We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, comfy room, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Ranked #160 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2010

we stayed in the Trovatore for 4 nights and loved it. The hotel was really easy to find and only a few metres away from the actv vaparetto stop San Zaccharia and the airport stop with Alilaguna stop.
The rooms are really clean and fresh with great air conditioning. the bathrooms are clean and comfortable. the fridge in the room was also a bonus. the street outside and the surrounding streets are lively with a supermarket nearby. the staff were helpful.
the breakfast was continental -coffee, tea hot choc and toast, cereals and breads with jams and honey.
the hotel was only about 2 mins walk from St Marks square which made it a gerat stop for a break then back out into venice.
i would def recommend this hotel. we found the bed the most comfortable we have ever slept in!
a great hotel at a great price!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2010

We have stayed just for a weekend in Venice and had chosed this hotel due to excellent location, walking distance to everywhere (if you like walking ofcourse). Staff was very nice and helpful; room in decent size for few days stay, very clean. Take your own towel if you do not wish use something like kitchen towel (I read it in someone else review and found it veru useful advice). Basic continental breakfast, so do not expect 'full english'. I would recomend this hotel and definitelly come back there.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

This hotel is in the perfect location. We stayed for a few nights. The staff is friendly and they are why I am giving the hotel a good rating.

My complaint: the beds are like sleeping on the floor. Both my husband and I are still suffering their effects a week later. We're both on pain meds with hurt necks and shoulders.

The beds consist of a stiff mattress (and I mean stiff) on a frame. No box-spring. The pillows are about 2 inches thick. Strolling through Venice would have been a lot more enjoyable had I been able to turn my neck.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_Caper73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I spent four nights at the Antigo Trovatore and it was a really nice surprise: obviously the location is excellent but the rooms are nice, clean and quiet for a very reasonnable price. The breakfast was basic but good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frenchie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

I stayed here for five nights with my wife and will recommend to everyone. Very clean and cosy rooms, furnished with style. Good breakfast. The staff is helpfull and nice. But the best of all is location - few steps from San Marco square , close to main vaporetto(public transport) station and on walking distance to all the main attractions and historic sites. Excellent place to stay in Venice!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anfield_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed here with my partner and inlaws for 2 nights in August. We had read so much about how expensive Venice is, so when we got an incredibly good deal in this hotel, our expectations were very low. But we were pleasantly surprised. A little tricky to find at first, because it was our first time in Venice, but very central, just by Piazza San Marco. The joy of walking in through the airconditioned entrance! The hotel is clean, roomy and basic, and so was our room. No frills, but good standard, with the very important aircondition.
There is an enclosed terrace, where we sat in the evening, enjoying wine we had bought on tap during the day. (Not very classy buying it in PET bottles haha, but very tasty and cheap.)
The breakfast was basic, verging on poor.
I would definitely stay here again if I got the same sort of deal- we paid 85 euro a night for a double room, breakfast included!

I have to add that Venice itself was a positive surprise, I had heard so much about it being expensive, smelly and crammed with tourists. There was no smell at all. Transport is expensive, but buy a travelpass for the boats first thing when you arrive, it makes it easier. (We had 1 1/2 days free travel left on our passes when we were leaving, so we gave them to an arriving couple.) Anyway- you can walk most places, Venice is small, and this is the best way to experience it. There are free maps in the trainstation tourist office- very useful! Don't miss taking the boat over to the island Lido, where there is a long sandy public beach. The water is ment to be dirty, but I don't know how true that is.

Venice is full of tourists, but if you just choose the sidestreets it is surprisingly quiet. Food and drink in restaurants is expensive and not great- but the small supermarkets and wine shops are good and cheap! We asked in the hotel for our nearest supermarket, and we bought our water and snacks there cheaply. For lunch we bought something in a bakery, and had it sitting on secluded piers by the canals, feeding the fish. Very romantic, and really lovely. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EndlessAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

A fantastic hotel - we stayed for four nights in a beautiful big room with views of the Doge's Palace and San Marco, for 140 Euros per night. The staff were generally very friendly (just make sure you're not late to breakfast!) and the hotel was clean and well-kept. It is on a small but busy street right by St Mark's - but when you get inside, it's very quiet and calm. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#156 of 387 in Venice
576 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#266 of 387 in Venice
468 reviews
Hotel Vecellio
#179 of 387 in Venice
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 387 in Venice
464 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo
Hotel San Gallo
#113 of 387 in Venice
737 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#174 of 387 in Venice
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antigo Trovatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antigo Trovatore

Address: Calle delle Rasse 4534, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £73 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antigo Trovatore 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A familiar and confortable enviroment embraces the guests at the ANTIGO TROVATORE Hotel. Located at less one hundred meters from the splendid ST. Mark’s Square, in the heart of Venice, the hotel is easily reached from the Riva degli Schiavoni where there are a number of boat stops for the city water transportation system and where our street, Calle delle Rasse, opens out into. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Antigo Trovatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigo Trovatore Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing