We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
Ranked #342 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Ternopil, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

For this price we got Venetian style room with small tv but separate bathroom and climat. Nice furniture and acceptable Italian breakfast.
We enjoyed our staying a lot. Location is perfect and old lady on reception was friendly :)

Room Tip: We love room 20. Breakfast table next to the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proof_ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    134
    85
    47
    36
See reviews for
51
210
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

the room measured 12 foot by 12 foot in this space they crammed a double bed a wardrobe a dressing table a cot bedside table and a stool. the wardrobe had to go sideways over the window, making it impossible to look out of it/open it. or in our case close it, the baby cot was across the door to the room and meant we could not open the door fully to get in or out of the room, which was definitely a fire risk. but as the staff kindly pointed out to us, it is regatta weekend there is nothing else
at best I would describe this hotel room as a small single, actually I would describe this hotel as a hostel
because of this hotel, I think maybe trip adviser should have a category to enable the hotels to provide the room dimensions.

Room Tip: don't stay here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scaniaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Proprietario at Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
See answer to the review made ​​on September 1st entitled "Poor value for money for a Hotel"
Thank you for giving us 2 negative reviews for the same stay of mother, daughter and baby.Fortunately for us, the child is too young to write!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

You would pay 30 pound a night for the equivalent hotel in blackpool.not £133 pound a night I paid here for each night for a room measuring 3 mx3m with 1 usable plug point no window that opened.no coffee tea making facilities, no phone, and ants running around the ripped bedding.we requested a cot, and on arrival we were charged another 20 euros a night for this.the room was so small we had to climb over the cot to get in and out of the room.please do not book this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tug324w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Proprietario at Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Lady, you booked a 1-star hotel and, as we told you on arrival ,hotel rooms are small and you can 't add the cot because you can't move inside the room and open the window. The rooms with private bathroom are maximum for 2 people, and anybody informed us you were coming with a baby.For this reason, we offered you a larger and comfortable room with all comforts ,cot and breakfast at Residenza San Maurizio 3 *(second floor) for a small cost more, but you would not. That's why you could not move around the room.
It is not written anywhere that we offer coffee machine in Hotel 1* rooms.
Thanks anyway for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the Hotel San Maurizio, in a room with private bathroom. It was an excellent experience. The room was small, but very lovely. It was very close to the city center (just three minutes far from San Marco square) and the staff was very kind. It was also very clean. Although, our room was without view and without mini bar – fridge. In addition, the building offered two types of room, larger or smaller, so there were the smaller rooms at the first floor (hotel), and at the second floor the larger rooms (residence). Generaly speaking, Venice is one of the most beautiful cities in Italy and we recommend it to other visitors. It is a small “town”, a complex of small islands with civilization and culture. Perhaps, you must dedicate four days to enjoy it. The connection with the airport is not so difficult, you must take a boat or bus. Fortunately, our hotel was so close to the stop of this boat, so we did not have any problem to catch the boat early. We were on time at the stop. The distance was just only some meters. We hope that our experience will help other visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diamonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had just two days in Venice so location was key. With hindsight we could have stayed anywhere on the island as it was so small we walked around the whole place both days anyway. But Hotel Maurizio was definitely in a good location - just 5 minutes from San Marco. The room was fine with three shared bathrooms for the floor which were all spotlessly clean. We overlooked a street which was sometimes noisy with tourists but nothing ear plugs couldn't fix. It was quite hot but there was a ceiling fan which provided a little relief and the room had a mosquito plug which I think helped minimise bites. The staff were really friendly, spoke English and gave us a map to highlight the key sites. We paid an extra 10 euros for breakfast which was a buffet of meat, cheese, bread, pastries etc. not bad. All accommodation in Venice seems really expensive, especially in the height of summer, but comparatively i think we did ok for our budget choosing Hotel Maurizio. I would definitely recommend it, it met all our basic requirements for our trip and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was a lovely hotel that was great value for money in a city that can be quite expensive for accomodation. The hotel is a short walk away from the main attractions but was set off the main street so was nice and quiet. The room was lovely and clean and authentically decorated. It was small but perfect for our needs and it had great air conditioning which was lovely to come back to after a tiring day in the heat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants value for money, a great location and comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The location was absolutely perfect, minutes away from St Mark's square. I recommend not arriving late at night like we did, because it's extraordinarily difficult to get to as public transport doesn't run very often and you can't just hop in a cab. The room itself was clean and nice but absolutely tiny, all bed and not much floor, but apparently all places in Venice are like that so we weren't expecting much. The air-conditioning and wifi were good, and the reception staff were helpful. The shutters on the windows helped the room to be nice and dark in the mornings, and even in such a bustling location our room was still very quiet so sleep quality was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelsLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#104 of 385 in Venice
475 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#183 of 458 in Venice
38 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Caburlotto
Casa Caburlotto
#130 of 458 in Venice
213 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bauta
Ca' Bauta
#39 of 458 in Venice
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Property: Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
Address: Calle Zaguri San Marco 2624, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walking from St. Mark's Square 'Hotel San Maurizio' offers a dual solution for your stay in Venice. Offering an affordable & practical 1-star hotel with rooms with private bathroom or with shared bathroom, characterized by its low price and hard to surpass quality.The rooms have a private bathroom, are decorated in Venetian style, have queen-sized beds ,can accommodate one or two persons and offer hair-dryer,air conditioning/heating, Free toiletries. The exposed beams and parquet floor give the rooms a pleasant intimacy.Those with shared bathrooms have, in the harmonious simplicity of Arte Povera decor, space for up to three people with an additional bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Residenza San Maurizio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing