We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good location and spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Ca' San Marco
Ranked #225 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed there for the 2012-13 new year's celebrations and I have to say that apart from the price (which I think was the maximum that the hotel can ask) the place was really really good. The room was clean and it was cleaned every day. Breakfast was average (for a Turkish person every breakfast in Europe is not really enough!). The location was the best. You are practically close to everywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Hakan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

Location - five minutes on foot from either Rialto or Piazza San Marco - is fantastic, especially at this price. Staff is very, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Rooms are on the second floor, with no elevator, so be prepared to carry your stuff up one flight. There are only six rooms, and I found it to be quiet and restful. Hard to find the first time - it truly is down an alley! I would stay here again and would recommend it to those who rate value and comfort above luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in room #2 at RESIDENZA CA' SAN MARCO. We were able to walk right to the hotel directly from the Rialto vaporetti stop in five minutes. Use the direction and photos here at Trip Advisor made is easy. The hotel is in a great location between the Rialto bridge and St Marks square. They are friendly and the rooms are clean but the walls seems a little thin. Free wifi. The breakfast was American-style coffee, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, breads, a warm croissant, and orange juice. They give you an electronic key for the building front door and a room key.
NOTE: Save money and buy the multi-day vaporetti pass. It was also no problem to bring luggage/backpacks onto the vaporetti during Oct/Nov. The bus from the train station to the airport is only 6 euros too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racer_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Close to Rialto bridge but a little difficult to find. Rooms are actually in a different location than registration desk. NO elevator. Room was very large for three people. Plenty of room to move around. FREE wifi. No problems with hot water. Quaint breakfast area. Breakfast buffet nice, but no hot food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcd514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Did not get to stay at the residence proper but was given a studio room at the end of the residence street. Was great as it comes with living and kitchen area like a service apartment. What best is the room window faces the canal. bathroom a bit small though. Good service from the reception. Staff always ready to help. would def stay there again if it the same room again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasontanhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed one night in early November
It was difficult to find despite having the address and the frontage is just a door with a small sign beside it.
Directions. Leave water bus at Rialto. Walk away from the bridge with Rialto Hotel on your left, carry along the front of Rialto hotel until you have to turn left at the end of the bus stops.
Follow this street of shops, go straight across the first square and carry on until you come to a shop called Paul and Shark on the corner to your right.
Turn right. Walk to end where there is a small shrine type recess to your right and the street goes left. Walk along until you get to the Foot Locker shop on your left and opposite this is a very narrow alley about 3 ft (1 metre) wide.
Turn right into the alley, round the left and right bends and the door to the hotel is about 25 yards (metres) along on your right. If you reach the canal you've gone too far.

However once there we went in to a small but beautifully decorated lobby.

As we had booked a superior room we were allocated the private apartment just up from the hotel.
This self contained unit had a double bedroom, lounge / kitchen and bathroom. The lounge has patio doors opening to a small balcony overlooking a canal and bridge. The bedroom window also looks out onto the canal and bridge. Very nice.

For breakfast we went to the main hotel for a well stocked buffet.
Check out is by 11am but you can leave your bags in a room off the 24hr reception lobby in the hotel until you need to leave the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My friend and I stayed in Residenza Le Campana on 24th Oct 2012 and booked through booking.com. The hotel is a perfect base for seeing Venice and such good value. It’s a little bit tricky to find at first, but it really is in a good location! In our case, we flew to Treviso airport, got a bus into Tronchetto and then walked up alongside the water to a waterbus (vaparetto). Note: it was dark at the time, and the ticket office was shut! But we realised that we could buy tickets from the café nearby. It’s advisable to get a 12hr or 24hr ticket for the waterbuses, because you can travel unlimited during that time for 18 Euro or 20 Euro respectively. Otherwise, a single ticket (any distance) is 7 Euro!!

The hotel had provided us with directions over e-mail beforehand, which were very helpful. When we got to Rialto bridge, we followed directions to St Mark’s Square. On the way there, you pass the infamous “Footlocker” store and the directions said to turn left…but the hotel is actually down the tiny alleyway opposite the store, not next to it. It’s only about 20 metres down that alley.

Our room was great. It was decorated in the traditional Venetian style, as others have said here, with fabric on the walls. We were staying in the main hotel, but I understand that sometimes they put guests in a nearby hotel. The bathroom was good too, shower worked well and we had everything we needed. Breakfast the next morning was served at the end of the hallway in a small area, with plenty of cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, yoghurt and meat / cheese.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful. When we arrived, the receptionist produced a map and showed us the main sights to see, where to catch the waterbuses and how to get to Santa Lucia train station the next day. We were able to leave our bags the following morning while we went to see the sights, and when we got back, we were able to use a bathroom as well. A note about the sights: if you’re a student, take proof of ID to get into places at a discount price. If you’re an art student, you can get into many of the museums for free!

The hotel is basically positioned between Rialto bridge and St Mark’s Square, and you couldn’t wish for a better location in Venice. There’s plenty of places to eat around there as well. Really good value, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh_Lal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
858 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#112 of 385 in Venice
1,155 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#285 of 385 in Venice
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#124 of 385 in Venice
798 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#152 of 385 in Venice
569 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#250 of 385 in Venice
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Ca' San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ca' San Marco

Address: Sestiere San Marco 4868/A | Calle delle Balote, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £36 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Ca' San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Ca' San Marco is a cozy inn created from the interiors of what, at the times of the Serenissima Republic, was the ancient monastery of San Salvador. The building, completely renovated, is made up of six spacious rooms, elegantly furnished in Venetian style with extreme care in the finest detail. Staying at Residenza Ca' San Marco you can still feel the charm of the real Venice, far from the tourist and mostly visited courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Residenza Ca' San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ca` San Marco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing