We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
Ranked #374 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for 2nights in September and it was just what we were looking for- located close to St Marks square off one of the main routes, very clean and friendly staff, quiet at night, nicely decorated bedrooms, reasonably priced. We stayed on the first floor with a shared bathroom which was opposite our room, clean and nice hot shower. Breakfast isn't provided but there are places selling croissants and other pastries nearby. We struggled to find it at first but to be fair this was probably a lack of research on our part and also most of venice is difficult to navigate! It's a brisk twenty minute walk to the train station using the most direct route or you can get a water taxi (we didn't as we thought they were quite pricey). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM_hayes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

In the heart of Venice, I had a nice room with a bathroom. tidy, clean rooms. However, i was transferred to a suite in the next morning as there was a water dripping from the ceiling....i hope they fixed the problem but luckily i had to stay in a large extra comfy suite Venetian style..it was really beautiful. My total stay was 3 days..Did not have the chance to try their breakfast, other than that the service is great and the rooms are extra clean and tidy. The best thing about this hotel is its excellent location, walking distance from Vaporetto, San Stefano, Academia & San Marco. You can get lost then find your way back :) The reception ladies are so sweet, talkative and helpful...they helped me with maps, directions and all questions i had. It is a good hotel for solo travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivagalapagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Decent hotel with neat bathrooms. Very close to a vaporetto station. The service was good. They helped with the directions and explained how to reach parts of the venice that are less touristy. That was a valuable suggestion. Nothing spectacular but that's how it is with hotels in venice unless you probably go for a 200-300 euro per night hotels, I believe. Internet worked very well. the sink in our room was broken. they kept our baggae while we checked out and roamed around for a bit. Angelo, at the reception, helped us and guided us well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ind_travel_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This was our first hotel in Italy, and fortunately they got better from here! Upon check in, the owner seemed put off and not helpful. We asked about restaurant recommendations, and she just sort of vaguely waved in a direction with a shrug. The room was tiny, loud and generally run down. The sink didn't work, two of three bulbs were burned out and the bed was two broken down twins pushed together. There we're a couple batrooms that were kept clean, tho shared. he support staff at night were so much better than the owner, very helpful and cheerful. The main upside was the good central location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kseflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My sister and I booked a double room for 3 nights. It was very clean and elegantly decorated and although on the small side we had a good size glass shower, bidet, basin and loo. The bed had lovely crisp white sheets and were very comfortable. The room had nice furniture and windows opening onto a small central courtyard which did, however, get a bit noisy up to midnight with people chatting outside . Luckily our room was on the first floor as my sister has problems with stairs and there are no lifts. We didn't use the TV and had trouble working the aircon - which was not quite so important in September. The location was perfect for St Mark's Square and the Grand Canal. The walk from Guilio, the closest Vaporetto stop was short and the hotel very easily located. Good directions on the hotel website. The Continental breakfast was plentiful with a variety of choice. Best of all the staff were very helpful and friendly and did their best to make our stay as easy as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

For this price we got Venetian style room with small tv but separate bathroom and climat. Nice furniture and acceptable Italian breakfast.
We enjoyed our staying a lot. Location is perfect and old lady on reception was friendly :)

Room Tip: We love room 20. Breakfast table next to the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Proof_ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

the room measured 12 foot by 12 foot in this space they crammed a double bed a wardrobe a dressing table a cot bedside table and a stool. the wardrobe had to go sideways over the window, making it impossible to look out of it/open it. or in our case close it, the baby cot was across the door to the room and meant we could not open the door fully to get in or out of the room, which was definitely a fire risk. but as the staff kindly pointed out to us, it is regatta weekend there is nothing else
at best I would describe this hotel room as a small single, actually I would describe this hotel as a hostel
because of this hotel, I think maybe trip adviser should have a category to enable the hotels to provide the room dimensions.

Room Tip: don't stay here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scaniaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Proprietario at Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

See answer to the review made ​​on September 1st entitled "Poor value for money for a Hotel"
Thank you for giving us 2 negative reviews for the same stay of mother, daughter and baby.Fortunately for us, the child is too young to write!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#105 of 387 in Venice
647 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#127 of 387 in Venice
456 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#92 of 387 in Venice
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Adua
Hotel Adua
#167 of 482 in Venice
426 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Caburlotto
Casa Caburlotto
#106 of 482 in Venice
239 reviews
San Polo
B&B Le Repubbliche Marinare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Address: Calle Zaguri San Marco 2624, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £62 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walking from St. Mark's Square 'Hotel San Maurizio' offers a dual solution for your stay in Venice. Offering an affordable & practical 1-star hotel with rooms with private bathroom or with shared bathroom, characterized by its low price and hard to surpass quality.The rooms have a private bathroom, are decorated in Venetian style, have queen-sized beds ,can accommodate one or two persons and offer hair-dryer,air conditioning/heating, Free toiletries. The exposed beams and parquet floor give the rooms a pleasant intimacy.Those with shared bathrooms have, in the harmonious simplicity of Arte Povera decor, space for up to three people with an additional bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Residenza San Maurizio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing