We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ca' del Campo Hotel
Ranked #122 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a lovely little hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is a short walk from the Piazza San Marco. Do not follow the map on the hotel website. Its quite useless. Instead just take the lane next to the clock tower at the Piazza. The Vaporetto will drop you to the San Marco stop. Just walk straight to the Piazza and walk past the Basilica on the right of you and take a small right and look up to the clock tower. Take the immediate left. Its very simple actually. We found the hotel conveniently located and could walk either to Riaalto on the right of take a left and walk to Piazza San Marco. All the restaurants and bars are in and around. The rooms are cosy and reasonably modern. Its a small and intimate hotel and the staff are generally very friendly. There was a slightly elderly gentleman at the front desk who was extremely kind and helpful. Thank you sir. The hotel organizes a water taxi to Murano. They will call the glass factory to send a boat. Once there, you have to make your way back via the public Vaporetto. This was a lovely touch. We did buy some lovely stuff from Murano. If you have time, visiting Burano is not a bad idea.
The breakfast was a bit of a let down. Especially the coffee. I would suggest that the management place a coffee machine on self service. Eitherways breakfast is not a meal period for the Italians and I guess this is not really an issue.
Overall a very nice hotel with and excellent location. Good quality rooms with very friendly personnel. Will recommend to everybody!

Thank you folks.

Tushna and Shanker

Room Tip: Take the rooms with a view of the waterways...nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of your comment written on Tripadvisor we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel and we wish to thank you for saying that you will recommend us to everybody.
Thank you also for suggesting us to place a coffee machine at self service which we have taken in consideration.
Thank you again and kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    219
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
79
299
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I spent four nights at this hotel in August 2013, visiting Venice with a friend.
The hotel is only a few minutes’ walk from St Mark’s Square, ideally located for exploring Venice. The hotel’s website has a very useful map, showing the position of the hotel and all the surrounding points of interest. We still had difficulty finding the hotel from the water taxi drop-off at San Marco – the Venice streets are much narrower than we expected from looking at the map!

The hotel rooms are spread over four floors of an old, fairly narrow building. We were really pleased with ours, which consisted of two separate rooms (one double and one single) plus a bathroom. The rooms were air-conditioned, and we had a room safe (free) and flat-screen TV. Although the furniture was traditional it all felt quite new, and was cleaned very well every day with fresh towels.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast was continental with no cooked food, just cereals, breads, yogurt, cheese etc. with a choice of fruit juices, tea and coffee. The hotel did not offer other meals, but there was a great choice of cafes and restaurants in the immediate area.

There were two reception desks in the hotel, on the first and fourth floors, which we found quite confusing. However, the hotel staff were all extremely helpful. My friend’s suitcase had been left behind in UK (by Monarch airlines). Although the mix-up was nothing to do with the hotel they went out of their way to make sure the case was delivered as soon as possible.

I would thoroughly this hotel for its location, room comfort and general ambience, and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

We wanted to thank you for writing a positive comment on Tripadvisor in relation to your recent stay with us and for letting us know that you found the hotel to your liking. It is always a great satisfaction for us to know that our customers have enjoyed and appreciated the hotel and our service but the greatest satisfaction is to learn that they hope to come back again.
Warm regards,

Gianfranco Vio / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon around Italy.

We were pleasantly surprised by being upgraded to a suite on arrival, with a conplimentary bottle of prosecco - was a lovely touch.

Breakfast was served in a small room on the floor your room was in, so was nearly private - as there were only 4 rooms on our floor - this was nice as it gave us a relaxed start to our day.

The only small thing was having to buzz in after being out and having to collect our key each time, this was not enough of an issue to be annoying or detract from our great experience of the hotel.

The location is very close to st marks square so it very convenient for all the main sights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

we wanted to thank you for the positive comment you wrote on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to learn that after all you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our service. We also wanted to inform you that soon we will provide our customers with electronic keys eliminating thus that they shall ring the bell to take their keys and then having to turn them back.
Hoping that you may return to our hotel again, we are, with kindest regards,

sincerely yours

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Good hotel which is ideal for a couple of nights.

Pros: rooms are spacious and clean

Cons: The breakfast spread was quite average and we realised that the milk and yoghurt had turned stale (they were replaced though) but in hindsight it maybe better to avoid the breakfast and eat elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of your comment made on Tripadvisor on your recent stay at our hotel we would like to thank you for considering our hotel fairly positive and recommendable for not more then a couple of nights because of the breakfast that you have found rather repetitive. We will take note of this and we will try to make all possible improvements.
Kindest regards,

Gianfranco Vio / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel in July 2013. The hotel staff were very friendly and we were welcomed very warmly. We were given the suite which meant breakfast was served in our sitting room and was a great selection of food. It had a fantastic location and a variety of places to eat in a close location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

we would like to thank you for having written a nice comment on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at our hotel. We also thank you for having brought to the attention of other potential customers that our staff has been helpful and friendly with you and that we have made evrything in our power to make your stay in venice as agreeable as possible.
Warm regards,

Gianfranco Vio / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

On our Holiday to Venice we had this hotel.
The Travel organisation booked us as two men. While we were man and wife.
They handled well with this little problem, we could change too another room if we wanted to.
We got a kind of an appartment with two bedrooms and two separated bath rooms.
It was classic but we got everything we needed.
A shower, a big bed (normally for 1person), a toilet, a TV, towels (replaced daily).
The staff was always (24h) available and friendly.
They understood very well English and answered questions in their best English.

The hotel was near by the famoust place of Venice (San Marco square).
We couldn't imagine the calmnes in the hotel instead the overcrowded neighbourhood.

Breakfast was also well prepared.
We could go from 7 Till 10, one day we came a bit too late and it was no problem tot stay a bit longer in the breakfastroom.
The assortiment was less but enough and very tastefull.
Each store of the hotel had his own breakfastroom, we had'nt the afdeling these werd many people in the hotel, wat was voor tot wake up in calmnes.

It was a very good stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivanho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

in receipt of your nice comment written on Tripadvisor on 10 July about your recent stay at our hotel we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed staying here and wish to thank you for letting us know that and for bringing it to the attention of any other potential customers. It 's always a great satisfaction to know when we have succeeded in our aim which is to make our customers happy when they are here.
Kindest regards,
Gianfranco Vio / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a great place with a great staff. The room was beautiful, with a very large bathroom and large bedroom. The staff never hesitated to answer our questions or give us excellent recommendations for lunches and dinners. The location was only about 200 feet from the canal where our water taxi dropped us off which was a nice added bonus.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tika1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadelcampo, Manager at Ca' del Campo Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

with reference to the nice comment written on Tripadvisor we would like to thank you for having made such a beautiful comment on our hotel and on your recent stay in Venice. We are pleased to learn that everything has met your satisfaction and this is for us a very good news because we always work hard to make our guests' stay at our hotel as agreeable as possible.
Thank you and kind regards,

Gianfranco Vio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#173 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#133 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#129 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#111 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#89 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' del Campo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' del Campo Hotel

Property: Ca' del Campo Hotel
Address: Sestiere San Marco 511 | Campo della Guerra, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#124 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' del Campo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Ca' del Campo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Del Campo Hotel
Ca Del Campo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing