We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lugano Torretta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lugano Torretta
Ranked #262 of 386 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night as we had a late flight into Venice, we got a transfer to the hotel which for 5 of us was about £40 and took no more than 30 minutes. The hotel is right by Mestre station (train to Santa Lucia is 10 minutes) but just make sure when you come out of the hotel you turn right, we went left and ended up on a long walk in a residential area in the dark. The rooms are really modern and clean, we had a triple and double and both were really good. Staff friendly and even the bar wasn't too expensive. The breakfast was ok, not fantastic but good enough for the price of the stay. I love my coffee in the morning and as most have said - the machine coffee was not great, I went for black and added my own milk. The free wifi was fine for our use - which was minimal, although nephew using a lot on his phone. This is not a place to stay if you want views but for convenience of the station and being able to get around Venice it is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mich0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    158
    117
    51
    39
See reviews for
80
181
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Hotel Lugano is clean and very conveniently located to the Mestre train station, which is about a 2-minute walk from the hotel's entrance. From the train station you can easily ride to the center of Venice in about ten minutes. The staff were friendly and helpful. Internet is included in the room rate, but did not always work.

The rooms are very basic and utilitarian. I stayed in a single room that faced the entry to the hotel from the second floor. I made the mistake of cracking my window open in the morning when I left. Upon my return the room reeked of cigarette smoke! People like to sit at the outside tables near the hotel entrance and smoke, so be sure to close your windows to keep the smell from drifting into your room. Please note, that the single rooms are small and if you are very tall or overweight, it may be difficult to use the restroom facilities, as the toilet is extremely close to the bathtub, leaving no room for your knees. (I am 5'7" and had to turn to the side to use the toilet because my knees hit the tub.) Using the tub/shower was somewhat cumbersome and had I been any larger I don't know that I could have done it easily. I noticed other users posted photos of the bathrooms. I urge you to look at their photos!

Breakfast is also included in the rate. The continental breakfast consisted of lots of breads and carb-loaded items such as croissants, muffins, rolls, cereals, scrambled eggs, one type of cheese, two types of deli meats, yogurt, and oranges. That's it. The coffee is from a machine that lets you choose between cafe, cappuccino, cafe lungo all at the push of a button. (Not very good.)There was also a machine that had orange juice and grapefruit juice that was also underwhelming.

My friend, who was staying at the neighboring Hotel Mondial, said that Hotel Lugano is much nicer in terms of its decor and its breakfast offerings. Also, at Hotel Mondial, their internet only works in the lobby and is NOT free. So, if you have to choose between these two hotels, definitely choose Hotel Lugano.

Ideally, I would have liked to have stayed in the center of Venice, but truth be told, it can be rather expensive! Hotel Lugano is a much better price point, offering all the basics that a traveler could need. I most likely would consider staying here again simply because of it's convenience to the Mestre train station and the decent price. Also of note, you can catch the ATVO airport shuttle bus to the VCE airport from the Mestre train station.

There are a couple of good local restaurants within walking distance that are worth looking up. One is a wine bar/restaurant called Dining Room and is a short walk behind the hotel. The other restaurant is called Ristorante Bar Piccolo and it is on the same street at Hotel Lugano, but on the other side of the traffic circle. I did not eat at the hotel's restaurant so can not comment on it other than the breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the front are susceptible to smelling like cigarette smoke if you leave th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iSkylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Hotel is very modern and recently been renovated or built to a very good standard, evening ,meal that we had was set menu and was disappointing, although others had non set meal the next night and really enjoyed it.bathroom was lovely and I really enjoyed breakfast , with the best fresh kiwi fruit I have ever tasted.location of hotel is short train or bus journey into Venice, watch out for pickpockets at station close by, and would to advise travelling at night from this station .

Room Tip: All rooms are good to best of my knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdcharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

My son and I loved this hotel. It was in a lovely location. The reception staff and all we came in contact with were awesome. The room was spacious and the bathroom was outstanding. A extremely clean place. The hotel is on a major bus route which ran into Venice at least every 10 mins or so. So convenient to get to from the train station, where the bus from the airport dropped us off at. The breakfast was one of the best I have seen laid out each morning. We looked forward to our breakfast. The lobby of this hotel is wonderful, and before and after check out we were able to leave our bags there, which seemed to extend our lovely time there in Italy. I would highly recommend this lovely and awesome place to stay.

Room Tip: I believe you will get a awesome room, which ever room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LusciousdoubleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Easy to find from V. Mestre station. Reception was somewhat unfriendly. Receptionist "did not know" about room availability and had to call manager who was not thrilled (disturbed at lunch?). Got a very small room for the price but this is Venice, I guess. Small balcony. Wifi worked well. Modern bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jule-Anna-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

the hotel is a old looking stile i was traveling by my self and they gave me a very small room very old fashion decor the bathroom was renew but the space was very limited and the smell was very bad like humidity.the breakfast was decent but not like others hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We`ve been here 2 years ago, in april 2011, and we really enjoyed our stay. Even if they were renovating outside, inside was a nice atmosphere. The room was big and clean, the colors of the walls and the furmiture were of good taste. The Bathroom clean and spacious! We enjoyed the breackfast and the dinner also.
It`s close to the railway station and from there it wil, take you 10 minutes by bus to get to Venice!

Good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IuliaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
1.1 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#195 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#245 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Russott Hotel
Russott Hotel
#336 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lugano Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lugano Torretta

Property: Hotel Lugano Torretta
Address: Via Giorgio Rizzardi 11, 30175 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lugano Torretta 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lugano Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Torretta Venice
Lugano Torretta Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing