We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lugano Torretta
Ranked #257 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Like some other reviewers we were moved here due to an electrical issue at the hotel we were meant to be in...beginning to wonder whether they just put everyone on a prepaid voucher here when the other place gets full ...seems a bit weird!!!

Anyway...the hotel is ok...our room was nice but a bit old fashioned....the bed cover was like an old mustard coloured curtain, not great. The bathroom was ok except badly laid out so you could barely have room to sit on the toilet! The staff were nice enough and helpful. The was no atmosphere in the hotel eg we barely ever saw any other guests, was very quiet. The area itself was pretty grotty and your only reason for staying here would be convenience for getting to Venice. In that regard it was quite good...easy to get to Venice on the bus but a pain to get back as the bus doesn't stop where you expect so there is a bit of a walk through the not so nice area. The train station is extremely close...just across the road and under the subway so it was very convenient for that.

I still think there was something fishy about being moved here from the other hotel (Ambasciatori) as another couple on a prepaid voucher were being turned away in fron of us, and the receptionist said straight away to us as soon as she saw our voucher that the air conditioning in our room was broken so we had to move...she hadn't even checked what room we were meant to be in!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    165
    121
    52
    41
See reviews for
83
191
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were supposed to stay in a different (probably cheaper) hotel but it had no electricity so we got moved here. As we were doing a budget holiday, it was the nicest place we stayed in, big rooms, nice big shower. Great location, 2 min walk to the train which is then about 15 mins into Venice. Depending no the price, I would recommend this place (we had paid €70/night). If you have more of a budget, you would be better off staying in Venice rather than Mestre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not a business type, like the chains but a normal one. Meager breakfast and very meager dinner menu.

It is very easy by bus to go from here to Venice island and come back. Take bus number 6 from the front of the hotel. Suggest to have dinner at some restaurants in Venice than the hotel.

Rooms are comfortable and have free wifi. Can be used by tourists who wants to visit Venice and also business men to marghero port.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Companytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Venice was our first stop in Europe, we were located in Lugano hotel, witch is really near buy not in Venice.

We took a bus and we were in like 15 minutes in Santa Lucía, not Venice yet

It wasn't bad but neither excellent, just average

The room is small not very small, but not big, the shower really inconfortable, all the water finished out.

The breakfast really poor and the service awful

When I return ti Venice I'm not going to stay at the Lugano

Again I'm not saying it's a Bad hotel it's just I don't liked very much,

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlexis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is five minutes walk from the train station and 15 minutes bus ride to Venice. The room was very clean, large with a comfortable bed and a wonderful walk in shower. Although the room had a small balcony the view was of other buildings and a garden that seemed to be under construction. Air con worked well and reception staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice and all very fresh. Bar prices good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new bit as they are all the same and very modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wonderful hotel located just 10 minutes by bus (no. 6) to the city of Venice.
Clean and modern with parking if necessary (€10 per day).
We didn't eat there for dinner but breakfast was adequate.
Would recommend for convenience and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I was at the Lugano Torretta for 2 days, now in 6 and 7 of May / 2014, traveling with my wife to Venice. The hotel has a lot of potential. The hotel operates in two different buildings which were unified to work as a single hotel. One of these buildings is older, and the other is newer. I stayed at the newer building. The room was recently restored and all the furniture was new, and the bathroom was restored, looking as really a 4 stars hotel. The location is very good for people going to Venice. The train station is very close and there is also a bus which goes directly to the main bus station in Venice. Nevertheless, despite its potential, it remains with some attitudes which are incompatible with a 4 stars hotel. We arrived by 15:00 in the afternoon, and the cleaning staff was doing their job. The whole floor was a mess, and all the rooms where open at the same time for cleaning. It was possible to see other guests luggage in their rooms with the open doors, and the feeling of unsafeness got me worried. It was a little bit hot (28 degrees Celsius), and we were tired from a long flight. The air conditioning was not working, and I accessed the front desk to ask for help. They told me that in this period of the year they turn off air conditioning, to save energy. I argued with the officer that nevertheless it was hot, and we were not feeling comfortable. He told me that "for absolutely no reason they will turn on the air conditioning in this time of the year". If I wanted to cool down the room I should open the window. I warned him that I will notice that in TripAdvisor, and he laughed and told me I should do as I want. So there it is. Summing up everything, though, the hotel is an interesting option, and it clearly has the potential to be a 4 stars. They should invest in better training their staff and listening a little bit more the guests complaints ... and they might reach there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the newer part of the building, which was restored and is quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
1.8 mi away
Russott Hotel
Russott Hotel
#333 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#196 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#240 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lugano Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lugano Torretta

Property: Hotel Lugano Torretta
Address: Via Giorgio Rizzardi 11, 30175 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#99 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lugano Torretta 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lugano Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Torretta Venice
Lugano Torretta Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing