We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent time had at the lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Corte Contarina
Ranked #289 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent time had at the lovely hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had an excellent stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpful, breakfast was great, room was huge, shower was a little on the small side but very hot and powerful, room was cleaned every day. The location was excellent, just of the Via Garibaldi, around the back of the co-op supermarket. Easy to find from the waterbus stop, only two bridges to negotiate! Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and a ten minute walk to St Marks. We walked around the winding lanes in this area and found a beautiful park where all the locals go, it was nice to get away from the madness of St Marks and find a peaceful place to sit and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: We had Room 202, great sized room, small shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    96
    65
    19
    39
See reviews for
61
127
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was a very nice hotel very clean nice rooms good breakfast and very near St marks sq.
Would stay here again.all the staff were very help full.The hotel is in a great location away from all the crowds nice restaurant near by

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidE5265NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spitalfields
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This is a small hotel near the Arsenale just off Via Garibaldi. The area is about 10 minutes walk to St Mark's and the main benefit is that the area isn't too "touristy" and there are plenty of reasonably priced restaurants near by. The best way to get to St Mark's is to wander through the back alleys to get a feel of real Venice. Whilst there wasn't a view from our hotel room, the room was fairly large with a firm but comfortable bed and the room was quiet!. The decor was typical Italian with orange wall paper, curtains and bed covers. The bathroom was a decent size with plenty of clean white towels. The only slight problem was that the holder for the shower head was broken which meant you had to balance it carefully in case it fell off. The breakfast was good with a choice of cereals, yoghurt, cheese, salami and croissants. We found all the staff we met to be friendly and helpful. You may notice that some of the reviews are not so good. I believe this to be because the hotel seems to have an annex room outside of the main building. My recommendation would be to check that you have a room in the main hotel. We did and we received confirmation that this was the case. Our view is that this is a great little hotel and we would definitely stay there again when we next visit Venice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Crabsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was the lowest price hotel offered by Easyjet in one of their flight+hotel deals. It was a great choice for us. The location, near the Arsenale, is ideal - 10 minutes walk - or a vaporetto - to St Marks. The area is real Venice, not just touristy like the St Mark's area, and with reasonable local restaurants and a nice feel. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Only snag for us was being on the 4th floor with no lift ... but the room was fine, plenty of fluffy white towels, good shower, comfortable bed. Quite small. Breakfasts were the best we've had in a hotel in Venice - yoghourt, cheese, salami, bread, filled croissants ... and good coffee - no probs if you wanted more. A perfect start to the day.

Room Tip: If you're not fit, try to avoid the 4th floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is in a wonderful area,especially if you want to experience more of an authentic feel of Venice than the commercial same old same old,the locals chat and visit down rio Guiseppe Garibaldi, while children run around and play,the walk to the hotel from the water busstop was picturesque,walking through a park, and diagonally across is where one enters the little alley(but to them a street) going to the hotel.The hotel staff are friendly and ready to give advice about the area,the hotel lobby had low but beautiful ceilings,the stairs were a little narrow because of a chair lift but it was easy enough to climb,we asked for a superior double room as it advertised a balcony,well the room itself was of a reasonable size,but there is no private balcony,there are four to six rooms that all come out into a quaint lounge area that has the balcony,the furnishings were mostly antiques,but the upholstery in the room could have done with a good clean,though in the lounge it looked fine,also as much as it was lovely to actually have a window in the bathroom the toilet was huge and high,but had a modern seat on it which of course does not fit well,though the rest of the bathroom was lovely all in marble,I'm sure a few years back this hotel must have been most stately,but it really needs some tender touch ups.The breakfast area was clean and neat but small, the one corner was full of delivery boxes which had to be moved around to accommodate another couple of guests that arrived for breakfast,the breakfast itself was reasonable,though the coffee could be worked on.I have to admit to be able to stay in Venice for a reasonable amount one has to give in to certain things,so I describe it as we experienced it but hope it doesn't sound too much like a complaint.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shirley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

just got back from a wet weekend in Venice,
but what a great time we had,wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews about this hotel,arrived at 4.30 pm and it was dark,got of boat and it was about a 2 min walk well signed posted, was down a narrow but well light alley,was greeted by a friendly man on reception who showed us to our room on the third floor.not for the faint hearted or elderly as the stairs were very steep, he showed us into our room and wow it was worth the hike .DONT expect a travel lodge or premiere inn, what we got was a large room with on suite bathroom with stunning open beams,yes the bathroom was small, but the shower was lovely ant hot and very powerful,the room was a bit tired,but your in Venice in a 400 year old building we loved it.the bed was comfy and it was lovely and quiet,breakfast was continental and very nice, in essence this was like a b&b in Blackpool, friendly homely ,and intimate,we paid £29 per nigh and was worth every penny would definitely go back,nice part of Venice and shops and restaurants are a third of the price than the main drag,we went with easy jet,10/10 all round

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Corte Contarina for three nights for a weekend stay. No major problems with this hotel - there were a few things which could have been better such as shower was quite small and had to move in certain ways to avoid hitting your elbows on sides! The hotel seemed slightly dated and in need of some decor updates. Some of the rooms seemed in strange locations - for example three rooms lead directly off of the breakfast room, I did not stay in one of these so do not know if it would have been an issue. But apart from those few things (which really didn't affect my stay too much) it was fine.

Our room was on the first floor and was decorated in blues and golds, and felt Venetian to me - I loved it! There's a tv with Italian channels so didn't use that, a minibar and shampoos and soaps left in bathroom. The staff were all very friendly who we encountered, asking how our day was and giving us advice when we needed it.

Breakfast was what I have usually found in small European hotels - two choices of cereal, yoghurt, croissants, bread, cheese and ham. Juice and hot drinks. Fine for me.

The location of the hotel is great as only a 10-15 minute walk to the main St Marks square. And the walk is pleasant! The hotel is down an alley but so are most places in venice! The main road (via garibaldi) that it is on was very quiet at night time which was a bit strange but I never felt unsafe. If you follow the directions on the hotel website when arriving you will find the hotel easily. It is a 2 min walk from the Arsenale boat stop. From the Airport we got the aliguana boat (blu line) which took about an hour and ten mins and takes you to Arsenale.

Venice itself is beautiful, we walked across most of the island in one day. We were very happy staying at Corte Contarina!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#237 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel La Forcola
Hotel La Forcola
#249 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#272 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#347 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Malibran
Hotel Malibran
#221 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#254 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corte Contarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corte Contarina

Property: Hotel Corte Contarina
Address: Calle Contarini Castello 1931, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corte Contarina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Corte Contarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Contarina Venice
Corte Contarina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing