oranges/apples, cornflakes or muesli, croissants and bread. The best thing about it, however, is the location - very close to St Mark's Square, and you step straight out of the hotel into a bustling, narrow street lined with shops, with the waterfront (and vaporetto stop) a minute's walk away. It could hardly be more central as a base for exploring this magical city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPWSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before. It is a perfect location. It is close to the vaporetto stop and close to St. Marks. We were there in April and the air conditioning was not on. If we opened our windows, we heard street noise. However, this hotel is a great value in Venice and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the back of the hotel in the front where you may experience street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaGirl106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel was perfect, right ner st marks, the staff on reception were very polite and helpfull but... The room was very poor! The air con didnt always work, bath taps were hanging off the wall, bathroom light hanging off the ceiling, shower was cold most mornings, the extracter fan was to noisey to use. Didnt dare try the breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#101 of 385 in Venice
844 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#87 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#94 of 385 in Venice
817 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 385 in Venice
793 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#89 of 385 in Venice
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antigo Trovatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Property: Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Address: Calle delle Rasse 4534, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in Venice
#143 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antigo Trovatore 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antigo Trovatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigo Trovatore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing