We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate facilities and well located for exploring”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of All'Angelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
All'Angelo Hotel
Ranked #235 of 386 Hotels in Venice
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Adequate facilities and well located for exploring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights before joining a cruise. The room (203) was massive and the bed very comfortable. The desk and waiting staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was more than sufficient in preparing us for the trek that awaited each day.
It is difficult to find and we were sent in different directions by our water taxi driver and a couple of shop assistants.
To be clear - enter St Marks Square from the waterfront and head for the far right hand corner of the square. Walk down the tight street about 100 yards and turn left along a small alley, the hotel is on the left and the sign is not obvious.

Room Tip: Hard to tip with this hotel as I couldn't actually work out what the shape of the building was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSEASANDANDXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservation Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

it is a pleasure to hear you spent good time with us.
Your suggestions on directions are perfect!
For future clients: please take note that there is the Hotel sign in the little street above the entrance and also on the wall facing "Calle Larga San Marco" there is the gold sign Hotel All'Angelo. It might help you!

thansk and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    276
    191
    92
    91
See reviews for
167
412
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I arrived at the All Angelo full of expectations of a romantic 3 days in a truly amazing city. Sadly our expectations were crushed with one glimpse of our truly awful hotel room. Having travelled extensively through Europe, we have both stayed in our fair share of not-so-wonderful rooms, but this one easily takes the prize for the worst. The room was large (surprisingly so by European standards), however, there was a total mis-use of the space. For example, a bathroom the size of a football pitch, had only a tiny shower/bath with barely enough room to turn around in. On top of this, there were numerous problems with Room #505:

1. almost every tile in the bathroom was cracked with mould showing through some of them (I wanted to wear my flip flops in the shower out of fear of contracting a ghastly foot disease);
2. the shower head was positioned in such a strange location within the shower that it was impossible not to spray water all over the floor when showering, such that the floor (with no drain in it) became like a small ocean by the time we had finished showering;
3. the bed was solid as a rock with 2 thin as paper "pillows" provided;
4. the television was as big as my mini laptop screen;
5. some kind of black ooze came out of the bide tap when turned on;
6. the bed somehow sloped forward towards the bed-head so that I constantly felt like the blood was rushing to my head;
7. the walls were paper thin such that we were woken at 5am by our neighbours having an argument.

On top of this, the provided breakfast was poor (at best) - a very under-whelming selection of cardboard pastries with some cereals.

Trust me - do yourself a favour and scout out a much nicer hotel a little further away from Piazza San Marco, which I suspect is the only justification for the relatively exorbitant price charged by the All Angelo. Or splurge a little and stay somewhere well renowned such as the Westin on the Grand Canal. The only thing stopping me giving this hotel one star is the excellent concierge, who was always helpful and friendly when approached.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolabodor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All_Angelo, Reservation Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

quoting us as a Hostel seems to be extreme.
Rooms built in ancient Venice Palaces have all different size and caracteristics. In your case the room we have assigned was one of the biggest and more confortable rooms of the Hotel.

Honestly it is the first time that one of our guest complaint about this room that on the contrary it is much appreciated also for the venetian furniture and the particular view of the canal & venetian rooves.

As far as Breakfast, our staff is always at full disposal to meet the needs of our guests. The choice of food is always appreciated as well as the courtesy of our staff.

We hope you will come again in Venice and give our Hotel another chance to change your mind.

thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I spent a very pleasant week in Venice. Spring is a wonderful time as the weather is not that hot. I find amusing when reading complaints about the humidity and dampness…. the city is built on water, what used to be a swamp.

The Hotel All'Angelo is physically an old building, the large wooden beams exposed, the staircase fascinating. This is a walk back in time; it is not a modern location. It is humid, the air conditioning was not on, the windows in our very spacious suite were opened and we did have the occasional mosquitos but that is the way people used to live up to 30 years ago so we felt connected to the historical city.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The view in the lobby fantastic with their large doors opened to the canal and the ‘barbershop’ poles. That alone sold me on the hotel.

The room itself was a surprise, opening the door we were confronted by a staircase of 7 steps to climb. We had to leave the key in a slot in the wall for the electricity to work (same as in other cities and hotels). And the room turned out to be a suite, very spacious, with a large bathroom, a living room, a large bedroom with extra bed (used for the suitcases for us), and a walk-in closet and change room.

The hotel is very well located, its breakfast very well appointed. There are many restaurants around; a block away is a very animated neighbourhood, 2 blocks away, the Piazza San Marco and its palaces and night time dancing to the orchestras of the many restaurants in the Piazza.

A pleasant walk to the Rialto bridge and dinner under the stars at one of the restaurants with patio by the canal is a must do. The seafood is fabulous.

The streets of Venice are clean and safe; the gondola tours honest, the old city very romantic.

The hotel was a great choice for us. The location of the hotel allowed us the freedom of movement. We went to the Piazza at the crack of dawn before the crowds of tourists to take pictures and watch the use of corn brooms by the street sweepers. We walked and visited a murano glass factory. We took the boat to the island of Burano for an afternoon visit.

This hotel allowed us to live Venice, and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeABigPizzaPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservation Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

you hit it on the nail!
That's what we want to transmit to our guests: the tradition of beeing in the heart of unique Venice but in a 4 star Hotels with very good service, spacious rooms and friendly welcome & assistance.

We really wait for your next vacation in Venice with us.
thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This place is two minutes from St Marks square, bedrooms are clean and the breakfast good. The bad news for us - our room overlooked San Marco so you will not get to sleep until the restaurants opposite and below have packed up - around 00.30. It was very warm when we were in Venice and the air con was not on so we had to have the window open - result we were bitten to death. Location cannot be faulted but avoid rooms overlooking San Marco and make sure the air con is working. We went with a BA holiday package and had a 'standard room' - if you are going to stay at this hotel I would recommend paying for a better room. A number of other reviewers have commented on the four star status of this hotel...I agree with them two stars at the most.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JERIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservation Manager at All'Angelo Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Sirs,

we are in the heart of Venice, just behind San Marco, surrounded by Restaurants and shops so in a very crowded area that anyway is not so caothic compared to other Italian cities. The only noise you can hear is people talking in the streets or restaurants, maybe some gondolas passing through the nearby canals but it's typical of such a unique city....and we don't think it is worst than the car traffic....

We apologize for the air conditioning, maybe as the heating system was just turned into the summer season for the air con in that period, there might have been some problems that have been sooner solved.

We are still proud of the quality of our Hotel: 4 stars service, spacious rooms, delicious Breakfast with home made pastries and cakes, helpful and friendly staff always at disposal.

We wait for your next coming to Venice, you'll change your opinion about us.

thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Venice is not a very accessible city. We travelled with our child and a toddler (with a stroller) so location was our priority. We did not want to have to walk up and down bridges with the stroller but still experience Venice. This hotel was perfect. Aside from being a 2 minute walk to St. Mark's and 5 minutes to a vaporetto (water bus) stop, we have discovered an amazing thing! We walked all the way to the Rialto bridge with only one set of stairs (except for the Rialto itself)! It was wonderful that we can stroll the streets of Venice that way. This hotel's location is perfect for anyone looking for accessibility.
It was amazing how it was dead quiet at night (which gave us good sleep) but if you go out and walk 2 minutes to St. Mark's, the city is very much awake.
We stayed in the enormous family suite. Separate living area with its own balcony and a few set of steps to the bedroom. And it had 1 + 1/2 bathrooms! The suite was large but the floors squeak a lot but we did not mind- part of Venice' old world charm. The sofa bed was not comfortable at all but good thing there was a large couch for my son.
We would definitely stay here again, in the same suite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I found this hotel to be over priced for what we got and definitely not a 4 star standard hotel, the rooms are meant to be air conditioned however the air condition unit in our room did not give out much cold air, in fact it made no difference at all when it was switched on, also it was very noisy, as it was so hot in the room we had to have the window open constantly and as a consequence we got bitten all over by mosquitoes. The room we were given was shabby, miss matched dated furniture, the bed was not a double and in fact 2 singles pushed together, the bathroom was clean but shabby, there were holes in the tiles which had been filled in with just plaster which looked a mess. The breakfast was very nice and the HK wine bar is lovely and relaxed with reasonable prices however dont think i will be staying here again becasue of the state of our room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EIriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

we (3 women) stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour, we had 2 single beds and a pull out ottoman. which was very uncomfortable.The location however, can not be beat.
As shabby as our room was we overlooked the canal, which was awesome. Another bonus was FREE WIFI in the lobby only, but hey, it was FREE, which is not common in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamazon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#198 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#172 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#120 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#116 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#267 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to All'Angelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All'Angelo Hotel

Property: All'Angelo Hotel
Address: Sestiere San Marco 403, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — All'Angelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your All'Angelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Angelo Hotel Venice
Angelo
Albergo All Angelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing